We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does not get much better. JVW Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Bastide de Boulbon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boulbon
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Does not get much better. JVW Melbourne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I spend a wonderful week Marie-Louise and Jan's unobtrusively attentive care. They were perfect hosts. Sitting in the evenings under the towering elms in the walled garden under the lee of the castle ramparts mounted on surrounding the lime stone crags was the perfect holiday setting. The village is itself is a working town with a medieval centre, not touristy, and well worth exploring. The food was excellent and the guests easy to get along with.

Room Tip: Front rooms probably are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Journeyman3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    29
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
48
305
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

An excellent place to stay when visiting the area. Jan and Marie Claire are host and hostess with the "mostess". The grounds and setting are beautiful and the countryside and drives fantastic. The food served is very good home cooked food. The rooms are very comfortable if slightly on the small side but all tastefully decorated.

You will be pleased you made a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKPL_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is our fourth visit to the Bastide and the attention to each little detail by Jan and Marie-Claire has made our stay most enjoyable on each visit. Dining on the terrace for breakfast and each evening makes one lose track of time and the addition of a new chef has made the menu offered even better than previously. The herb garden and other improvements to the garden add to the delightful surroundings. Definitely the place to 'get away from it all'!

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking the garden if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lackavra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We came to La Bastide from a 5* luxury hotel which also had a 2* Michelin restaurant - it was spectacular, however we both agree we enjoyed our time at La Bastide more!

Everything about the hotel is perfect from the warm welcome, the quality of garden and decor to the attentive but not intrusive service. Breakfast was excellent and dinner memorable for the setting as well as the food. We tried a local recommended restaurant which was no where near as good, so we continued to eat at the hotel.

Our stay was part of our honeymoon, so we wanted perfect and perfect is what we got. The price is also extraordinarily good value .

You are always wary when you see so many great reviews - in this case all are deserved, we will be back!

Room Tip: There is only one superior double but the standard doubles are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenandBellaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed one week at the enchanting property Bastide de Boulbon and were reluctant to leave. The Bastide is charming and meticulously maintained. The grounds are beautiful and include a swimming pool, herb garden and a lovely outdoor dining area. The rooms are both simple and elegant in style, very comfortable, airy and with lovely views of the grounds. Our expectations for dining were exceeded. Many options available for both breakfast and dinner. Jan and Marie-Claire were charming, attentive and very helpful always. They tended to our every need, with the utmost kindness and hospitality. Jan provided suggestions for touring and driving routes (with regional maps) for anywhere we might want to go. Boulbon itself is a delightful town - some might call it a sleepy village, but we loved walking in the evening after dinner and exploring. It is conveniently located to reach many of the interesting sights in Provence such as Avignon, Nîmes, Pont du Gard, Arles, Les Baux--de-Provence, St Rémy, Gordes, and many more.
We will most certainly return and will be certain to recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Our room was in the top floor, right front (facing the Bastide) - loved it! Just a point of informa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starynight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was the last hotel that our family (2 adults and 2 teenagers) stayed in during our recent trip to France and it was an absolute delight. Our hosts, Marie-Claire and Jan, were wonderful and made our stay one to remember.

Travelling in Southern France in July is very hot and we were so happy to relax each day, after a busy day's outing, in the wonderful garden and swim in the pool. Drinks and light snacks were available. While we could have dined out more, we enjoyed dinner so much our first night here, we chose to eat dinner at the hotel any night it was served. We also enjoyed our breakfasts, which were delicious, by the garden as well.

Our family stayed in the cottage at the entrance to the property and it served our needs very well. There was a master bedroom and a bedroom with bunk beds with a bathroom in between. The cottage was air conditioned and had a TV (although we never watched it).

We had never heard of Boulbon but it turned out to be a perfect central location for exploring the surrounding towns and sights. We wandered around the town of Boulbon early one evening (although it's small, it's fun to do this) and Jan and Marie-Claire gave us excellent guidance on the sights we should see each day.

We spent one day in Avignon (a must do!), and another day visiting towns such as Les Baux (another must see) with all the sights that Jan had recommended along the way. (We ran out of time that day, there was so much to see but we enjoyed it all.)

Thank you Marie-Claire and Jan! If ever in Provence again, we will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Livvy003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our recent stay in July was fabulous. The rooms are cozy and well appointed...our hosts were mind readers...anticipating our every need and extremely helpful with suggestions (and great maps) for local sightseeing and restaurants. We could not have asked for more. Will absolutely recommend this spot to friends and family and will definitely book with them again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boulbon
9.9 mi away
Mas de l'Oulivie
Mas de l'Oulivie
#3 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
18.4 mi away
La Maison sur la Sorgue
La Maison sur la Sorgue
#1 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
8.8 mi away
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
#1 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Le Chateau des Alpilles
Le Chateau des Alpilles
#3 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & S...
#2 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
11.3 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bastide de Boulbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastide de Boulbon

Property: La Bastide de Boulbon
Address: Rue de l'Hotel de Ville, 13150 Boulbon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Boulbon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boulbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Bastide de Boulbon 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Bastide de Boulbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bastide De Boulbon Hotel Boulbon
La Bastide De Hotel Boulbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing