We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (659)
Filter reviews
659 results
Traveler rating
417
177
41
15
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
417
177
41
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnurse sharksset menuour waiterfishdive schoolturtle pointhermit crabsmaldivian nightoctopusroom boyindian oceandive centrebbq nightrustic charmbed artsunset barbuffet breakfast and lunch
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 659 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2017

I can't remember my stay without want deeply be there ... this is called in Portuguese "Saudade".

When we were about to book a place to visit maldives , and we take a look on this paradise , and we saw that there was no any kind of nocture diversion we decided right way to book this place. WE ARE NOT REGRETED.

we foundout that the makunudu will always be the paradise for us . the resort was exceed our expectations!!!

It was really just us and the nature , with all that a nature comprises, all kind of wild and great animals... the sound of nature.

if you are in doubt if this is for you ... if you love nature if you want to relaxe and forget your rush life .. if want you just you the sea the nature .THEN FOR SURE BOOK don't hesitate.

AHHHHHHHHHH and the FOOD is amazing .

Room Tip: try the lower number rooms , that are far from the resort electrical pwer generator, so less noise
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makunudu R, Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017

Dear Teresa,

Thank you for the compliments and we are happy that your expectations was exceeded during you stay with us. We will strive and make sure the paradise you visited will be remain the same. Looking forward to welcoming you again to Makunudu Island.

Kind regards,

Makunudu Team


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2017

The rooms are pretty and better then the pictures. You walk 4 metres and you have your chair lodges. More 5 metres and you enter the sea on your almost private beach with pristine sand and esmeralda sea. The food is amazing, always different, always tasty, always good.
The reef is nice and you can swing.
You don't have tv or any kind of animation. Only the sound of the sea , the wind and the birds.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MakunuduIsland, Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2017

Dear pdt01,

What a simply beautiful review, you have captured our natural island in its true essence.We do try our best to deliver the best possible experience to our guests and its an honor to receive such feed backs as a result. Thanks once again for taking time to review our resort.

We look forward to welcome you for a return experience to Makunudu.

Kindly regards,

Makunudu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2017 via mobile

We loved this place, found for us by an agency. We went there blind and it couldn't have been better for us if we had spent days searching.
Only 10 bungalows were occupied if he 36 as out of season.
Do not come here if you don't like nature, you are in the middle of the jungle. You have to leapfrog the hermit crabs to get to the beach and our bathroom had a resident lizard. It sounds awful but it was wonderful.
Thank you to Lateef, Fareed, Habib and Stephanie for the best time ever. A week would be enough unless you are a real sun worshipper.
Ps Don't bring shoes.

Stayed: July 2017
2  Thank Helensheffield66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MakunuduIsland, Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2017

Dear Helensheffield66,

Thank you for taking time to review Makunudu Island. We are certainly pleased that you appreciate the original Idea of Maldives which has been preserved to provide the old word charm in a natural setting. We have taken note of your observations and delighted that our service and facilities met your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back for a return experience

Kindly regards,

Makunudu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2017

Booked through Angelfish travel ,once again they organized another perfect trip ,so professional MANY THANKS.
We had three weeks on Makunudu in May lucky us..It was our. 4th visit .
We had villa no5 .Room very comfortable ,everything we needed love the outside shower room slept soundly on new beds.thanks to Najum our very own Micheal Jackson.Food as always excellent pastries to die for Lateef our waiter very attentive with such good humour.Thankyou.We miss Habib,s cocktails lovely thanks to all the bar staff Mifrah Bari,Fareed and All reception staff very helpful.To Arjay congratulations on your new appointment hope it goes well.Makunudu is full of charm and old world service we had another wonderful holiday ,Thanks to you all. Geoff and Diane

Room Tip: Any room is good on Makunudu just varies on amount of beach outside your room
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank diane d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MakunuduIsland, Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2017

Dear Diane D,

We are pleased to hear your wonderful feedback regarding your vacation at our resort in Makunudu Island. We appreciate your mention of our friendly and helpful staff, and will be sure to let them know you were happy with their service to you during your stay!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Makunudu Island.

Best Regards,
Makunudu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2017

We have just returned from two wonderful weeks on Makunudu Island Resort. The holiday was arranged through Angelfish Travel, we have used them many times before and as always they were faultless and friendly, we cannot recommend them highly enough.

We have holidayed in the Maldives seven times now and Makunudu is certainly the quietest, most unspoilt and greenest island we have visited. No water villas, and the beach villas are well spaced. The villas have what can best be described as a “Rustic Charm” they are perfectly adequate with a wonderfully comfortable and large bed and very efficient and quiet air conditioning, however the bathroom is definitely the smallest we have come across in our many visits to the Maldives and could certainly do with a makeover. We were initially put into Villa No 10 which had very little beach when the tide was out and non at all when the tide was in, we moved to Villa No 37 after two days where we had the best beachfront on the island, the move was facilitated and managed with no fuss at all. We asked to keep our room keeper Nigel with us on the move and this also happened. Nigel did an excellent job both keeping our villa spick and span and entertaining us with his anecdotes and music.

The restaurant is excellent, and we would not be exaggerating in saying that the food on Makunudu is by far the best we have had anywhere in the Maldives. The pastry chief would win bake off and whoever makes the Dal could work in the Bukhara in Delhi. All the staff in the restaurant are attentive and friendly and we were very well looked after by Ahmed. Likewise the bar staff were also very friendly and engaging so a big 10 out of 10 to Barry and the rest of the guys in the bar.

The house reef has a lot of bleaching and also a large number of Crown of Thorns Starfish so there is a lot of damage, but it is still a good reef, there are very few soft corals but every visit to the reef was worthwhile and we saw a lot of turtles, nurse and black tip reef sharks, sweetlips, cuttlefish, parrots and many other varieties of fish.

So in summary, a quiet unspoilt and beautiful island, with adequate but very comfortable accommodation, very friendly and efficient staff and a house reef that although damaged is still well worth exploring.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank neil_h_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MakunuduIsland, Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2017

Dear Neil_h_r,

On behalf of Makunudu team, we would like to thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination.
We loved how in a few words you described the experience you lived at Makunudu Island. We do our very best to ensure our guests are taken care of, from the moment they arrive until the time of departure.

We would like to express our most sincere gratefulness for your kind words.

We are looking forward to host you soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews