We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attending a course”
Review of Baillies Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Potchefstroom
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baillies Manor
Ranked #18 of 41 Potchefstroom B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This felt like home away from home, the hospitality, kindness and the assistance of the family; tthey made my stay worthwhile. I enjoyed my six day stay there even though I was not there for a vacation and I was there for school. The best guest house I have been to in the Potch area I loved the location as well it was relaxing especially after the information overload during the day because of school of cos the fire place thats where i used to relax before dinner. The breakfast and supper was cooked with love, you could feel them as you ate, I enjoyed all the meals. The room was nice, well maintained, cleaned daily and I am definetly coming back next year when I come back for my other courses at NWU CEM.

Room Tip: Well I prefer room 4 it is big
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dikeledi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 34 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had four nights here in July staying over with other families to watch a hockey tournament. We were all disappointed with the experience at this guesthouse. As South Africans, we find that we expect a level of service in guest houses that is welcoming and friendly. Both of these we found lacking at Baillies Manor. The owners are not a friendly lot and they behaved as if they were doing us a favour letting us stay there. From the outset, we noticed that when we paid our deposit, the email that came back was filled with rules and regulations for staying there and very little, to suggest that they were glad for our business and were looking forward to welcoming us. They won't let anyone check in before 2pm and have closed gates and unanswerable phones before then. The room was just adequate. Bathroom was basic - nowhere to hang towels or even put one's toiletries - one had to keep all on the floor of the bathroom or shower. The bathroom did not have a functioning extractor fan (nor external window) and there wasn't a plug for the basin. The owner did not seem interested when on departure I informed him this and shrugged his shoulders. Our friends weren't treated very well either and when they asked if they could bring their grandchildren for breakfast (only 2 of them - having paid a deposit for the room) the owners refused saying they were full and didn't show any interest or attempt to try and facilitate what was a very reasonable request. It wasn't as if they expected not to pay for the extra breakfasts and that morning we noticed that there were many tables free. The breakfasts were the same every day - adequate but uninspired. The rooms are dark and there are NO places to relax if it is cold and one can't sit around the pool. The small lounge had 3 chairs and the times I wanted to to in there, the owners were sitting there. There are far nicer places to stay where the owners care about their guests and make guests feel comfortable, welcome and happy. And, we noticed, that the other places our friends stayed were nicer and less expensive!

Room Tip: there seem to be a few room on the north side (which could be warmer).. but most seem on the south s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barend S, Owner at Baillies Manor, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor and Lyndu,

We appreciate feedback from guests as it provides us with the opportunity to improve the level of service and the guest experience.

It is even more appreciated if guests inform us promptly so that we can attend to the matter as Lyndu experienced first-hand when she reported that she suffered from light sensitivity and did not get much sleep. It afforded us the opportunity to rectify this by blocking out the natural- and electric lights and when we prompted her about this she replied positive. (Unfortunately the block-out of the natural light caused the room to be dark during the day.) If we were informed regarding the missing basin plug and the faulty extractor we would have taken care of this immediately. As this was only reported on the morning of the departure there was nothing to be done except to thank the guest for bring this to our attention.

When we make mistakes we will do our utmost to correct it. Unfortunately criticism that is unwarranted /unfair or based on fallacies /untruths needs to be addressed and we welcome the opportunity to set the record straight.

Every establishment have terms and conditions regarding the stay at the establishment. This would include times of arrival and departure and payment arrangements. In this matter the terms and conditions were communicated to Lyndu by email as required by industry good practice and Consumer legislation. It is then a pity that the guest, without making arrangements, attempted to check in before the scheduled arrival time of 14:00 and without arrangements, checked out after the scheduled departure of 10:00, and fail to meet the standard payment conditions.

It is further a pity that Lyndu she should carry the sword for her “friends” without first-hand facts. The “friends” booked 2 rooms, but cancelled the room for the children on the date of arrival while checking in. The children then arrived the following morning without arrangement for breakfast. In order not to embarrass the guest or the children we did serve them breakfast but indicated that we will not be able to do so the next morning due to capacity restraints.

Note: the same unhappy “friends” booked for a consecutive night .

We do believe that most of our guest prefer a breakfast of bottomless freshly grounded coffee, a selection of 12 teas, Milo, Nesquick, 100% fruit juice, 4 cereals, jams, bread, pastry, fresh fruit, and a choice of poach eggs/fried eggs/scramble eggs/omelette , sausage(beef/chicken/lamb) fried tomatoes/mushrooms for R50. We do however agree with Lyndu that at R150 to R250 pp, we could be more inspiring with the breakfast menu.

As a family run establishment it is a given that you will find family members in the public lounge at times, as well as other guests. The lounge area has seating for 14 people with the adjoining enclosed porch and fireplace providing extra leisure space.

When comparing apples with apples we truly believe that our establishment offer value for money and that the rates are reasonable.

Thank you TripAdvisor and Lyndu for you feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Verry nice family. They give us a feeling like home. We always go to hotels, so it was the fisrt time we stayed in a geusthouse and we loveded it verry much. They give use good touristic tips en helped planded our route to it. They help you everwere they can.nice,cleane room. We liked the braekfast
en dinner verry much, specially the always healty food. Verry good koffie en also decaf.(sorry for the wrong writing, we are dutch people)

Room Tip: all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hendrik_de_backer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Very friendly, clean and well maintained at nice loaction and in nice surrounding.The family owning the place is nice and helpful . Breakfast was the normal South African, however, with some additional, more healthy choices. Which is good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VijayKumawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Nice stay in a lodge slightly away of the center. The family owning the place is nice and helpful and it was also possible to use the braaing place with small (R200) extra cost. Breakfast was the normal South African, however, with some additional, more healthy choices. Which is good. Extra points for the espresso machines with good coffee beans + self-service bar

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We had to book a place short notice and ended up in this lovely place.
Very friendly, clean and well maintained.
Rooms are smaller than in mot other hotels but have loads of charm.
I can suggest this place to any biz traveler that wants to experience something different then a chain hotel.
-Make sure u announce early to enjoy the home made food!

Room Tip: Book roomm with view to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rico R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is truly a hidden gem. Spaceous and stunning grounds. Rooms are utterly need and clean. Staff is truly friendly and sincere. 5 star quality food! I cant find anything negative to say about this Guest House!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lenr0c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Potchefstroom hotels
2.8 mi away
Road Lodge Potchefstroom
Road Lodge Potchefstroom
#1 of 2 in Potchefstroom
38 reviews
1.5 mi away
Thorntree Lodge
Thorntree Lodge
#20 of 41 in Potchefstroom
2 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cosy Cottage B&B
Cosy Cottage B&B
#9 of 41 in Potchefstroom
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
A Tapestry Garden Guest House
A Tapestry Garden Guest House
#3 of 41 in Potchefstroom
117 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sunset Manor Guesthouse
Sunset Manor Guesthouse
#2 of 41 in Potchefstroom
67 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anne's Place Potchefstroom
Anne's Place Potchefstroom
#1 of 41 in Potchefstroom
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baillies Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baillies Manor

Address: 24 Hennie Bingle Avenue | Mooivallei Estates, Potchefstroom 2522, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Potchefstroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Potchefstroom
Number of rooms: 19

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing