We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still our first choice for a comfortable & affordable overnight stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Road Lodge Potchefstroom
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Potchefstroom
Reviewed July 23, 2014

My wife and I were in Potchefstroom to visit our daughter who is a student at the North West University. Whenever we travel somewhere we always see if there is one of the City Lodge group Hotels on our route for a sleep over, as they maintain a very good standard throughout the country. The Potchefstroom Road Lodge was no exception. Upon our arrival we were greeted at reception in a friendly way, and our check-in was done fast and efficiently. A staff member assisted us with our luggage to our room. Like all the Road Lodge Hotels, the room was found to be neat and tidy. Although the rooms are smaller than the average hotel rooms, we experience that they are quite sufficient for a short stay.
The Road Lodge Hotels do not provide supper, but upon request reception supplied us with a Mr. Delivery menu for placing an order for in room dining. The meal we ordered was delivered within 30 minutes. The food was well presented and still hot when it arrived and was found to be very tasty and of a good quality. We also found the breakfast to be good value for money and the staff all appeared to be genuinely friendly.
This Lodge is also conveniently situated adjacent to the modern Mooiriver Mall that is within short walking distance.
The stay met our expectations and we would definitely visit this Road Lodge again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeonKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Potchefstroom, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for the great review. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us - and that the rooms were neat and up to standard. We're also glad to find that you enjoyed the breakfast offerings and found them to be good value for money. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 35 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at the Road Lodge for 2 nights. Although the rooms are small, it was clean and neat. Breakfast was nice and very friendly staff. Good value for money if you need to overnight in Potchefstroom.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tionette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Potchefstroom, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

We thank you for the great review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you fund our hotel to be good value for money. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We didn't expect any thing grand staying at the Road Lodge but it was the only hotel I could find in Potch close to the wedding we attended. The road lodge is clean and the staff friendly. It's a decent place to stay at and very cheap.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irmaSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Potchefstroom, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

We thank you for the good review. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the staff were friendly. We do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

good hotel and wonderful and friendly service....would have been nice to have a kettle in the room as we were travelling with a baby,breakfast was good.
good value for the money you pay and also big plus since situated next to the mall.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smokone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Potchefstroom, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you for the lovely review. We will take your request into account. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Centrally located. Excellent for an overnight stay or business trip. Rooms are small but functional with private bathroom, TV and Aircon. Rooms are relatively soundproof. An extra dustbin would have been welcomed. Potchefstroom's largest mall shares the same property.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up are smoke-free
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mario1547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Potchefstroom, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us - we're chuffed you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here on 30 dec for 1 night to attend a wedding. Hotel is right next to a large shopping centre so location is great. Rooms either face the mall/pool or the parking lot. The rooms still feel new and clean. Staff friendly. Only let down was the murky green pool which had not been maintained, and the boundary walls are cracked and need replastering. Besides that, I recommend this hotel as it the only decent place to stay in this town for a budget conscious stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank es786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We always enjoy staying over at Road Lodge, Potch. They make you feel welcome, and are very professional and very friendly. Good customer service. We needed extra pillows and they brought them to our room within 3 minutes. Rooms are always clean & comfortable. Only a short stroll to Mooi River Mall. Worth while going back every time.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Potchefstroom hotels
2.4 mi away
Anne's Place Potchefstroom
Anne's Place Potchefstroom
#1 of 41 in Potchefstroom
127 reviews
0.8 mi away
A Tapestry Garden Guest House
A Tapestry Garden Guest House
#3 of 41 in Potchefstroom
109 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cosy Cottage B&B
Cosy Cottage B&B
#11 of 41 in Potchefstroom
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Elizabeth's Manor Guesthouse
Elizabeth's Manor Guesthouse
#6 of 41 in Potchefstroom
57 reviews
0.8 mi away
Willows Garden Hotel
Willows Garden Hotel
#26 of 41 in Potchefstroom
34 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sunset Manor Guesthouse
Sunset Manor Guesthouse
#2 of 41 in Potchefstroom
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Road Lodge Potchefstroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Road Lodge Potchefstroom

Address: Govan Mbeki Drive | next to Mooi River Mall, Potchefstroom 2531, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Potchefstroom
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Potchefstroom
Price Range: $43 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Road Lodge Potchefstroom 1*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the Mooi River Mall on Nelson Mandela Drive and just a stone’s throw from the central business district and the country club, this hotel is perfect for business and leisure travellers visiting this part of the North West province. The hotel has a highly contemporary look and feel and provides a wide range of features and services for budget conscious travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Road Lodge Potchefstroom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing