We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location now best”
Review of Wimpy

Wimpy
Ranked #23 of 49 Restaurants in Potchefstroom
Price range: $2 - $5
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The Wimpy brand has become a nationwide icon which beams brightly for a franchising operation that relies on how strongly and positively the people identify with the brand name. Right across the country, Wimpy franchisees reap the rewards of a brand that is kept constantly fresh, alive and desirable by memorable advertising campaigns and punchy promotions.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Location now best”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Had my breakfast here. Location almost impossible to find in the mall. Offer nothing different to other Wimpys and will use because they have a healthy breakfast alternative.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SabeloN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    8
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Potchefstroom, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very noisy and poor service”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We arrived and no menus was received. The staff was busy chatting in the kitchen. After ordering we however got our food and drinks quickly but after eating and wanting to pay our bill we had to wait to get attention. The staff was again chatting much louder than any of the patrons. There were also some flies that was very bothersome. No I would certainly not visit this Wimpy again as we have a choice of other restaurants in the same area.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Petro N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
215 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“busy , but good qality service”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

If you plan to breakfast , make sure you get there early. The Wimpy in the shopping centre gets full very quickly early in the morning for breakfast and then the service is not always to fast.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank RiaanSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klerksdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
137 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“quick lunch”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

The wimpy chain, for me, is a value chain of restaurants for a quick meal when you are shopping in a mall. The quality of the food are consistent as can be expected of such a large group. Besause it is a "cheaper" restaurant that attract the young crowd, i find that the waiters are perhaps not so professional as in larger upclass restaurants, most probably as a result of poor tipping of the young crowd. When the restaurant is full, the waiting time for food goes up and the waiters seems to get confused very easily.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PierreRossouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“American style food, would definitely go again!”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

When you are out of your home country, sometimes its good to find familiar food. Wimpys has good casual food at reasonable prices with South African nuances. We had good service at 2 different locations & liked all of the foods we ordered for 5 people.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mstahura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wimpy also viewed

Potchefstroom, North-West Province
Potchefstroom, North-West Province
 
Potchefstroom, North-West Province
Potchefstroom, North-West Province
 
Potchefstroom, North-West Province
Potchefstroom, North-West Province
 

Been to Wimpy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing