We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel la Playa Blanca
Reviewed February 6, 2008

This was the absolute worst hotel that I have ever been to. The conditions were extremely unsanitary. The maid never changed the sheets on our bed, there was mold and mildew on the walls, ceiling and in the shower. The wc near the pool area had feces on the floor that was not cleaned up until the next day. I definitely would not reccomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank yardleyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 191 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2007

Average Italian 3 star - think Motel 6, with poorer than average breakfast. Hotel is NOT in Messina, but in Santo Stefano, which IS the best town in Sicily for ceramics.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Les N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2007

I wish I had read the other reviews about this hotel first. The information on the hotel's website is not at all accurate. The hotel does not offer transfers to the station - instead, the owner of the restaurant at the train station charged us 10 euros per trip to take us there in his old station wagon with our luggage. We could walk into the quiet town of Santo Stefano by following a path that crossed the railroad tracks and then climbing stairs up the hill. There was no internet service and the air conditioners worked erratically. The hotel restaurant was not in operation and the restaurant next door was okay but pricey for our family of 9. There is no beach - just rocks. The swimming pool was fun for the kids, but much of this place was pretty run down. Finally, the owner, who had made our reservations for us via email, tried to overcharge us at checkout. After arguing and showing him the email with his name on it, he backed down. Overall it was a disappointing experience and just as expensive as our nice hotels in Palermo and Taormina!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank julie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2006

We are a couple in our late 20's who stayed at this hotel for 3 days in June. The hotel is located on the sea with beautiful views. It was within walking distance of town which was nice with some shops and trattoria's (you have to try the granita!). It has a large pool (which tends to be full of children) with plenty of chairs near it. The rooms were large with comfortable beds. The restaurant located on the property was pretty good and no more expensive then the ones we ate at in Rome and Palermo. I did notice though that the rooms were only tided up each morning (sheets were not changed). Our room also did not have a phone and when we inquired about it we were told that the phone system was not working (which seemed odd to us). The hotel DOES NOT have internet access despite what they might tell you. I will agree with the other reviews that the staff is not very helpful here, so if you are looking for service this isn't the place. Overall we had a pleasant stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank where_2_nxt?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Ireland
113
Reviewed November 8, 2004

I would NOT recommend NI Hotel La Playa Blanca to anybody. My family and I had a horrible stay. Personal belongings went missing from our room, but when we reported it, the hotel denied responsibility. Some men enjoy going to the hotel in order to prey on young women. I have two daughters, one is 16 and the other is 17. I was very upset to learn that a man who was posing as the hotel's chauffer offered to take one of my daughters around town in his fancy car and then tried to take her to bed. We had originally planned on spending two weeks at this hotel, but we quickly changed our minds and went to a different hotel a few miles away for our last week. At least we found peace at the other hotel. We did not have to worry about things being stolen and only paying guests and trustworthy staff had access to the hotel. Unlike the Playa Blanca, it did not welcome people who were looking to taking advantage of the guests.

13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London
114
Reviewed April 5, 2004

Thinking about getting a good night sleep after a long journey? If you choose to stay here, think again. The train passes by the hotel during the middle of the night. I really did not enjoy getting startled by a loud train hourly. I was also extremely disappointed with the quality of service I received at this hotel. The telephone in my room was out of service when I arrived and remained that way even after I voiced my complaints to the managerial staff several times. I was not impressed with the food at the restaurant either. It's price was well above the quality and portion received. There was no internet service available and the staff was unwilling to help me with my luggage. I will never make the mistake of staying here again.

14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patoliver13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santo Stefano di Camastra
5.2 mi away
Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare
Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare
#1 of 1 in Castel di Tusa
532 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Za Maria
Hotel Za Maria
#1 of 1 in Canneto di Caronia
120 reviews
16.9 mi away
Le Calette Garden & Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Tus'Hotel
Tus'Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tusa
186 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hotel Kalura
Hotel Kalura
#8 of 36 in Cefalu
772 reviews
25.5 mi away
Capo Baia Verde - Sea Resort
Capo Baia Verde - Sea Resort
#4 of 9 in Capo d'Orlando
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Playa Blanca

Address: Via Nino Martoglio, 98077 Santo Stefano di Camastra, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Santo Stefano di Camastra
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Santo Stefano di Camastra
Price Range: $78 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel la Playa Blanca 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel la Playa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Playa Blanca Hotel Santo Stefano Di Camastra
Hotel La Playa Blanca Santo Stefano Di Camastra, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing