We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely view, disappointing food”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of La Cala

La Cala
Ranked #11 of 38 Restaurants in Los Belones
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely view, disappointing food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We visited this restaurant with our three children for lunch in August 2013. The view is spectacular; it's a really lovely setting. However, the food was very disappointing. The children's meals (chicken nuggets or fish fingers and chips) were the lowest possible quality and only one of our children would actually eat anything. Our grilled fish was dry and the prawns in garlic were strongly ammonia-flavoured owing to burned garlic and chilli. The service was rushed and, quite frankly, pretty surly. It's a shame that the quality of the restaurant doesn't live up to the wonderful setting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank VHealing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    40
    12
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

The restaurant has very good location and table needs to be booked in advance. Book a table with sea view. We had very good service at a very busy Saturday evening.
We ate one of their specialities, Lobster Paella with local rice, the best Paella I ever had. They have a open kitchen. We will come back next year, would love to try it for lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location shame about the service and food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have been coming to La Manga club for years and have always enjoyed eating at La Cala... up until now. The restaurant is in a great location with wonderful views out to sea but on our visit this August the food was overcooked and the service incredibly rushed which spoilt the evening for us. Garlic prawns were overcooked and oily, the fish was dry. The staff looked stressed and the food came suspiciously quickly. At the end of the meal my credit card was whisked away and the bill not brought to me for ages. The staff seem to have perfected the art of dumping plates onto the table and avoiding your eye when you want anything more. Altogether a very disappointing but expensive evening. There are other restaurants by the Mar Menor or in Cabo de Palos which will give you better food and service with a sea view. The only reason why I didn't rank it terrible was because the location is still lovely.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldfishLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Delightful Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

You would be hard put to find a more picturesque location for a restaurant in this area and possibly for many miles around. Combined with the protected bay for swimming and small sandy beach it's a lovely place to spend the day and have a leisurely lunch. Excellent paella and sea food are always available.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank enjoywhileyoucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic setting for a sea food restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Spanish sea food, well priced and served in an idyllic setting. A very nice clientele that isn't seaking fish and chips with a pint of bitter finish it off.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Azizza T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cala also viewed

Los Belones, Region of Murcia
Los Belones, Region of Murcia
 
Los Belones, Region of Murcia
La Manga del Mar Menor, Region of Murcia
 

Been to La Cala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing