We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Principe Felipe 5*- La Manga Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Los Belones
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Could do better”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Unable to fault rooms and general hotel however... The spa is a 10 minute ride in a transit van and is not what we expected for example the afternoon we decided to go the pool was "invaded" by 50 trialthalon bods - might get this a my local council run pool but not expected in a 5 star hotel!
Breakfast is a bit skinny - good cooked choice but lacking in other areas. We will go back to la manga but will stay in a villa and will pre-book everything before we go.
Tried to book a 2 tennis lesson on the Saturday morning and despite 20 coaches and plenty of free courts unable to provide .. High unemployment obviously doesn't apply to the tennis industry.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    253
    126
    40
    26
See reviews for
200
203
10
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
swindon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely hotel and golf course , had a long weekend here and was very Impressed , went to the local Tapas in the village centre and it was gorgeous , staff were friendly and our rooms were amazing with a lovely balcony , gold courses were all great and the breakfast was excellent , definitely coming back here again , it is farther from the airport than we were told , loved it

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jane24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire united Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Have been to the Hotel for a three night stay for the last two years we went on a special deal we were apprehensive to what rooms we would be allocated to us they certainly did not disappoint it was very spacious inside and out with a personal terrace with outdoor furniture overlooking the green the only disappointing thing this year was the breakfast the hot buffet was not hot .dishes and plates not in place a very noticeable difference from our previous visit for a 5 star Hotel this needs to be addressed no customer service survey in rooms

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is beautiful and very plush. Rooms are big and spacious. Food is lovely. All 3 courses are amazing. North is my favourite personally as the par 3's are some of the best I've played. Group of 10 blokes, we all had great time. Pubs and tapas (La Borro) were fantastic in village center.

Service good and the free shuttle is great. Alicantè airport in mini bus is 90 minutes not an hour.

Pool looked nice and a few of the lads told me spa was great. Tv's in room were nice and had sky sports!

Practise facilities are great and courses are very good test.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bowen660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate north yorks. uk
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

whilst visiting the area not staying in the hotel we were recommended to their restaurant Luigis. What a disaster , I have never had to write a really bad review so here it comes for the 1st time. The welcome in the restaurant is non existant ,the service extremely bad but worst of all was the very expensive very poor quality food with meagre portions. This place high on the hillside could be good as the interior of the restaurant is most attractive but waiting 40 minutes to give our order and then only to find it was of poor quality and taste. The bill for 1starter,1 soup,1 pizza, 1 pasta dish +2 glasses of Rioca and 1 water was 59 euros. In most places when the food is not eaten the waiter would ask if something was wrong with it but here not a word. Needles to say we shall not return on our next visits to the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mortonedwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 5 days in February during half term. The room was spotless and the high level of cleanliness in the room continued for all 5 days. The only problem was the smell of sewers in our room, which when mentioning at the front desk, they offered to move us (not worth packing and unpacking again). They gave the bathroom another thorough clean and the smell had gone when we returned from golf later. The smell was starting to slightly come back on the 5th day, but wasn't a problem. The breakfast buffet was excellent, fantastic array of food for everyone and always plenty of it. Only critiscm was the 'egg/omlette chef' could do with some customer service training, as she was never friendly or cheerful. We had a nice meal one evening, though thought the prices in the hotel for food and drink was quite expensive, this discouraged us from staying at the hotel and we found some excellent local restaurants.
The front of house staff were all really friendly, helfpful and welcoming. They gave us lots of tips regarding restaurants and were extremely efficient.
We had a fantastic room overlooking the 18th hole, but as we were on the 3rd floor we had a small balcony so couldn't sit outside to watch, which would have been nice.
We enjoyed the spa, which was never really busy and worth the short drive. We didn't swim in large pool downstairs as doing lengths isn't really our thing and it seemed much colder than upstairs.
Overall we would definitely come again as this is an ideal place for a short break. We made sure we had our golf included and hired our clubs with a small local company. Much cheaper than bringing our own and the clubs were fantastic (mine were Taylor Made and the woods were brand new in their wrappers)!

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor had larger balconies with table and chairs. Rooms overlooking golf co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because we were visiting the La Manga area during Feb and couldn't find anywhere to stay. I can honestly say, the hotel was spotless. The staff we encountered were friendly. The food was really nice too. I think we paid a reduced rate but it was well worth every penny for what we thought was luxury, our room overlooked the 18th hole and the views were stunning. We weren't there for any sports so I can't comment on those, but everywhere was well kept. I was disappointed to read what some people have written, that's why I wanted to put a real positive and honest review.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bullbrix4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Manga C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Principe Felipe 5*- La Manga Club, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Edtheduck 73, We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay in La Manga Club and would like to thank you very much for sharing your positive comments. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Belones
6.1 mi away
Servigroup Galua
Servigroup Galua
#1 of 24 in La Manga del Mar Menor
683 reviews
5.8 mi away
Villas La Manga
Villas La Manga
#4 of 24 in La Manga del Mar Menor
126 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Entremares
Hotel Entremares
#2 of 24 in La Manga del Mar Menor
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
El Secreto del Agua
El Secreto del Agua
#7 of 12 in Cartagena
66 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel Costa Narejos
Hotel Costa Narejos
#2 of 7 in Los Alcazares
905 reviews
10.1 mi away
NH Cartagena
NH Cartagena
#1 of 12 in Cartagena
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe Felipe 5*- La Manga Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe Felipe 5*- La Manga Club

Property: Hotel Principe Felipe 5*- La Manga Club
Address: La Manga Club Resort, 30385 Los Belones, Spain (Formerly La Manga Club)
Location: Spain > Region of Murcia > Los Belones
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Los Belones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Principe Felipe 5*- La Manga Club 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Principe Felipe 5*- La Manga Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Manga Club Principe Felipe Hotel Los Belones
Hotel Principe Felipe 5*- La Manga Club Spain/Los Belones, Region Of Murcia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing