We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chequers Inn”
Review of The Chequers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Chequers Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Cassington B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Chequers Inn”
Reviewed September 29, 2010

A Great little Village Pub with a great warm feeling and excellent food. The service was the better than any 5 Star hotels we have stayed in. Fantastic Full English Breakfast....

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lordfroggatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    49
    24
    12
    11
See reviews for
30
61
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

This is a nice village pub within easy reach of Oxford
room was pleasant and the food in the restaurant was well above pub standard

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petermh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2010

I was very pleasantly surprised by The Chequers Inn. Myself and my partner had escaped London for the weekend and stumbled across The Chequers, in a small village just off the A40 called Cassington. We were warmly welcomed by the charming young land lady who showed us a couple of the lovely ensuite bedrooms, we took our pick then headed down to the bar area for a gin and tonic.
The food at The Chequers was superb. My partner started with a steaming bowl of Moules Mariniere and I had a beautifully refined bowl of watercress and creme fraiche soup.
The mains arrived as the pub was beginning to fill up. Such a lovely atmosphere, made up of mainly locals, of all ages. I had perfectly cooked halibut with an apple and parmesan rosti whereas my partner feasted on a rib eye steak with Bearnaise sauce.
The puddings were as delightful as the rest of the meal, we finished off having a few night caps with the locals.
I would recommend The Chequers to anyone who was passing, from dog walkers to out of towners. Lovely.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank london_girl93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2010

We have just returned from a wonderful weekend at the Chequers Inn at Cassington. The atmosphere was warm and friendly and the food and wine is great value for money.

I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pickle_Cirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2008

I had the pleasure of staying with my friends and family at this warm and friendly pub two nights ago. We were off to watch friends compete at the Blenheim Palace Triathlon (BP is just 10 minutes away) early on Sunday so needed a local base.

We were greeted by Marco and shown to our rooms. These are comfortably decorated in contemporary style, with good showers and baths. The rooms have a nice blend of antique furniture and modern facilities and every room has a bookshelf of interesting and varied novels.

We ate dinne in the pub's restaurant and the food was delicious and the waiting service was prompt and friendly.

A real highlight was breakfast, served by a lovely Spanish lady who made me a delicious breafast of bacon, sausage and 2 fried eggs, with toast, OJ and an espresso coffee and served all with a friendly smile.

A couple of things to be aware of:
The pub is closed between 2pm and 6pm in the afternoon, so if you're planning to arrive then you will have to arrange for someone to be there to let you in.
They have a very friendly cat called 'Shiela', who if you stay in room 5 with the window open, will pop in to say hello to you in the morning.

Rooms in English pubs can sometimes be a hit and miss affair, but I can thoroughly recommend this one to you as good accomodation, friendly and informal service and delicious food.

Happy Travels!

  • Liked — Friendly and informal service
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cassington
2.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
284 reviews
3.8 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,224 reviews
3.8 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,759 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,056 reviews
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Peartree Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chequers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chequers Inn

Property: The Chequers Inn
Address: 6 The Green, Cassington OX29 4DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Cassington
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cassington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chequers Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished rooms at The Chequers mean that we offer fantastic quality, comfortable rooms only a short trip from Oxford centre and the Cotswolds. Our rooms have everything you need to make your stay comfy and enjoyable. All this but with sensible prices meaning your bank manager will be as delighted as you with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chequers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chequers Hotel Cassington
The Chequers Inn Cassington, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing