We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under New Management”
Review of The Chequers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Chequers Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Cassington B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 11, 2012

In a lovely little village with a nice country church. The inn is quaint and has 8 ensuite bedrooms. The we had was no. 6 (do not take this room as the kitchen is underneath and the extractor system comes out next to the wall and is a loud low droning noise which did not switch off unti 22.40pm and came on again for breakfast at 7.15am) and was clean but very small and very close to walls on each side of bed. Bed king size and comfortable but need new / better pillows as very flat. Only shower no bath. Swinging a cat would be difficult. Over priced at £65. Shown to our rome by the barmaid and asked our preferred breakfast time. Looked at dinner menu which was very continental / greek - not what I was looking for from a local inn - expect local dishes and produce.
Breakfast was basic served in bar. Choice of 3 cereals with 1/2 pint of milk on table in an old type glass pint bottle. Small glass of organge juice set on table. No fruit. English breakfast of egg, bacon(one slice), large sausage, tomatoe, mushrooms, beans, hash brown, black pudding. Choice of toast and marmalade / strawberry jam. Need to up breakfast choice for price charged when compared to other inns / hotels I have visited in Oxfordshire in the last 6 years. May be down to just being taken over on 6th August - maybe!!!

Room Tip: Room 6 - do not take very boisey with kitchen extractor fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank highteas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodiebic, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Good Evening.
Many thanks for your review of The Chequers at Cassington.
I took over on August 13th, not on the 6th. I'm sorry to say that the last owners had lost a little interest in the Inn. We have set about turning it back into a village pub with a much more relaxed atmosphere. The food is also more in keeping with village pub food, all be it of a high standard.
Most of our produce is sourced from local, quality suppliers and the feedback we're receiving is all positive.
We are also improving our breakfast offer with a buffet style for cereals, juices, fruits, coffee & tea etc. We'll also be trialling freshly baked croissants & pain au chocolate over the coming weeks.
Please, next time you're in Oxford, try us again. I'm sure you'll see the differences.
Many Thanks. Tony Viney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 142 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here for one night and generally the Inn was great. The lady who served us was very friendly and seemed to work extremely hard!
The room was quite basic but had everything that you would need. The food was excellent, the service was excellent and the lady was very patient as my 8 year old son is a particularly fussy eater, and she went out of her way to cater for him, Thank you!
Overall, The Chequers Inn is definitely worth a visit and very good value!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed here with my husband and 3 children from 20th - 23rd July. We were attending a wedding nearby and found the location perfect. A far cry from the designer hotels we normally go for. Staff very friendly, helpful and accomodating. Rooms small but fully equipped, ensuite small, but perfect power shower. A full length mirror would be helpful. Food faultless and very tasty. Situated in a small sleepy village, a bit like the Woolpack in Emmerdale!!! The quaint pub had a great buzz about it at night. We loved it and will definitely stay again.

The Maguire Clan - Ireland

Room Tip: If nearby, call in for a visit, a darling find.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdelMOmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

When we arrived for our two night stay we were given a room that looked nothing like those on the website; it was a shocker. Almost all the fittings in the en-suite were either broken or loose and mould was propagating through the grout around the tiles etc. The chest of drawers contained remnants from previous occupants. The carpets in the room, stairs and hallway needed a good steam clean or replacement and the appearance was generally shabby. We asked about changing rooms and were advised that another room would be available the next day.
The next day we changed rooms and the new bedroom was one of those displayed on the website. Although generally better in most regards it appeared that nothing much had been done in the way of improvements/upkeep since the images on the hotel website were posted. The staff on the second day offered assistance to change rooms (not needed) and were generally more helpful than on the day of our arrival.
The food in the restaurant was very good with a number of specials using local produce. The breakfasts were hearty and served promptly and courteously. In general the food was of a high standard and the saving grace for the establishment.
It’s a pity that the accommodation spaces appear to have been allowed to deteriorate/decline. Also, although the age of the establishment is not specifically stated, it is not ‘old world’; in fact (based on advice from locals) the building is about 14 years old. Regardless of what other comments have been made the inn is not ‘an old converted country pub.’
Overall The Chequers Inn does not currently represent good value for money and is only recommended for use as a last resort

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael_WG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We arrived mid evening after a long horrendous journey from the North East due to very heavy rainfall. Booked B & B had excellent evening meal. Not cheap but well worth it with extensive menu selection. Double room at rear bit small but clean & tidy with good en suite. Staff cheerful and quick service, very good breakfast. What more can you ask!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dolores123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

booked last minute and was extremly happy to find this for a local romantic getaway !
stayed and also dinned , the check in was simple and was shown to a lovely tidy room , plenty of space for an old coverted country pub.
we later dinned that evening and was welcomed by a well presented young lady who took care of us all night , she was on her own with a few tables on a quiet week day evening . I was impressed with the food , the starter meze style meat platter was simple but delicious , followed by the fish pie , which again lovely. the desserts was te only let down on the whole stay , sticky toffee was just a little burnt , and the tart pastry was soften .

but take nothing away from
a superb stay and I will love to return soon

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danielrh1783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

live music until 12.30 then a cosy lock in until 3.30am,nice.
well it would be if i wasn't a guest and trying too sleep.
still, the drive home at 4am was nice, i was a little tired though.

Room Tip: one in another hotel would be preferable or failing that a sleeping bag on the runway at heathrow wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cassington
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Peartree Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Punchbowl Inn
The Punchbowl Inn
#6 of 13 in Woodstock
167 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Talbot Inn
The Talbot Inn
#1 of 5 in Eynsham
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chequers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chequers Inn

Address: 6 The Green, Cassington OX29 4DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Cassington
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cassington
Price Range: $96 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chequers Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished rooms at The Chequers mean that we offer fantastic quality, comfortable rooms only a short trip from Oxford centre and the Cotswolds. Our rooms have everything you need to make your stay comfy and enjoyable. All this but with sensible prices meaning your bank manager will be as delighted as you with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Chequers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chequers Hotel Cassington
The Chequers Inn Cassington, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing