We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place and lovely manager”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Markezinis Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Markezinis Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mesaria
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect place and lovely manager”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

What can I say,Grigoris is a lovely guy.Being a Greek I know a good fellow Greek when I meet one and Grigoris is great.Nothing was too much trouble,he knows anything you want to know about the island,car rental,beaches etc..you name it he knows it! The place itself is lovely with thick walled rooms that keep it cool and always cleaned to a great standard.The sister hotels are an easy 15 minute walk up the road through the vineyards and you can use their swimming pools And get 10% off their food.Breakfast at the markezinis is always delicious and I'm a fussy Greek! What more can I say,love the place and manager and will miss it when I leave.Yassou from Mixalis and Thea!

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    22
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
151
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Remember the name: Grigoris Katsaris. He's the manager, spends a lot of time at the hotel, and was a perfect host for our vacations. We spent 7 nights at Markezinis Suites on our honeymoon and Grigoris made us feel at home. He's the man that makes it special. Always available to give tips about restaurants, beaches (try Perivolos and the bar "Wet Stories") and nightlife in Santorini. The hotel is nicely located, away from the crowds in Fira or Oia, but close enough to get there easily. If you can, rent a scooter, as it is the best way to know the island (the buses were always crowded, and by car it's a traffic nightmare). Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pmbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

We booked a Greek cooking class thru Volcano View hotel. It was at Markezini's Suites and held in a delightful wine cellar at the hotel. It was Greek Chef Sofia and just the two of us. We learned how to cook traditional Greek salad with special dressing, Moussaka, Greek appetizers and a delicious dessert. It was fun doing the cooking, learning about Greek food, and then eating a fabulous lunch at a table set for two, complete with the Chef's grandmother's lace tablecloth. It was a magical experience, that we thought couldn't have gotten better, but the manager of the hotel who added his welcoming, friendly presence during our class, offered to show us the hotel which was filled with charm and a personality of its own. All in all, it was a fantastic experience! We were thrilled with Sofia's passion for cooking and teaching us some of her special recipes. Thank you for creating an experience we will always remember. Our friends will appreciate it as we'll, when we cook this authentic Greek dinner for them, too!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicity S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krefeld, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

We are a 30something couple from Germany, experienced travellers and we chose and booked the Markezinis Suites hotel about a year ago because of the stunning reviews it had. We would always, without hesitation, choose this hotel again or recommend it to our friends. When we first arrived we noticed the welcoming atmosphere, how clean the hotel site and the room was, this is thanks to a very good room service, which was excellent every single day of our 7-day stay.
Long story short, every word of the praises you might have read is true! We found ourselves in a modern, nicely kept villa located in the middle of the beautiful island of Santorini.The breakfast is great, you can choose your next days course daily while personal wishes are always welcome. Try the greek coffe, fresh orange juice, greek yogurt, we loved it! If you'd rather have something else, no worries you´ll get whatever you like!
This is the right place for your honeymoon, your annual vacation or even just to enjoy a great time.
The Manager, Mr. Gregoris is a true professional with an honest and positive attitude, simply a perfect host. Every suggestion he had for us, no matter if it was for dining out, which we did a lot, or where to go to have a great day, it was perfect.
Please do check out the sister hotel 'Petit Palace' only a 5 minute ride away, with it's caldera view and it's refreshing pool and relaxing lounge.
Not only every look around, every picture you take is worth to be printed onto a postcard, the pool service, lounge music and staff there is also fantastic while the 10% discount for Markezinis guests is a nice benefit too.
Santorini is really beautiful and has many faces, a lot to see and explore next to the well known whitewashed houses with volcano and caldera view.
Every second there was a lovely experience, which we really enjoyed. Go get yourself a vehicle and explore the island. Hotel staff will be happy to assist you in getting a good ride, be it a motorbike a scooter a car or an ATV.
Words enough.
One more praise to the Markezinis Suites and the Manager Mr. Gregoris, honest and more than well earned!
Thank you very much, we will come back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We spent (only) 4 days in this beautiful hotel in Mesaria, strategic location equidistant from many places on the island. Grigoris, the Maitre De Maison, made us feel instantly welcome. Strong point of the hotel, apart from the beauty of the hotel and the friendliness of Grigoris, it was the breakfast: rich and varied. Definitely we will be back maybe for a few more days ...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giagariff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Me and my husband Andreas spent 9 nights at Markezinis Suites, as part of our wedding ceremony in Fira and our honeymoon in Santorini. The hotel was beyond our expectations, with spacious rooms and carefully selected decoration in them, which was perfectly in line with the style of the house. The rooms were thoroughly cleaned every day and we had a plenty of choices for breakfast, which was served in our room at the time we requested. I would highly recommend this hotel for staying in Santorini, as I am sure it will satisfy even the most demanding traveller. A special thanks to Grigoris Katsaris, the Maitre De Maison of Markezinis Suites, who did his best to fulfil the customers' needs with an outstanding kindness and professionalism.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexEvangelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountsorrel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We spent a week here in the middle of May and it was a great base for a wonderful stay.
There's lots to like about Markezinis Suites, the excellent, and spotlessly clean rooms, the amazing breakfasts but most of all Grigoris - the manager.
It's very rare to come across someone so naturally good at what he does - he's the hotels biggest asset.
There's no pool or view but it doesn't need them - go to Petit Palace for those. There's more to a great hotel than a pool or view as Markezinis Suites proves.
We loved it and will go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jollybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mesaria
2.5 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#3 of 77 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#4 of 77 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.7 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Stelios Place
Stelios Place
#2 of 40 in Perissa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.6 mi away
Celestia Grand
Celestia Grand
#1 of 82 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand View Hotel
Grand View Hotel
#1 of 7 in Megalochori
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Markezinis Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Markezinis Suites

Property: Markezinis Suites
Address: Mesaria 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Mesaria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mesaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Markezinis Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine boutique hotel in picturesque Messaria, in the island of Santorini. The former residence of a Prime Minister is now transformed into a luxury mansion that offers impeccable hospitality to those seeking an unforgettable getaway. The mansion’s luxe atmosphere, reverberating its glorious past, is coupled with all modern comforts and an exceptional service focused on flexibility and personal touch: we promise to tailor-make your every wish come true! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Markezinis Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Markezinis Suites Santorini/Mesaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing