We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property away from the Munnar town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice property away from the Munnar town”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

This is a good property overlooking the tea gardens and if you can get a room with a view that's an added bonus!
Location:
It's away from the town. A good 20 kms away. Which is a nice thing if you are looking for a serene location and it definitely adds the calmness to your holiday mood. We loved it.
You will have to travel to town and across for your visit to most of the destinations...but that's totally ok.

Food:
Hmmm mixed feelings. It's expensive but then it's a resort. The service is so so...some of the stuff we ordered was good and some not so good. But ya we preferred our dinners here after the long sight seeing day!

Service:
Room service, the staff...very very nice. Overall 5 stars for that!

Ambiance: Compared to a lot of other hotels....this is definitely worth the price.

Din't like: The fact that internet is charged...you could give an hour of free usage!, they charge for DVD renting zzz..been to other places where all these services are complimentary.

Overall: I would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Try to get the room with the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DivyaGupta1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    363
    135
    41
    40
See reviews for
452
256
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We Visited Munnar december last year, the weather was really pleasant at that time.Reserved terrace Greens after checking out the reviews on various portals.So this place is bit far from the city but the drive is pleasant with lots of scenic views.This is on top of the hill from here you can see a river down in the valley and amazingly beautiful tea gardens & mountains full of greenery.Resort is well maintained, rooms are nice with a view to the lovely surrounding nature.Buffet Food and service was just average.They had a nice bon fire arrangement behind the buffet area where a compere was available for guest entertainment and other activities, and also a kids activity area where carom, TT and other games are available (Great for the people who are traveling with kids). One thing that needs to be mentioned in bold letters is that they arranged our candle light dinner on the terrace under the sky full of stars marvelously and it was so romantically done up with some roses and wine.Even the Food was delicious that night and the person who was attending us was available there at all times making sure we had a lovely time :)
Cant say we enjoyed our stay as we were out traveling around lots,location wise it is good, Hospitality,food & ambience average.Giving it a "very good" rating because of that lovely candle night dinner we had,truly memorable.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view to the mountains and tea gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GayatriChaudhry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Ravi kumar - 43 It is not review from me it is from my team. We had been to sterling Terrace Greens, an amazing palce to relax and we are there for three days. It is a great home away from home with all facilities. i have no thought of coming back man......... it is the place for all ages. we are totally 20 people contains 4 families and 8 bachelors. It is really a great place to visit and the resort is nicely located. The rooms are really clean and with all facilities. I should thank the travel desk who's guided right from the begning and made this trip more joyble. thank you changappa.

Room Tip: if you are travelling with a group i suggest to take one block which will be your own courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAVIMANI20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2014

The place is located quite far away from Munnar town and takes 30-40 min (based on your driving skills) to reach the resort and also the route is beautiful, clean roads, very green and scenic. This is an amazing place if you want to relax and the rooms there are amazing. We were well received by the front desk and we were in the rooms in 10 minutes flat. The studio rooms are cozy and had a lovely mountain view, comfortable for 2.
The food package at the restaurant is reasonable and the quality is good, breakfast spread was impressive.

Downside (location perspective): Ensure that you have enough fuel in your vehicles, as the nearest petrol station is in Munnar town. Also there aren't many hotels near to the resort, hence you end up using the in-house restaurant, which is still good in my opinion.

Suggestion (to sterling): have few more direction boards en route to resort, since i couldn't see many. Info for all travelers, the place is located right next to Club Mahindra (who have advertised well enough). In case you are lost, and if you come across any club mahindra boards, keep following.

All in all.. enjoyed, relaxed and stayed comfortably. Not to forget the staff are also well behaved and courteous.

Room Tip: Facing the mountains/tea estates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rao_krishna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

I stayed at this resort hotel for 4 consecutive nights from 10th August to 14th August 2014. The resort is located in a great place. In fact I was glad that it was not in proper Munnar town. The resort is located at Chinnakanal which is about 20 Kms ahead of Munnar town if you are approaching this resort from Kochi. In the hills that means about 30 odd minutes. But trust me those 30 minutes treat you to some great memorable views.

Lovely tea gardens with perfectly manicured and identical height plants spread over kms of land moving from one mountain to another in an endless fashion are a treat to the eyes.

The resort itself is at a hilltop which faces the valley but if you are a timeshare member get ready to be disappointed. This is where the glaring deficiencies begin. Most of the timeshare block’s rooms have little or no view of the beautiful valley. I hold the sterling management responsible for having given a raw deal to the timeshare members on this account.

This deficiency is somewhat made up by the thick forest surrounding the timeshare block. And if you are in love with nature then there is another treat in store for you. There are some extremely beautiful birds not only to be spotted but also heard. Every morning we woke with the chirping and singing sounds of these birds and that was heavenly.

The resort is well equipped it has a nice well equipped activity centre. There is a battery operated cart that helps you get around the resort as it is reasonably large and for the unfit and old people it is a good facility to have. If you want to move out and do some site seeing all you have to do is come to the gate of the property and there are at least a dozen taxis waiting and eager to take you anywhere you like.

The restaurant is great value for money. But if you plan to stay long do go and check out the other resorts nearby as the food at Sterling gets monotonously boring particularly if you plan to stay more than two days. Towards this cause I strongly recommend eating at the Mahindra property it is expensive BUT it serves great food with fantastic ambience to give it company.

To come back to the negatives the other glaring deficiency lies in the restaurant management. This property (at least at the time I went) had been aggressively sold to groups. There was a check out and check in of at least 1-2 groups every day. This may be good for the resort as far as selling rooms is concerned. But when it comes to managing a good decent overall upmarket ambience it is a total disaster. There is only one restaurant at this property and when it is meal time things get worse as the individual traveller who is not a part of any group and in all likelihood has paid much more than any group booking gets totally trampled over. When the groups walk in they have a mob mentality and are invariably in attack mode. What follows is utter chaos. The ambience of the restaurant is totally and completely demolished. And I say this with firsthand experience of what happened to me and the others. The food is mishandled, spilt & wasted. The staff get completely disoriented and confused by the sudden wave of arrivals and needless to say the service levels decline dramatically thereafter. You feel as if you are sitting at some road side tea stall.

The senior management must avoid getting a downmarket tag attached to this property due to this reason as it is otherwise a nice place. It really must do something about it. I for one strongly suggest that group meals should be taken to a separate location so that the peace & ambiance of the one and only restaurant is not destroyed for the people who have surely paid more than the group rates.

Beyond this the rooms are very well equipped and provided for. The service personnel are excellent, responsive and eager to please you. The wi-fi is provided in the lobby area only and is highly unreliable thus if you need to work for even sometime in a day I strongly suggest you carry 2 – 3 data cards as only a few are likely to catch a signal.

Room Tip: Try to get the Hotel Block instead of the time share IF YOU LIKE A ROOM WITH A VIEW.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanjaySharma_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

The place is located quite far away from Munnar town and takes 20 min to reach the resort. This is an amazing place if you want to relax and the rooms there are amazing. Its a home away from home with a Fridge, Oven and TV. There were two rooms one was a living room with a dining table and a sofa and TV and the other was a bed room with a reclining chair. There is a lawn outside and it faces a huge lake and the view is breathtaking. There are a few shops and 2/3 restaurants with one of them being vegetarian food and the rest selling Non vegetarian food too. There are lot of activities planned within the resort and there are a few games that can be played within the resort. They also serve very good food and the breakfast buffet is amazing with a wide spread menu.The service can be better.

Room Tip: There aren't too many shops nearby and is quite far from the center of the town. To buy any esse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramakrishnan_2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, India
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

6 of our friends with families arrived at around 3 pm and all were well received by the front desk and we were in the rooms in 10 minutes flat.
The rooms are cozy and had a lovely mountain view. Here is a tip ask for rooms on the left side which have a more picturesque view than the rooms on the other side.
Food package was good with a limited spread. In the evening we had ordered for veg pakodas and we received onion bajjis. When we asked the steward he said this called pakodas here and we asked how will bajjis look like. He said bajjis are vegetables dipped in flour and deep fried. I did not expect this sort of a reply from an RCI resort. The service in the restaurant was also very poor. Due to a long weekend there was good crowd. But very few people to take care.
In the bathrooms after 10 am there was no hot water.
All this apart the activity centre kept the kids busy all day. The magic show on the independence day was very good. The magician pulled out many a tricks to enthral the crowd.
Overall was a good experience.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PEEGEEYES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinnakanal
8.9 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 14 in Chithirapuram
879 reviews
8.9 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
8.9 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 14 in Chithirapuram
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
SpiceTree Munnar
SpiceTree Munnar
#1 of 14 in Chinnakanal
442 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Siena Village
The Siena Village
#5 of 14 in Chinnakanal
592 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Panoramic Getaway
The Panoramic Getaway
#5 of 14 in Chithirapuram
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: Chinnakanal 685612, India (Formerly Sterling Holidays Green Vistas Munnar)
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Chinnakanal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chinnakanal
#4 Spa Hotel in Chinnakanal
#4 Family Hotel in Chinnakanal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chinnakanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrace Greens is nestled within undulating hills in the quiet village of Chinnakanal, some 18 kms from the hustle and bustle of Munnar town. The resort is located high above the Munnar town with splendid views of the Anaiyirangal Dam, tea gardens and surrounding forests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Resorts Munnar Hotel Chinnakanal
Sterling Resort Munnar
Sterling Hotel Munnar
Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing