We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My first trip to munner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
“My first trip to munner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

Ravi kumar - 43 It is not review from me it is from my team. We had been to sterling Terrace Greens, an amazing palce to relax and we are there for three days. It is a great home away from home with all facilities. i have no thought of coming back man......... it is the place for all ages. we are totally 20 people contains 4 families and 8 bachelors. It is really a great place to visit and the resort is nicely located. The rooms are really clean and with all facilities. I should thank the travel desk who's guided right from the begning and made this trip more joyble. thank you changappa.

Room Tip: if you are travelling with a group i suggest to take one block which will be your own courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAVIMANI20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    354
    130
    40
    40
See reviews for
437
251
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

The place is located quite far away from Munnar town and takes 30-40 min (based on your driving skills) to reach the resort and also the route is beautiful, clean roads, very green and scenic. This is an amazing place if you want to relax and the rooms there are amazing. We were well received by the front desk and we were in the rooms in 10 minutes flat. The studio rooms are cozy and had a lovely mountain view, comfortable for 2.
The food package at the restaurant is reasonable and the quality is good, breakfast spread was impressive.

Downside (location perspective): Ensure that you have enough fuel in your vehicles, as the nearest petrol station is in Munnar town. Also there aren't many hotels near to the resort, hence you end up using the in-house restaurant, which is still good in my opinion.

Suggestion (to sterling): have few more direction boards en route to resort, since i couldn't see many. Info for all travelers, the place is located right next to Club Mahindra (who have advertised well enough). In case you are lost, and if you come across any club mahindra boards, keep following.

All in all.. enjoyed, relaxed and stayed comfortably. Not to forget the staff are also well behaved and courteous.

Room Tip: Facing the mountains/tea estates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rao_krishna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
88 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

I stayed at this resort hotel for 4 consecutive nights from 10th August to 14th August 2014. The resort is located in a great place. In fact I was glad that it was not in proper Munnar town. The resort is located at Chinnakanal which is about 20 Kms ahead of Munnar town if you are approaching this resort from Kochi. In the hills that means about 30 odd minutes. But trust me those 30 minutes treat you to some great memorable views.

Lovely tea gardens with perfectly manicured and identical height plants spread over kms of land moving from one mountain to another in an endless fashion are a treat to the eyes.

The resort itself is at a hilltop which faces the valley but if you are a timeshare member get ready to be disappointed. This is where the glaring deficiencies begin. Most of the timeshare block’s rooms have little or no view of the beautiful valley. I hold the sterling management responsible for having given a raw deal to the timeshare members on this account.

This deficiency is somewhat made up by the thick forest surrounding the timeshare block. And if you are in love with nature then there is another treat in store for you. There are some extremely beautiful birds not only to be spotted but also heard. Every morning we woke with the chirping and singing sounds of these birds and that was heavenly.

The resort is well equipped it has a nice well equipped activity centre. There is a battery operated cart that helps you get around the resort as it is reasonably large and for the unfit and old people it is a good facility to have. If you want to move out and do some site seeing all you have to do is come to the gate of the property and there are at least a dozen taxis waiting and eager to take you anywhere you like.

The restaurant is great value for money. But if you plan to stay long do go and check out the other resorts nearby as the food at Sterling gets monotonously boring particularly if you plan to stay more than two days. Towards this cause I strongly recommend eating at the Mahindra property it is expensive BUT it serves great food with fantastic ambience to give it company.

To come back to the negatives the other glaring deficiency lies in the restaurant management. This property (at least at the time I went) had been aggressively sold to groups. There was a check out and check in of at least 1-2 groups every day. This may be good for the resort as far as selling rooms is concerned. But when it comes to managing a good decent overall upmarket ambience it is a total disaster. There is only one restaurant at this property and when it is meal time things get worse as the individual traveller who is not a part of any group and in all likelihood has paid much more than any group booking gets totally trampled over. When the groups walk in they have a mob mentality and are invariably in attack mode. What follows is utter chaos. The ambience of the restaurant is totally and completely demolished. And I say this with firsthand experience of what happened to me and the others. The food is mishandled, spilt & wasted. The staff get completely disoriented and confused by the sudden wave of arrivals and needless to say the service levels decline dramatically thereafter. You feel as if you are sitting at some road side tea stall.

The senior management must avoid getting a downmarket tag attached to this property due to this reason as it is otherwise a nice place. It really must do something about it. I for one strongly suggest that group meals should be taken to a separate location so that the peace & ambiance of the one and only restaurant is not destroyed for the people who have surely paid more than the group rates.

Beyond this the rooms are very well equipped and provided for. The service personnel are excellent, responsive and eager to please you. The wi-fi is provided in the lobby area only and is highly unreliable thus if you need to work for even sometime in a day I strongly suggest you carry 2 – 3 data cards as only a few are likely to catch a signal.

Room Tip: Try to get the Hotel Block instead of the time share IF YOU LIKE A ROOM WITH A VIEW.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanjaySharma_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

The place is located quite far away from Munnar town and takes 20 min to reach the resort. This is an amazing place if you want to relax and the rooms there are amazing. Its a home away from home with a Fridge, Oven and TV. There were two rooms one was a living room with a dining table and a sofa and TV and the other was a bed room with a reclining chair. There is a lawn outside and it faces a huge lake and the view is breathtaking. There are a few shops and 2/3 restaurants with one of them being vegetarian food and the rest selling Non vegetarian food too. There are lot of activities planned within the resort and there are a few games that can be played within the resort. They also serve very good food and the breakfast buffet is amazing with a wide spread menu.The service can be better.

Room Tip: There aren't too many shops nearby and is quite far from the center of the town. To buy any esse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramakrishnan_2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, India
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

6 of our friends with families arrived at around 3 pm and all were well received by the front desk and we were in the rooms in 10 minutes flat.
The rooms are cozy and had a lovely mountain view. Here is a tip ask for rooms on the left side which have a more picturesque view than the rooms on the other side.
Food package was good with a limited spread. In the evening we had ordered for veg pakodas and we received onion bajjis. When we asked the steward he said this called pakodas here and we asked how will bajjis look like. He said bajjis are vegetables dipped in flour and deep fried. I did not expect this sort of a reply from an RCI resort. The service in the restaurant was also very poor. Due to a long weekend there was good crowd. But very few people to take care.
In the bathrooms after 10 am there was no hot water.
All this apart the activity centre kept the kids busy all day. The magic show on the independence day was very good. The magician pulled out many a tricks to enthral the crowd.
Overall was a good experience.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PEEGEEYES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Our stay was very pleasant and memorable.Rooms are amidst greenary and comfortable. All the staff right from the front office to the house keeping are courteous. During our stay Independence day was celebrated at the resort and we had the opportunity to participate in the event. There were very interesting competitions like rangoli, collage, treasure hunt, table tennis match etc. We had lot of fun. The actvity room is very colourful with various entertainment and holiday activities. Mrs. Raji, Art Co-ordinator is very talented and friendly`. Mr. Binu and Mr. Chandrappa was very co operative and helpful in choosing our holiday activities. We enjoyed our stay and tempted to come back again.

Room Tip: Studio accommodation was quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raghavan1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Best place to relax with your entire family. Pleasant staying with Sterling Holidays. Place is little far away from the main city Btw thats not a prob cuz you have everything here and you dont have to go out for anything. "You name it They Have it" kinda. Management Staffs are polite and very helpful. Mrs. Raji was one cool headed person you will ever come across when you visit the place. Same with Mr.Changappa and others were also kind. They even arranged a surprise Bday cake for my Mom's Bday when my entire family was in Rangoli competition arranged by Sterling. Special Thanks to Mrs. Raji and Mr.Changappa and Team. Kitchen staffs "Good FOOD" guys :) Thankyou Guys for this wonderful time. A memorable Trip That cannot be forgotten easily. Will Def Come again to Terrace Greens.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sundarji747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinnakanal
8.9 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 13 in Chithirapuram
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
8.9 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Siena Village
The Siena Village
#4 of 13 in Chinnakanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
1.6 mi away
SpiceTree Munnar
SpiceTree Munnar
#1 of 13 in Chinnakanal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
8.2 mi away
Chandys Windy Woods
Chandys Windy Woods
#1 of 13 in Chithirapuram
5.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: Chinnakanal 685612, India (Formerly Sterling Holidays Green Vistas Munnar)
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Chinnakanal
#3 Spa Hotel in Chinnakanal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chinnakanal
#4 Family Hotel in Chinnakanal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chinnakanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrace Greens is nestled within undulating hills in the quiet village of Chinnakanal, some 18 kms from the hustle and bustle of Munnar town. The resort is located high above the Munnar town with splendid views of the Anaiyirangal Dam, tea gardens and surrounding forests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Resorts Munnar Hotel Chinnakanal
Sterling Resort Munnar
Sterling Hotel Munnar
Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing