We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Property, but worst service.”
Review of Sterling Munnar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sterling Munnar
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Went there because my friend offered me the two days vacation from his time share membership. Resort was very good and the location was good as well, but seems overall maintenance is not good. We got a Studio Apt on ground floor. I could observe that paint started peeling off from the roof and also on the outside walls, so maintenance part seems not properly taken care of. Even the window blinds fixtures were occasionally falling off.. !!

Now regarding the Service levels. This is really below standards. Food was below average even though the costs were very high. One day we had to return the Biriyani we ordered at the Restaurant for Dinner, because it was tasting very bad. Waiter who was serving us at the restaurant told the truth that this was not prepared fresh, it was prepared in the morning. But again on questioning the restaurant manager, he didn't have a convincing answer when this was actually prepared and why it is tasting so bad (After he himself tasted the same !)

Now the Wi-Fi facility for Members never worked from the Lobby, even though the other wi-fi network for Sterling guests was working (I think for the people who are staying in the main building). But the staff was not at all helpful to resolve the issue. Then every day evening I had a big trouble getting a car parking place as their parking lot will be always full in the evening and Security simply don't allow parking anywhere else, in front of the hotel or driveway, even if there is lots of space and other cars are already parked. According to their policy (as per security), car can't be parked there, even though their car parking lot is full. But he don't have any alternate places to show me as well. So I had to call the Resort manger to get a parking each time. !!

Then one day we just simply went to the Club Mahindra resort next door for evening tea. Service levels were totally different. Starting from the Security to the Restaurant staff and Managers, all of the people whom we met there greeted us and very courteous and willing to go the extra mile to help us. We really felt that this is kind of Service levels that should be set as the standard at a holiday resort.It was a nice experience. At the Sterling we always felt that we are staying in a Govt. Guest house as the Staff/Management attitude and service was always like that. I have never stayed in a hotel/resort with this kind of below standard service/food. Try to book Club Mahindra Resort next door. They have a beautiful property and really great Service levels.

Room Tip: Try to book Club Mahindra next door. They have a beautiful property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sony_abm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (885)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

643 - 649 of 885 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

We've stayed for 2 nights at this place and have to tell it's located at a very scenic location overlooking mountains and lake below. The property is very well maintained with excellent food and activities in the evening which are very good.

Pros:
Scenic location, Food, well maintained rooms and fun activities.

Cons:
1) The place is located at chinnakkal some 22 kms away from munnar, so if you've plans to see places at munnar this place is not suitable as the travel time is more.
2) Very expensive.

Room Tip: I recommend Deluxe suites which offer nice lake view surrounded by mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KranthiBoyina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

The location of the resort is perfect. Friendly staff. Rooms were good and play area was good. I would recommed this place to all. The best part was the play area and the karaoke place. They hold karaoke sessions every evening and families staying at the hotel enjoy together. the woman sitting in the internet place area was so so so sweet. She even taught me a few sentences in malyalam.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank misssimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

stayed for 2 nights at Sterling.Rooms are nice,but,the surrounding area needs maintainance .The location is out of the way.If you want to just enjoy a bit of solitude,its a good place,but,if you are not going to spend a lot of time in the rooms,better to get a place nearer to the city centre.Break fast buffet was really great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb64_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I stayed in Terrace Green for 2 nights with my family. Location was excellent. Room was spacious also. Only problem I faced was with bathroom. There was some blockage in water slit. Otherwise very good experience. There was complimentary breakfast and dinner. It was also very good. Overall I will say this resort is a good place to stay. I will definitely stay there when I re visit Munnar. I felt pure luxe.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikkhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Awesome layouts and direct connect with mother nature. In my studio appartment tv was not working .Moderate food need to improve room service and front office service. Must visit . Newly renovated property of sterling Munnar town is few kms below but awesome tea gardens all the way. Fog near swings n couch .perfect place to sip coffee

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Jagrut D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Terrace Greens munnar is all about the location, beautifully placed at the tea gardens. This is one of the most amazing places to be when you are in Kerala. The accommodation is excellent. The service and the staff are very good and very helpful. On the negative side, they need to improve the food menu.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ravi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinnakanal
0.7 mi away
The Siena Village
The Siena Village
#5 of 15 in Chinnakanal
604 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Fort Munnar
Hotel Fort Munnar
#6 of 15 in Chinnakanal
335 reviews
8.8 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 15 in Chithirapuram
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
SpiceTree Munnar
SpiceTree Munnar
#1 of 15 in Chinnakanal
476 reviews
8.9 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
2.7 mi away
Great Escapes Resorts
Great Escapes Resorts
#8 of 15 in Chinnakanal
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sterling Munnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Munnar

Address: Chinnakanal 685612, India (Formerly Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Chinnakanal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chinnakanal
#4 Spa Hotel in Chinnakanal
#4 Family Hotel in Chinnakanal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chinnakanal
Price Range: $76 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sterling Munnar 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Munnar is nestled within undulating hills in the quiet village of Chinnakanal, some 18 kms from the hustle and bustle of Munnar town. The resort is located high above the Munnar town with splendid views of the Anaiyirangal Dam, tea gardens and surrounding forests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Sterling Munnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Resorts Munnar Hotel Chinnakanal
Sterling Resort Munnar
Sterling Hotel Munnar
Sterling Munnar Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing