We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent view from room/resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Sterling's munnar property is 20 kms away from munnar town and it is admist tea gardens on all sides. We really liked the first view of the resort location as we reached for check-in. We had booked 2 apts of 1BR each and they were quite big and comfortable for a 2 couples with kids.
Service is good but can be improved upon and food was average.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Preeti2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (860)
There are newer reviews for Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

633 - 639 of 860 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

Excellent location of this Sterling property, about 22 kms away from munnar town. Entire resort is spread across tea estate and it really feels like staying in a tea garden !
Resort is recently refurbished, so maintenance is good. Rooms facing the tea gardens and lake are excellent. Food and general service standards were average.
Just 100 mtrs away is Club mahindra resort and we tried food with them, it was excellent !
Overall, nice gateway for us at munnar tea gardens...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MasterBlasterMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Great location.. Well maintained.. Perfect for a last minute traveller like us where most properties in Myanmar are booked we luckily got this one.. Food is average.. Better idea is to walk across to Mahindra resort and grab a meal there.. No bar so stock up on alcohol if you plan to drink there. Mahindra resorts does have a bar. The location of this property is great, away from the main city. Worth a visit or more !

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TarikaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My biggest shock was our check in at this property during our trip to Kerala. We were a family of four and planned our visit to Kerala for 10 days. we first stayed at Le Meridian Coimbatore and then Courtyard by Marriott Kochi. After a day trip at Kochi we started for Munnar at around 4. We called Sterling to confirm the address and location and our check in time. The first shock came when our driver mentioned that the hotel is approx 25 km away from Munnar proper. The terrible road condition made us reach Munnar at around 8:30. We once again called the hotel to confirm and that is when things started to get fishy. They were fumbling and could not relate our booking confirmation. Still we proceeded accordingly. We reached sterling at around 10;30. It was december and chilling outside. As we walked up to the reception a very lanky stupid guy sitting their said that they could not find any rooms booked at our name. To mention we were carrying our mail booking confirmation with us verified by one of their staffs (someone named vinish or something similar). They were very aggressive that they donot have any information of our booking and a mail confirmation also does not hold any value. I hope people reading my comment can understand our situation as it was 10:30 past at night, chilling outside, family of four and they were not even sure of any bookings. Their was another equally dumb lady sitting their who went up to the point that being at the reception she shouted at us and said that "see your booking is cancelled". we were like clueless that just a minute back we did not have any booking and a minute later it was their and cancelled. At that point we realized the trick of the hotel. We did a booking some 2 months back at a lower rate and they tried to make the situation in a manner so that we end up confirming our booking at the latest hotel rates mentioned. At that point we lost all our cool and started shouting at the reception. and i guess that worked. A booking which was NEVER DONE, THEN CANCELLED, was suddenly made accordingly and we were showed our rooms.
i must say that before munnar we stayed at Le meridian, coimbatore..courtyard by marriott, Kochi and following Munnar we had our stay booked at the Taj, Trivandrum. The service at Sterling is not at par with any of the hotels mentioned above. The rooms were small and toilets stuffy. But as we all know its hard to get a five star property at hill stations so we were ready to compromise. But just as i mentioned the first check in impression made it a bitter two day stay at the hotel and i swear not to return or even mention it to any one willing to go to Munnar. The club mahindra is just a few feet away from the sterling property and better give it a try that the unprofessional unfriendly staffs of sterling.
Overall the property is spacious, the view from the room good, but just as i mentioned our bitter entry made the overall stay a bad experience. Better to avoid.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dvpkolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Sir/Ma’am,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays! We thank you for sharing your valuable feedback on your stay at Munnar – Terrace Greens.

We are concerned about your experience with us and your feedback has been shared with the resort management team at corporate office. We have taken special note of your concerns regarding the check-in process and staff behaviour. Please be assured that corrective actions will be taken wherever required.

We would request you to log on to http://www.bagfulofmemories.com/ and have a look at the happy holiday experiences shared by our members and guests. As you go through the memories, we hope you will be able to see Sterling’s commitment towards delivering exceptional holiday experiences. We hope you will holiday with us again and give us an opportunity to serve you better.

Sincerely,
Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed in this resort for 3 nights. The property is well spread out and is maintained pretty well. Though away from the main Munnar town (~ 18 kms away), the location is picturesque and very peaceful.

The resort has all modern amenities and it has a good gymnasium, activity room ( with both chargeable and complimentary games / activities) and outdoor games (badminton and cricket). We had been here in January and the scenic beauty from this resort is unparallelled. We had booked a compact unit (A room in a building comprising 5-6 rooms). The room was very neat, comfortable and spacious. The upkeep was excellent. The entertainment programme (TV) was working well in the room but there are not many hindi / english channels but frankly in Munnar, one does not need to worry about those.Our room was located at a distance from main reception (~ 5-6 minutes walk) but the resort has an electric car which is usually available for the drop / pick-up.

Food is pretty good but the service at the restaurant is pathetic. It took almost 20 minutes for the waiters to get us a glass of water and clear the tables. We had opted for three meals package (buffet) but we realised that the restaurant does not concentrate too much on lunch as there are not many guests who avail the lunch facility (as many guests typically are busy in sight seeing during that time). The dinner was pretty good but you cannot have the food for more than 2 days here as the main course menu tends to get repetitive. The desserts are amazingly delicious though and make up for the rest.

The staff is pretty courteous, professional and knows the stuff.

The only drawback of this resort is its secluded location and its distance from the main Munnar town. It takes almost an hour to reach main town and in case of any emergency or other requirement (like medical emergency in my case), one cannot help much. Also, there is no alternative to the resort food as there are no restaurants available in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Do not opt for the unit on the second floor of the apartment block if there are elders in the group...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abdul Kader S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The property is well-spread out & set in the heart of lush greenery. Right outside the hotel are the famous tea-plantations, so one doesn't need to walk too far for a photograph against the tea-plantation backdrop!

The biggest plus & minus of this property is the same - distance from the Munnar city (around 20km). So if you are looking at a hectic schedule of sightseeing, you are better off living at another place near the market. But honestly, one should not be holidaying in Munnar with a deadline & should find time to stand & stare. And being away from the market means less crowd & noise - a big must for a getaway.

Had visited in December, we witnessed mist capped mountains in the mornings. The scenic beauty from the hotel is unparalleled. The resort was well maintained, had an activity room for those wished to stay indoors & a decent gym, spa as well. At night, bonfire & DJ is organised, where you can bond with your own group or fraternize with other guests.

Last but a very important factor: - Food. It was obviously good. Gorged on the desserts :)

Important tip: The cottages/studio are at a distance (say 7-10 min walk) from the main hotel (reception/restaurant, etc) so those who wouldn't want that can opt from a room in the hotel itself.

Room Tip: The cottages/studio are at a distance (say 7-10 min walk) from the main hotel (reception/restaurant...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avrag2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Our stay here was for 2 days. The hotel experience in all was bad. I would not suggest this hotel to others.

The restaurant staff is not co operative. We had a three meal package included but everytime we were there, they were out of food. We had to wait for more than 30 mins for our food. It was a total mess there. Lack of proper management.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank payal_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Ma’am,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays!

We are concerned with your experience during you stay at Munnar - Terrace Greens. Your complaints regarding food and staff at the restaurant have been duly noted and shared with the resort management team.

At Sterling Holidays, we strive to deliver the best holiday experiences to our customers. We hope you will holiday with us again and give us the opportunity to deliver you a memorable holiday experience.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinnakanal
8.9 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 14 in Chithirapuram
946 reviews
1.6 mi away
SpiceTree Munnar
SpiceTree Munnar
#1 of 15 in Chinnakanal
450 reviews
8.9 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Siena Village
The Siena Village
#5 of 15 in Chinnakanal
597 reviews
8.8 mi away
Misty Mountain Resort
Misty Mountain Resort
#4 of 9 in Pallivasal
952 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Fort Munnar
Hotel Fort Munnar
#7 of 15 in Chinnakanal
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Address: Chinnakanal 685612, India (Formerly Sterling Holidays Green Vistas Munnar)
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Chinnakanal
#4 Spa Hotel in Chinnakanal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chinnakanal
#4 Family Hotel in Chinnakanal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chinnakanal
Price Range: $68 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrace Greens is nestled within undulating hills in the quiet village of Chinnakanal, some 18 kms from the hustle and bustle of Munnar town. The resort is located high above the Munnar town with splendid views of the Anaiyirangal Dam, tea gardens and surrounding forests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Resorts Munnar Hotel Chinnakanal
Sterling Resort Munnar
Sterling Hotel Munnar
Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing