We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Resort or a Hotel?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Resort or a Hotel?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

It must be called a hotel, its no way a resort in any manner. We stayed for couple of days and i have mentioned my views below:

Resort - Its more of a hotel than a resort. The very ambience and feel you get once you enter the lobby is that you have reached a hotel. No doubt it’s a clean 3 star business hotel.

Food - Food was very average here. If you are going for buffet then you have to be on time to be able to see the full menu. If you are even half an hour late from when the buffet starts most the items will be over and the staff did not even bother to fill it. The restaurant is understaffed with very few people trying to serve to a large crowd. Very average experience but prices they charge is of a 4 star.

Staff - You will hardly be able to see any staff around as they are in less numbers. Room service will take minimum 45 minutes to an hour if you are luckly :) . They even got a half cup of milk for my daughter and charged for full and when I had called them they replaced it with a mare sorry explanation. Room service is not at trained well to handle customers. No first aid box, when asked at the reception.

Room - No balcony's in any of the rooms at a hill station, how pathetic. You go there to enjoy the beauty of the nature and you are forced to be confined in a room without a balcony.

Activities - Very few activities for such a large crowed. Really disastrous.

On the whole not a great place to be. I suggest avoid it if you get a chance to stay at some other place.

Room Tip: All are same nothing great to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prasadtataverty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays!


We are extremely concerned about the experience you have undergone. We have noted down your feedback on our service.

We hope that you will visit us again and give us an opportunity to showcase our true standards of service. We deeply value your feedback and want to thank you for taking the time out to let us know your views.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    346
    125
    40
    40
See reviews for
424
247
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have been a Sterling member for almost 15 years and been to many properties. This is the among the best I have been to. It is located almost 18 Kms from Munnar town has very good view all around. The property is recently renovated rooms and restaurant has been done up nicely but swimming pool is not yet ready, we were told it would take another 1 year for the pool to be operational.

The staff was very friendly and service was nice. Overall good for few days stay with family/friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajesh69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed there for a week during October. Excellent location. Breathtaking view of the hills, Very good trained staff. Place has been completely renovated and rooms are in very good condition. Food was very good (though pricing slightly on the higher side)October- December a very pleasant time to visit.

Room Tip: In case you are travelling only as a couple, opt for the smaller rooms, ( I think they are called gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hariharankrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vellore, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed in this Resort for 3 days. Very nice experience.Newly furnished apartments with good staff. It is 15 km away from Munnar city. But very nice place. We enjoyed the food in the restaurant.. Very Good place to take rest. We got pleasant weather during the end of september month.

Room Tip: Well furnished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irudayaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

location is sterling.
in the mountains, very peaceful. place is landscaped nicely too. rooms were good since they were all renovated recently. given the way sterling maintains its properties, it is quite likely that this place will become dumpy in a few years, so now is the time to visit.
there is a lake close by (annay-yerang dam or something like that but translates to elephants coming down). that lake is visible from sterling itself. it is as yet an undiscovered gem and just a 10 minute drive from sterling. highly worth a visit, the resort folks can tell you how to get there. it was beautiful, scenic, peaceful and all the related adjectives. the lake is fringed with mountains and occasionally elephants stop by to quench their thirst. fortunately or unfortunately that did not happen when we visited.
food is sterling is good, service was reasonable. the place definitely helps you unwind. they also have an activity room which my son (3 yrs old) enjoyed a lot. they have lots of entertainment options for all age groups. there was a bunch of supremely talented crooners the first night who were belting tamil songs on a karaoke machine. they should have been booked for murdering those songs, or maybe they helped keep the monkeys at bay.
sterling folks will keep insisting that 4 people can share a single bedroom. thats a lie, comfortable for 2 adults plus one kid. only way to fit in 4 people is if they are 2 siamese twins. so repel their efforts to stuff 4 of you into one room.
the kitchenette did not have a hot pan or induction stove, the major reason we got a single bedroom apt. it has a fridge, microwave, electric kettle and pots and pans. for some reason, sterling thinks that this makes them special and keep reminding you that you can make your own coffee in your room.
the travel desk is very helpful and set us up with all our travel needs. the scenery outside is really great, so i don;t quite understand people who gripe about the views from the room. all you need to do is take 10 steps and you will have great views.
we definitely want to go back, maybe during monsoon, when all the waterfalls are roaring.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays. We would like to thank you for your positive feedback on our property. We have noted down your feedback on kitchenette. We assure you that we will look into it and take the necessary actions.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The location of the resort is awesome ,though i must say it takes a good long drive to reach it .But the journey itself is through the tea plantations which is a breathtaking view . We went there on our anniversary and had an amazing time staying in the cottage with valley view.The room and bathroom standards can still be improved upon as it is quite basic and not luxurious stay .

The staff is very courteous and helpful ! We stayed for 3 days and the food was good with different options on each day for veg and non -veggies .The chef especially made our trip memorable by surprising us with artistically decorated , yummy deserts !
You can do lot of activities in the resort like rifle shooting , indoor games and rope games(especially for kids) . We had fun doing the rappling and zummering on the large rock within the premise in the resort .Night safaris are also arranged for animal lovers The jeep safari to the anaimudi hill and konakumalia tea factory has a gorgeous view ! Not to forget the authentic kerela massage with oils which is done here was quite refreshing ..
The take home message is its not a 5 star property.. but if you want to have a relaxing, nature trip with some adventure , good food and hospitality experience then go for it as sterling will make this a memorable trip for u ..

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dr_arya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raipur, Chhattisgarh, India
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Booked a regular cottage for us (1 couple).
Newly renovated resort.
Nice cottage with very good vally view provided.
Welcomg staff & prompt fomalities.
Gold car provided to reach us to our room.
Spacious room with living & dining room attached.
Clean linens & quees size bed.
Microwave oven with few but useful utensils provided in the cottage.
Nice spacious cottage.
Good reception area with nicely done garden infront on it.
Lot of fun activities conducted in resort for guests.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage room with valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SK_Gupta_Rpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinnakanal
9.3 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Siena Village
The Siena Village
#4 of 13 in Chinnakanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Fog Resort & Spa
The Fog Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts
8.7 mi away
Chandys Windy Woods
Chandys Windy Woods
#1 of 13 in Chithirapuram
5.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
9.2 mi away
Forest Glade
Forest Glade
#3 of 9 in Pallivasal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: Chinnakanal 685612, India (Formerly Sterling Holidays Green Vistas Munnar)
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Chinnakanal
#3 Spa Hotel in Chinnakanal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chinnakanal
#4 Family Hotel in Chinnakanal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chinnakanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrace Greens is nestled within undulating hills in the quiet village of Chinnakanal, some 18 kms from the hustle and bustle of Munnar town. The resort is located high above the Munnar town with splendid views of the Anaiyirangal Dam, tea gardens and surrounding forests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Resorts Munnar Hotel Chinnakanal
Sterling Resort Munnar
Sterling Hotel Munnar
Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing