We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View , Good Food and Very Good Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We Stayed there for 3 days and 2 Nights. Its a Honey Moon Package. We feel safe and secure inside the resort and enjoyed the environment very much. The Resort is on the Theni to Munnar Ghat Road it took just 2.5 hrs from Theni (No need to go Munnar Town on this way). Our overall experience is very nice.If u r travelling by bus from Theni then just get down at Chinnakanal stop which is next to Periyakanal,hire one jeep for 50 rs and reach resort.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DK16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (879)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

798 - 804 of 879 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2011

The room we had was spacious and pretty, the breakfast was average and the distance to the spa is long. The garden was small, but it’s a relaxing and quiet place – one where you really cant spend a long time.. Average food and beverage,, not that great a placve to stay.. was very far from the bus station...nothing nearby.,.. there are other hotels nearby which are almost of same type...................... Will think twice if I had to stay there again...................................

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bkdas2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed there for 7 nights and 8 days as RCI Guest. The location and setting of the Resort is fantastic. Though it is a long 4 hour road journey from Cochin Airport and last one hour through narowd winding hill roads but it is worth the value when you reach there. We stayed in a room on the second floor with beautiful valey view. You can spend hours watching the hills playing hide & seek with the clouds & mist. Keeps on changing every moment. The wide glass window was like a panoromic screen.
The room size just OK. The wrought iron furniture and very old wordrobe were a bit of disappointment. A small sofa and a study table is a must for a Resort of its class. Bed linens and towells were a bit old but clean. A towell decoration on the bed surprised us everyday as we used to come back to the room after breakfast!! The overall cleanliness could have been little better.
The restaurant though a bit old but is different from the regular with antique looks. Food in general was good and had varieties. Proposal of a Candle light dinner amidst the forest behind the restaurant in a bamboo hut was a pleasent surprise. Making all the arrangements including carrying all the food to that distance for just two of us was a bit too pampering!! It was a great experience for a little extra charge.
The staff service both in the front desk and restaurant was very good. The house keeping was also good. All the tour and travel arrangements including a Geep Safari to the Echo point and Orthodox Tea factory at heighest altitude of about 8,000 feet was very exciting. The arrangements were full proof but a bit costly. One of the tours include a Birriani service en route during lunch time in the car at a particular point. The Sabyaa restaurant serving authentic Kerala food during lunch only was very good. Subuthi the Spa needs to be more professional and Kerala standard.
With little bit attention to the room furniture and cleanliness will make the Resort a class one with its locational advantage and courtious staff fleet. I have no hesitation of recommending it to my friends who want value for their money.

Room Tip: Studio Apartments or 2nd 3rd floor valley view rooms on the side wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suprovat_Chatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

i stayed at Sterling for 7 days and i just could not bear the food after 3 days . Hotel has three parts . two parts are OK but i stayed in mail pary which i think is the old one and rooms were not so good . It is adviasble to check in which part they are giving you roooms .
Worst part was the food specially for North Indians . They do not know how to serve Roties which is so essential for every North Indian . They prepared all the chhapaties in one go and put it in a casserol which we could not even tear leave eating aside .
By 4day we were fad up by eating south Indian food and were asking for some different food items .
Location of this Hotel is fantastic you can see some of the finest scenes from your room . Tea gardens are surround you and just a walk away from the hotel . Overall average hotel ( One part ) average food . Poor servive . When we reached no one was there to attend us . In night no senior person remains there ar Reception . So be aware .

Room Tip: Munnar .Beautiful place -Average stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tigerabhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

we stayed at compact room which has induction stove, room heater dining table, the room was spacious, room service satisfactory, ;indoor and outdoor games facilities were good. But the room was located 100 meters from Reception and you have to climb up to 100 steps. The hotel reception staff brought my luggage there.

Near my room one carpenter was working to repair building which created noise disturbance from 9 am to 5 pm. which I hated very much. i complained about this to management they said sorry and could not avoid it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramdoss_AS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We had visited the Sterling Resort, Munnar on 18th & 19 January 2011. Unlike most review, we found the place quite beautiful & peaceful. The food was good, but the cooks should stick to the indian flavours rather than experimenting with other delicacies. Good place to stay for longer span.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinaychaturvedi51, Manager at Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2011

Dear Sir,
Thank you for choosing Sterling Holidays for your weekend getaway. We are glad you enjoyed your Holidays at Green Vistas Munnar; we have also noted your valuable input on the Food Quality. We have up graded our multi cuisine Menu It would be a pleasure to have you with us again "find your Wonderful World" all over again.
Thanking you,
With warm regards,
Vinay chaturvedi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We visited Munnar during 1st week of June-2011 and stayed in Sterling hotel for 3n/4d. We had taken 2 rooms for 2 couples here is what we felt about the hotel.
Good:
1) Nice location 2) Good Breakfast served 3) The food served in restaurant (a-la-cart) is good. 4) There is one big and nice waterfall near hotel within 3 kms range. 5) The SPA, Subuthi, is good. 6) some of the rooms on 2nd and 3rd floor have amazing valley view. 7) Staff is co-operative. 8) They have lot of in house activities planned for the guests during the day, some of which are interesting.
Bad:
1) Rooms were not cleaned properly, the garbage was just pushed below the bed, so we had to change one room. 2) This place is far away from Munnar and major attactions of the place so every time you need to travel at-least 18-20kms. 3) The activity centre is not perperly equipped, first of all it leaks heavily when rain comes, secondly it is not properly organized, they charge for almost every activity e.g. pool / remote control car for kids/ TT. 4) The buffet dinner served is not good at all for the price they charge.

Room Tip: Ask for valley view rooms on 2nd/3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank deshiashish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinaychaturvedi51, Manager at Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2011

Dear Sir,
Greetings’ from Sterling Green Vistas Munnar!!!
Thank you for choosing Sterling Green Vistas Munnar for your Holidays. We are glad you enjoyed your Holidays at Green Vistas Munnar; we have noted your valuable input on
Rooms up keep and services provided which was not up to your liking; we are working on it on priority, we are also upgrading our most of the rooms and others facility on offer at the Resorts, We shall ensure care is taken in this regard and hope to have you with us in the near future.

Thanking you,

With best regards,
Vinay chaturvedi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinnakanal
8.8 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 15 in Chithirapuram
1,009 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Siena Village
The Siena Village
#5 of 15 in Chinnakanal
603 reviews
1.6 mi away
SpiceTree Munnar
SpiceTree Munnar
#1 of 15 in Chinnakanal
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Fort Munnar
Hotel Fort Munnar
#6 of 15 in Chinnakanal
327 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mountain Trail Resort
Mountain Trail Resort
#11 of 15 in Chinnakanal
188 reviews
2.7 mi away
Great Escapes Resorts
Great Escapes Resorts
#8 of 15 in Chinnakanal
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Address: Chinnakanal 685612, India (Formerly Sterling Holidays Green Vistas Munnar)
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Chinnakanal
#4 Family Hotel in Chinnakanal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chinnakanal
#4 Spa Hotel in Chinnakanal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chinnakanal
Price Range: $64 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrace Greens is nestled within undulating hills in the quiet village of Chinnakanal, some 18 kms from the hustle and bustle of Munnar town. The resort is located high above the Munnar town with splendid views of the Anaiyirangal Dam, tea gardens and surrounding forests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Resorts Munnar Hotel Chinnakanal
Sterling Resort Munnar
Sterling Hotel Munnar
Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing