We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location , but room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Mahindra Munnar
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is the place to stay at when at Munnar - right in the midst of miles and miles of rolling tea gardens - absolutely soothing to the eye and to the mind.
This was my third stay. I have stayed in the time-share units earlier; got 2 hotel units this time.
Pluses :
1) Location, location, location - incredibly beautiful vistas of tea gardens wherever you cast the eye.
2) Service - as in all Club Mahindra properties, courteous and responsive.
3) Breakfast – decent range and quality.
4) The rooms – fairly large sized for a “Hotel Room”. Large bed. Kerala inspired décor. Specially liked the faux fire place with an electric room heater (cute touch). Even the Hotel Rooms have a small kitchenette (microwave, tea maker, juicer, crockery, cutlery – hidden inside a locked cupboard – just ask housekeeping to unlock it for you).
Negatives :
1) The Bath: This is an absolute disaster. The shower area is exactly 3 tiles wide – too narrow for comfort. This means that there is no place even for a towel rack, which is hence placed above the commode (truly strange), There is a wall mounted dispenser for shower gel/ shampoo in the shower area, a hand-wash dispenser near the basin, a tiny bottle of body lotion, a shower cap and NOTHING else. Better amenities are expected from a property that carries a rack rate of 9000 + taxes per night!
The cracks between the tiles were dirty. I found an exposed rusty nail in each of the bathrooms – got the impression that the bathroom telephones had been removed without dealing with the nails. Positively dangerous - especially in such a cramped space.
2) The Bed: Two single mattresses are placed on the double bed. This means that there is a kind of “valley” towards the centre of the bed where the 2 mattresses meet. Even the quality of the mattresses was poor – lumpy and saggy; resulting in VERY POOR SLEEP QUALITY.
3) The dinner buffet: Priced at 790 plus taxes per head, the dinner was an unmitigated disaster. Although there was a largish range, nothing was edible (and I am quite tolerant and flexible). Had to try and make a meal out of desserts (tiny portions that even an infant would find inadequate) just like my fellow diners on the table next to me. I preferred to spend 45 minutes (one way) and Rs 800 (round trip) to drive down to Munnar for a meal. Yes, that Bad.
4) House-keeping not up to the mark: The level of cleanliness left a lot to be desired. Our rooms were not cleaned for the more than 4 hours that we had gone sightseeing in the morning/afternoon. To their credit, they responded quickly enough once we complained. Get the impression that the team is understaffed.
5) Inadequate furnishing in the room: There is just one side table next to the bed. This too does not have drawers. After considering the space occupied by the telephone, there is hardly any space for you reading glasses / books / cell phone et al. The unit in front of the mirror has a really tiny drawer.

Incidental Info:
We had asked for an airport pick up and were charged Rs 5000 by the travel desk for an AC Innova. Prepaid taxis are available at Kochi airport (check the airport website for details) and charge a little less than Rs 3500 for an AC Innova. The prepaid taxi service outside the Resort would charge you Rs 4000 for an airport drop (our pickup was subcontracted to one of these guys).

Time share units v/s Hotel Rooms:
The time share units are constructed on a sort of terraced hill next to the Hotel building. A shuttle service from the reception area is available, but only up to the foot of the area where your unit is. This means that there is an element of walking and/or climbing from your drop/pickup point if your unit is located at a height. Not all the climbing areas have hand railings – this could pose as a difficulty to the elderly or those having mobility issues. The flip side is that the time share units are larger, quiter, more private and have better views.

The Hotel unit is a ground plus two construction. The presence of a parking lot means that the rooms on the ground floor would have absolutely NO privacy. You cannot open your windows and hence would not enjoy the views (that are the biggest attraction of the property). The rear facing rooms have ABSOLUTELY NOTHING to talk about by way of view – just some rock and a few flower pots – again a score of Zero on the view front! The tea garden facing rooms have excellent views of the tea gardens – comparable to the views afforded by the time share units. However, be aware that the presence of the reception area, ayurvedic centre, gym, dining areas and activity centre in the Hotel block means a continuous flow of people and vehicles in this area – certainly NOT private. The Hotel is an option that I would recommend only to those who have mobility issues!

WOULD I VISIT AGAIN? Yes, on the hope that the management would address the concerns of its guests , I would like to give this property another chance purely because I love the tea garden views that this property offers.

MY RATING: With the essentials of bath, bed and meals drawing a strong negative while the location of the property being a very strong Plus, I rate this property at a 3.25 (rounded off to 3 since trip advisor does not permit decimals).

p.s. Do check out Kerala's Pieta at St. Sebastian's Church, Thokupara - enroute Munnar to Kochi Airport

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SameerBombay_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Hi Sameer,

Thank you for your appreciation and the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. We work hard to ensure that all our members have a pleasant experience. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

917 - 923 of 1,299 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Club Mahindra Lake view Munnar from 31st March to 3rd April.
I had nice experience. My family enjoyed the stay. The resort is approximate 20 km from Munnar. The place is very beautiful. We enjoyed the natural beauty during our way from Munnar to Resort.

We stayed in cottage type Room 1119. Good room. 4 person can stay comfortably, bathroom is small but very clean. Small kitchen is attached in room which has fridge and Microwave oven. We came to know that room no 1161 has better view.

All the staff i.e. security guard, waiter, activity centre people, spa team, reception team, room service team, etc, they all are very good and they serve you with smile.
We enjoyed the food, the quality and service were excellent. They managed the show nicely even during rush time.
Always plan for at-least 2 days and must spend one full day in resort. You will enjoy the activities planned by resort team.
Munnar has beautiful scenic view "really it's god own country"

Thanks to all the members of Club Mahindra team for nice hospitality and making our trip memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kp4434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Hi,

Munnar with its impeccable beauty is truly heaven on earth and we are really glad to have a Club Mahindra property at Munnar for our members to enjoy the scenic serenity the locale offers. Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Munnar. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the ambience and the activities our resort offered. Please continue to provide us such feedback and look forward to welcoming you at Club Mahindra Resort soon.In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

good view with a nice hotel. our room was facing towards the entrence and had the view of the lake. the room was neatly kept and the bathroom are neat. The food is very nice, go for the buffet breakfast and dinner. Iam from A.P and the T.V doesnot have other regional channels. when we were there the campfire these people arranged in the evening was very nice. People in the hotel are very nice. children activities are very good. It is very far from the main town. if you want to visit the matupattu dam and the flower garden you should visit when you enter munnar itself.

Room Tip: rooms with the front view are very nice and they have a lift so the higher you go the view is better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arunarajpabbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Hi Aruna,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Munnar. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you liked our accommodation and enjoyed the various activities at the resort. Our staff will be delighted to receive your appreciation. Please continue to provide us such feedback and look forward to welcoming you at Club Mahindra Resort soon. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed in Club Mahindra Munnar for four days ( 18th -22nd March 2013) in a studio. Check-in and room was ok but we were not happy with view from the room. Though we had booked 4 months early we got to see only valley. I am happy because at least we were facing valley,but some of the rooms doesn't have any view excepting the roofs of other rooms. This resort is huge and has a wonderful location. Some of the rooms are very good. They have very good shuttle service within the resort which is a blessing for elderly people. My son enjoyed all activities in the resort. He spent almost all his day in the fun activities zone. Presentation of food in the restaurant was very good. Over all our stay was pleasant and memorable. We enjoyed flower garden boating and morning walk.
Just a piece of advice to CM ..... please take care of your surroundings also because when we step outside the resort, we can see plastic and other garbage. At least CM can maintain the Hill in its surroundings( Proximity of 200 meters) as a payback to mother nature.

Room Tip: Rooms from 1103 and above have less views.( Middle block) corner rooms in last block has nothing e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abhi62001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Hi,

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. We are happy to know that your son enjoyed the various activities at our resort. Additionally, the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. Please continue to provide us such feedback and look forward to welcoming you at a Club Mahindra Resort soon. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

It has great location.However be ready to travel 22 kms to Munnar town. The property is very big. Had a 1 BR apartment.
The staff really needs training and the quality is no way above 3*. They staff really needs overhauling as this is a timeshare property and one can't expect hotel sevices but when its known as 5* time share by some people in the business its a misnomer.
The idea is to make the most so ad to guest keep paying. Dinner and Lunch are expensive in all terms. They are charging exorbitant price for buffet @ of Metro cities though food is in no comparison to anything above 3 star at the most. However laundry scheme is good its value for money. Do go over the top of the hill behind the property to explore serene and quite lake which is waiting to be commercialized.
The property is business oriented and definitely overrated. For RCI members there is no option definitely. Property has won RCI awards for years together but doesn't reflect in overall service and award standards needs a re look ! Even the company need to look back as its a premier property to them.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abhijitsengupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Hi Abhijit,

We are really sorry for the unpleasant experiences you have faced and can assure you this is not typical of our staff. Having read your comments, as an organization, we strive hard to ensure a great experience to all our members and realize have fallen short of the same on this occasion. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought to our notice are being addressed on priority. We also request you to provide any further information or feedback that you might have on our Facebook page at the “Listening Post” tab. Additionally, we also look forward to welcoming you at our other resorts and eager to create a positive experience for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed here in October last year with my family on a vacation.

We checked in to our room and found it to be extremely messy. There was no cleaning done for more than a month judging by the amount of dust there was all around.

We complained about it and it took 1 hour for the house keeping team to arrive.

The hotel room that we checked into had no view other than that of the parking.

The worst thing is the room service. Do not expect any thing to be served in your room under an hour and that too for super expensive food.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank swatibansal10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Hi Swati,

We are really sorry for the unpleasant experiences you have faced and can assure you this is not typical of our staff. Having read your comments, as an organization, we strive hard to ensure a great experience to all our members and realize have fallen short of the same on this occasion. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought to our notice are being addressed on priority. We also request you to provide any further information or feedback that you might have on our Facebook page at the “Listening Post” tab. Additionally, we also look forward to welcoming you at our other resorts and eager to create a positive experience for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in a log hut. Was amazed by the vastness of the property and scenic view overlooking the lake and tea gardens. Had a relaxing and quiet vacation with special activities arranged by the hotel.
Food was very expensive( especially the breakfast) but the quality and taste were top notch. Also,didn't find any good restaurants in Munnar so i guess i can give the hotel some leniency on this part. For people who want to avoid this, can have basic supplies from hotel owned grocery supply for MRP- this is a nifty touch!

Rooms have basic supplies,which can be improved - I want the toiletries to be provided when i stay in a hotel/resort. Parking can be a bit of pain/ trick if you are self driving.

Staff are friendly and responsive to all your query and needs.

This place needs a swimming pool or Jacuzzi.

Room Tip: Nice, quiet retreat for couples, family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhavith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Hi Bhavith,

We are really glad to have received your feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. We are certain the staff at Munnar will be delighted to receive your compliment, specifically regarding the dining you ‘ve experienced. Furthermore, your points on the food prices and other room facilities has been duly noted and will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. Please continue to provide us such feedback and look forward to welcoming you at Club Mahindra Resort soon. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinnakanal
0.2 mi away
Club Mahindra Mount Serene
Club Mahindra Mount Serene
#10 of 15 in Chinnakanal
78 reviews
1.5 mi away
SpiceTree Munnar
SpiceTree Munnar
#1 of 15 in Chinnakanal
477 reviews
8.6 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 15 in Chithirapuram
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
1 mi away
The Siena Village
The Siena Village
#5 of 15 in Chinnakanal
604 reviews
8 mi away
Chandys Windy Woods
Chandys Windy Woods
#1 of 15 in Chithirapuram
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Munnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Munnar

Address: Via Suryanelli, Chinnakanal 685618, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chinnakanal
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Chinnakanal
#2 Family Hotel in Chinnakanal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chinnakanal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chinnakanal
Price Range: $99 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Club Mahindra Munnar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Club Mahindra Munnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Lakeview Munnar Hotel Chinnakanal
Hotel Mahindra Lakeview Munnar
Club Mahindra Munnar Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing