We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Club Mahindra Lakeview, Munnar - Paradise gained!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Mahindra Munnar
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Heavenly clouds silently sliding into your collonade that overlooks an aromatic tea estate, giving you a glimpse of the shimmering lake, at times camouflaged by froth, all elevate your mortal and earthly senses to a paradisaical ecstasy. The bard in you involuntarily comes up with liberal lyrics soothing a weary soul in you. Undoubtedly, this is the numero uno of Club Mahindra properties. Our trip to this Lake View property was in February 2008, but it has been very effortless for me to preserve these enchanting musings. The staff was very courteous and extremely polite. Our kid was barely 2.5 years old and I was being extremely cautious with her food and needs. The chief chef indicated that I need not spend time in the kitchenette during a holiday because he takes utmost care in preparing clean and hygienic food for children. Kiddies buffet spread was indeed admirable and the staff was very decorous in packing food for my child on our sight-seeing trips as well, with no extra charges. This was a very warm and affectionate gesture, which indeed is a clinching factor about my Club Mahindra membership. The buffet was quite lavish and extravagant that also included variety of Kerala preparations, which are a must try! The evening activities are also very entertaining and we didn't want to skip them and diligently (read enthusiastically) participated in them every evening.
We spent about 4 days at the Lake View resort and long to do another visit, with these splendid memories still lingering fresh.
The cottages are quite luxurious and very well-maintained.

Room Tip: Room tip: Members must opt for studios. Please book well in advance (6 months prior to the date of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnuWrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Hi Anu,

Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful holiday at Club Mahindra, Munnar. Our staff at the resort will be delighted to receive your feedback. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the various activities at the resort. Thank you for taking out the time to write about your experience with Club Mahindra. Hope to see you at a Club Mahindra resort soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

966 - 972 of 1,293 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

Club Mahindra has a great property in Munnar.. I especially loved it for its proximity to quiet, endless tea estates.. beautiful view.. and a blissful waterfall just 1 km away.. that's just 30 mins walk from the hotel.. would love to visit again

Room Tip: Cottage high up on the hill has a great lake view, pick that
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinAmeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Hi Ameya,

Thank you for your kind words. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you had a great time at Club Mahindra, Munnar. We would love to welcome you again at any of the 40 picturesque resorts. Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with Club Mahindra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is an excellent property in a good location with some beautiful views of the hills and lake. We had a lake view room which had an amazing view of the Anayirankal lake in the distance and the hills. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. But because it was just above the main entrance and reception area, there was quite a lot of noise due to movement of people and traffic.

It is an awesome property with some lip-smacking food in their buffets. The packages for the food for a family with a child are a bit pricey, but the spread is inviting and varied. The dry kitchenette was good as it allowed us to make our own little snacks and sandwiches for lunch everyday. But some of the utensils could have been cleaner.

The grocery store on the property is not very well-stocked and it is difficult to access with a huge flight of steps. However, there is a little shop at Chinnakanal village (within walking distance from the property), which stocks vegetables and basic stuff you would need, and also gives you small quantities.

The activities were well planned everyday, but some were a bit too pricey. They could include some free activities for kids. Some activities needed a bigger room or facility as seating was inadequate for a huge crowd.

Room Tip: The cottages facing the valley may be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priyadesikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Hi Priyadesikan,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra, Munnar. We are glad that you enjoyed the various activities at the resort. Your feedback is valuable to us and we will start work on your concerns with immediate effect. Hope to see you at a Club Mahindra resort soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I am writing this review on the last day of my stay at this excellent property. The STU room was very spacious & the kitchen was a great help since on 2 days my wifey cooked the food thanks to the exorbitant pricing of club mahindra!!! The view from my room was just amazing all tea gardens could see the sunrise over the valleys & clouds entering our room. The food was good with a good spread but pricing was exorbitant which CM needs to really look into.

The only drawback which I found was that the resort was 22 Kms away from the town but then the view was good & peaceful since it was so far away from the town.

Climate was supercool and I am totally stress free and relaxed looking forward to my next destination Thekkady.

Room Tip: Go for higher up rooms which offer valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SubrotoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Hi,

Thank you for your kind words. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. And we are glad you had a great time at Club Mahindra, Munnar. However, we are sorry to hear that you found the food to be expensive. We will ensure that we take this up and will definitely look into it. We would love to welcome you again at any of our 40 picturesque resorts. Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with Club Mahindra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Club Mahindra Munnar is a must visit place for all those who havent been there. The resort is located 22 km from Munnar city in a village called Chinnakkal. The resore is surrounded on all sides by Tea plantations. The location is very picturesque and if u are lucky to get a room with a good view then your stay is worth it. For the 1st 3 days we stayed in a log room which was very clean & spacious.The next 3 days we were staying in a room with a scenic view. When staying there do all sight seeing with the local cab drivers since their rates are 50% lower than of Club Mahindra. Club Mahindra does not have its own vehicles but uses the services of these very local cabs. So why pay more to club Mahindra?

One must visit place is Kolukkamalai Tea Estate which is the world's highest Organic Tea Factory. There is no proper road to go there and the local Jeeps will take u there for Rs900. On the way you have to pay Rs.100 as toll. The tea factory is quite old and u get to see the full tea making process. U can also buy tea there. For bulk purchases they even courier it to your house.

The food at Club Mahindra was over priced and not value for money. Being veg. there was quite a range in the buffets but the food was tasteless. The gravy every day was almost same but vegetables were different. On 2 nights there was a potato based soup which had no taste, while in the non-veg section they had Chinese & Thai soups like Tom Young Soup. The chefs have not even perfected sambar. The sambar had no taste or aroma which we associate with it.

There are lots of activities for children but most of them are not free and charges are exhorbitant. The resort is ideal for couples and honeymooners as it is very scenic and the climate is excellent

Over all excellent resort but overpriced food

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank santoshkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Hi Santosh,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra, Munnar. We are pleased to know that you had a great time at our resort. However, we regret that you didn't enjoy our food and we assure you that this is not typical. We assure that we will take this up and correct it with immediate effect. We would love to welcome you again at any of the 40 picturesque resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Good hotel crippled by just one member of staff, the arrogant F&B manager Mr. Shine Mohan. He is easily the most arrogant man I've seen in the hotel industry. Upon making a simple request to a waiter to serve the starters from the buffet to our table, the poor waiter was intercepted by this Mr. Shine Mohan who told me very arrogantly, "If you want something from the buffet, just help yourself, ok!" Feeling shell shocked, I told him that he'd better be polite or face a negative feedback from me. To my astonishment, he replied "I don't care what who you are or what feedback you give, ok!" Now, I don't think anyone would behave like that unless he wants a negative rating for the hotel he works for, hence this feedback from me about Club Mahindra Munnar.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank aalapatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Hi Aalapatt,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our resort. We are disappointed that your stay was not to your liking. We regret that you had issues with our staff’s behaviour and we assure you that this is not typical. We will ensure that we take this up and correct it with immediate effect. We know you have not had the holiday you expected and the one that we are committed to deliver and we request you to please give us another chance to make it up to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The property in itself is fabulous. Very stylish and very, very plush. The location is breathtaking, with mist covered mountains behind and a awe-inspiring valley / lake view in front. The setting is just brilliant, even though to reach the resort is a bit of a pain !!

I was unhappy about a few incidents at the resort and so I mentioned those in the online Guest Feedback System. I was very pleasantly surprised to find that not only were my concerns looked into, without any delay whatsoever, but all my problems were swiftly and satisfactorily addressed !! Great customer focus. All credit should go to the Front Office Manager Ramesh Jadoun and to the Chef, Debraj Bhaumik. (Don't know if they both are still around, for it's been a while since I visited this property).

Had to find my way from Munnar town, all by myself, as the resort refused to provide me with a pick-up facility - even after my requesting them ! (The resort is a good 20 kms outside of Munnar town and the roads aren't always good).

Room Tip: Only stay in the main wing. Anywhere else within the property is either too steep and just too far f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sumitran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Hi Sumitran,

Thank you for taking time out to write back to us. We are glad you liked the ambience and our staff at the resort will be delighted to receive your feedback. Your assessment is valuable to us and we will work on your concerns with immediate effect. Hope to see you at some other Club Mahindra resort soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinnakanal
0.2 mi away
Club Mahindra Mount Serene
Club Mahindra Mount Serene
#10 of 15 in Chinnakanal
72 reviews
1.5 mi away
SpiceTree Munnar
SpiceTree Munnar
#1 of 15 in Chinnakanal
468 reviews
8.6 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 15 in Chithirapuram
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
1.0 mi away
The Siena Village
The Siena Village
#5 of 15 in Chinnakanal
603 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Fort Munnar
Hotel Fort Munnar
#6 of 15 in Chinnakanal
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Munnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Munnar

Address: Via Suryanelli, Chinnakanal 685618, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Chinnakanal
#2 Spa Hotel in Chinnakanal
#2 Family Hotel in Chinnakanal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chinnakanal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chinnakanal
Price Range: $96 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Club Mahindra Munnar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Club Mahindra Munnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Lakeview Munnar Hotel Chinnakanal
Hotel Mahindra Lakeview Munnar
Club Mahindra Munnar Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing