We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Club Mahindra- Munnar.... is like being in Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Mahindra Munnar
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Club Mahindra Munnar is a must visit place for all those who havent been there. The resort is located 22 km from Munnar city in a village called Chinnakkal. The resore is surrounded on all sides by Tea plantations. The location is very picturesque and if u are lucky to get a room with a good view then your stay is worth it. For the 1st 3 days we stayed in a log room which was very clean & spacious.The next 3 days we were staying in a room with a scenic view. When staying there do all sight seeing with the local cab drivers since their rates are 50% lower than of Club Mahindra. Club Mahindra does not have its own vehicles but uses the services of these very local cabs. So why pay more to club Mahindra?

One must visit place is Kolukkamalai Tea Estate which is the world's highest Organic Tea Factory. There is no proper road to go there and the local Jeeps will take u there for Rs900. On the way you have to pay Rs.100 as toll. The tea factory is quite old and u get to see the full tea making process. U can also buy tea there. For bulk purchases they even courier it to your house.

The food at Club Mahindra was over priced and not value for money. Being veg. there was quite a range in the buffets but the food was tasteless. The gravy every day was almost same but vegetables were different. On 2 nights there was a potato based soup which had no taste, while in the non-veg section they had Chinese & Thai soups like Tom Young Soup. The chefs have not even perfected sambar. The sambar had no taste or aroma which we associate with it.

There are lots of activities for children but most of them are not free and charges are exhorbitant. The resort is ideal for couples and honeymooners as it is very scenic and the climate is excellent

Over all excellent resort but overpriced food

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank santoshkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Hi Santosh,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra, Munnar. We are pleased to know that you had a great time at our resort. However, we regret that you didn't enjoy our food and we assure you that this is not typical. We assure that we will take this up and correct it with immediate effect. We would love to welcome you again at any of the 40 picturesque resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,263)
There are newer reviews for Club Mahindra Munnar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

940 - 946 of 1,263 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

Good hotel crippled by just one member of staff, the arrogant F&B manager Mr. Shine Mohan. He is easily the most arrogant man I've seen in the hotel industry. Upon making a simple request to a waiter to serve the starters from the buffet to our table, the poor waiter was intercepted by this Mr. Shine Mohan who told me very arrogantly, "If you want something from the buffet, just help yourself, ok!" Feeling shell shocked, I told him that he'd better be polite or face a negative feedback from me. To my astonishment, he replied "I don't care what who you are or what feedback you give, ok!" Now, I don't think anyone would behave like that unless he wants a negative rating for the hotel he works for, hence this feedback from me about Club Mahindra Munnar.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank aalapatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Hi Aalapatt,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our resort. We are disappointed that your stay was not to your liking. We regret that you had issues with our staff’s behaviour and we assure you that this is not typical. We will ensure that we take this up and correct it with immediate effect. We know you have not had the holiday you expected and the one that we are committed to deliver and we request you to please give us another chance to make it up to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The property in itself is fabulous. Very stylish and very, very plush. The location is breathtaking, with mist covered mountains behind and a awe-inspiring valley / lake view in front. The setting is just brilliant, even though to reach the resort is a bit of a pain !!

I was unhappy about a few incidents at the resort and so I mentioned those in the online Guest Feedback System. I was very pleasantly surprised to find that not only were my concerns looked into, without any delay whatsoever, but all my problems were swiftly and satisfactorily addressed !! Great customer focus. All credit should go to the Front Office Manager Ramesh Jadoun and to the Chef, Debraj Bhaumik. (Don't know if they both are still around, for it's been a while since I visited this property).

Had to find my way from Munnar town, all by myself, as the resort refused to provide me with a pick-up facility - even after my requesting them ! (The resort is a good 20 kms outside of Munnar town and the roads aren't always good).

Room Tip: Only stay in the main wing. Anywhere else within the property is either too steep and just too far f...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sumitran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Hi Sumitran,

Thank you for taking time out to write back to us. We are glad you liked the ambience and our staff at the resort will be delighted to receive your feedback. Your assessment is valuable to us and we will work on your concerns with immediate effect. Hope to see you at some other Club Mahindra resort soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent location.
Just too good.
22 Km away from main munnar but just heaven on earth.
View is just breathtaking.
And service is also too good.
Staff also has excellent courtesy and well trained.
Best hotel in munnar for sure.
and maybe be Top 5 hotel in Kerala.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uchitshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This resort is located amidst beautiful tea estates of Munnar. The resort is really beautiful ..we stayed in log huts which were very cosy ..and neat. The food was amazing at the buffet and staff was very helpful. They need to improve the in room dining service as it used to take a lot of time for the food to reach the room.

What made it more interesting was our taxi driver A Manoj who was a guide too and took us to all the places...very nice and humble guy...u can find him at the taxi stand outside club mahindra.

Room Tip: Try for log huts if you want a peaceful accomodation as they are a little away from the main resort...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abhilive78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

this resort is excellent.....words cant describe this property.......i was staying here 3 nights in a 1bhk cottage and 1 night in a hotel unit.

The 1 bhk was just too good....the view from the cottage was to die for....it was fantastic....room service and bell boys cleaners were very nice.
the hotel unit also was very nice with a great view....but after stayin in the 1 bhk the fancy for it was less.
When u stay at this property u are in between clouds....some times u can see the clouds below you......n a constant view of the tea gardens......it was heaven!!!

the food in the property was OK....breakfast same on all days.

if u have to go to munnar u have to stay here....dont consider n e other place

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yezadm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My first experience at a club mahindra property. The property was really beautiful and the location added to the charm. While it can't be classified as a 5-star property, it is definitely good as a 4-star resort. Everything was good except for the room service. It was very slow and one had to make multiple calls to ensure orders come on time. Otherwise staff was very cheerful, courteous and helpful. However the activity centre guys are not interested in guiding you if you don't book their cabs. I tried talking to 2different people about in hotel activities and outside hotel sight seeing.but both of them just handed me a piece of paper with details without explaining anything or helping otherwise. It was disappointing. However, overall the experience was well worth it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarveshk88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinnakanal
0.2 mi away
Club Mahindra Mount Serene
Club Mahindra Mount Serene
#9 of 15 in Chinnakanal
66 reviews
8.6 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 14 in Chithirapuram
946 reviews
1.5 mi away
SpiceTree Munnar
SpiceTree Munnar
#1 of 15 in Chinnakanal
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
8.0 mi away
Chandys Windy Woods
Chandys Windy Woods
#2 of 14 in Chithirapuram
987 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Panoramic Getaway
The Panoramic Getaway
#5 of 14 in Chithirapuram
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Munnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Munnar

Address: Via Suryanelli, Chinnakanal 685618, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chinnakanal
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Chinnakanal
#2 Spa Hotel in Chinnakanal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chinnakanal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chinnakanal
Price Range: $84 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Club Mahindra Munnar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Club Mahindra Munnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Lakeview Munnar Hotel Chinnakanal
Hotel Mahindra Lakeview Munnar
Club Mahindra Munnar Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing