We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Mahindra Munnar
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Munnar Club Mahindra location is perhaps one of their best in the country , if not the best. The place is about 20 KM away from main Munnar town and that is good as Munnar town is too crowded. Yes there are not many things immediately around Club Mahindra place but one does not need anything as long as you are ready to enjoy the serene surroundings and green tea plantations around. Taxi folks are available to take you around. Food can be in their restaurant where service is great, spread is good but quality is very good but not extraordinary. Alternative is we were in a one bedroom apartment where minimum cooking was possible.
We traveled in end September ad it was perfect. Rains had just stopped and it was green all around. Though we visited several tourist attractions, the best we liked was lazing around at the Club Mahindra location.

Room Tip: Try their one bedroom / stdio cottages that are away from Reception/ Restaurant
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,263)
There are newer reviews for Club Mahindra Munnar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

955 - 961 of 1,263 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

A nicely laid out hotel with beautiful views down the tea bush covered hills. Room cleaniess was not up to scratch and the tolilet constantly smelt. There was an awful swell of sewarge at the front of the hotel which was off putting also. Good facilities for entertainment (especially kids) and an average equipped Gym. Really cheap laundry so a good spot to get some done if touring. Food quite good and a nice bar. One of the big downsides is it is 20 plus km from all the things you might what to see and do in Munnar.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murrpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This place located at Chinnakanal in the Periakanal Tea Estate of Kanan Devan Hills Plantations (KDHP) holds an mystical and magical charm. Far from the maddening crowd (yes, Munnar is now a maddening crowd), secluded and peacefully overlooking a lake, this is one of the finest Club Mahindra resorts in India.
This was the 2nd visit to Club Mahindra Lakeview Munnar and the 3rd visit to Munnar. As compared to the first visit to Munnar in 1998, the Munnar town has changed significantly. There are traffic jams near the local market, wherein there were no traffic signals in 1998. Those days, Munnar was not really popular with many holidayers and the preferred options were Ooty and Kodaikanal. With these 2 hill stations getting over crowded and highly commercialized, the holiday crowd has moved to Kerala and to Munnar since 3-4 years.

The location of Club Mahindra Munnar is pure bliss. Set amidst a tea plantation with greenery all around, there is thick mist right from 6.00 in the evening till 9.00 in the morning. This place is one of the rare few in Munnar which has mist throughout the year. The experience of having a hot cup of local tea, sitting in your balcony and watching cusps of mist rolling into your rooms is mystical and magical. Advisable to carry light woolen, if travelling with children or elderly.

The rooms are done up exceptionally well. Local material is used abundantly. I stayed in a 1BR unit which was really high up and going up / coming down to the restaurant itself proved to be an exercise for the lungs more than adequately compensated by the mist and the fresh air. The rooms in all aspects are sheer luxury. I was impressed with the quality of genuine teak planks used for the flooring and the rosewood furniture.

The restaurant as usual is 1-up from any other Club Mahindra resorts, I’ve been to. The spreads are of good quality, variety, taste and visually appealing. Visit this restaurant after a meal and one will still end up having something.

The warmth of the resort team is unparallel. No doubt, this place has been accredited with the RCI Gold Crown year after year. The entire team will go beyond expected to deliver exceptional service and with a smile. Even the security staff is caring and pro-active. On check-out, my driver inadvertently left behind a parcel at the lobby and realized his mistake at Kochi airport. Just a call was good enough for that parcel to be delivered back to me.

Sightseeing in Munnar was not a great experience since it was too crowded and water levels at most of the lakes were at their lowest. There were maddening crowds at Madupatty for boating and Kundala was closed for all activities. Eravikulam Wildlife sanctuary is another sad story. This was entirely shocking as I had spotted a herd of wild elephants in 2007 at Madupatty during boating and a flock of over 100 Nilgiri Tahr in 1998 at Eravikulam.

Visit to the Tea factory was like a memory refresher of sorts. They’ve added a short film on the history of Munnar which was interesting. Earlier, fresh tea could be purchased from every estate. This is now changed and teas from all estates as available at the KDHP shop near the main market. Other shopping items can be fresh spices from various shops in the market. Try bananas of atleast half a dozen varieties and local passion fruit if you are adventurous in eating.

Do visit the Saravana Bhavan restaurant near the Bus stand in the main market, to have authentic South Indian stuff, though I don't believe that this one in Munnar is the same as in Chennai. However, the stuff doled out is good.

Noticeable change in Munnar was the commercialization. There are veg. restaurants (such as Mahavir Bhojnalaya) everywhere serving Marwari, Gujarati and Jain cuisine, an adaptation to the holidayer segment from Western India. There is one such Mahavir Bhojnalaya located at a 2 minute walk from Club Mahindra Munnar and we being vegetarians were tempted. We tried it once and the experience was good. The taste is authentic Marwari and hygiene levels are reasonable. Cost per meal is reasonable and the change was welcome.

Hordes of local people (from central Kerala and parts of Tamilnadu) packed in buses, mini buses and private or tourist taxis descend onto Munnar every weekend and leave scattered water-bottles, disposable plates and excess food all over the tourist spots. This is appalling and destruction of the fragile ecology. Due to excessive commercialization, mushrooming of small hotels, local handicraft stalls and roadside eateries, all tourist spots are crowded and there is nothing called off-season or lull season. Munnar is possibly going the Ooty way and the local government must act fast else the destruction is irreversible.

Temperature levels have risen due to high commercial activities and one can spot AC units in most of the hotels and restaurants which were a rare sighting 10 years ago.

Overall, still another 4-5 years for Munnar to be known as a commercial town. Till then, be there to enjoy the mist and magic available in places like Club Mahindra Lakeview.

Room Tip: 1BR and 2BR on a higher altitude will have the best mists rolling in
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PraksMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The trip up to club mahindra is an amazing one - getting you 8000metres above sea level with amazing views of the tea plantations. I dont want to give club mahindra an unfair review as I feel it was not what our travel agent should have booked for us so this should hopefully help "foreigners" to India rather than locals who seem to be fully aware of what it is! Myself and my husband were on atour of Kerala, staying mainly in cgh earth hotels. So Club mahindra was a bit of a shock to us- it is an activity centre with accommodation- so fantastic if you have kids and want to spend the days trekking etc- not so much us! We were given a room in the main building which I have to admit was very basic- more like a hostel and the shower didn't work- despite two calls and one visit to reception it was never fixed and we had to resort to washing in the sink! On the plus side, the food was fantastic and the restaurant staff were really nice even suggesting food for us. I would issue a warning to be aware that this is not a "luxury hotel" as we were led to believe but rather a handy stop over on your journey through munnar. In saying tthat, a working shower is vital in any room no matter how basic and this is the reason for the average rating.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NabaRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We organized our annual meet in munnar and most of delegates were lodged in club mahindra lake view. I stayed in room number2306. let me tell you this location is one of the best I have ever visited and our stay was quite comfortable. Quality of food served in the restaurant is excellent. The location is superb. Staff is courteous and profession. One should visit at least once in his lifetime. Front office Manager Ms Sunita was very cordial and supportive of our requirements and extended all help.

Great location, great food and great staff. What else can one aspire for?

Room Tip: Rooms facing front and apartments are spacious and quite comfortabel
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarendraGZB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed with Club Mahindra munnar after our horrible experience with them at tusker trails at Thekkady. Expectations were very low, but to our surprise they proved us wrong. The resort is placed in a fantastic location with all the cottages built along the hill with a winding road connecting them. Fantastic views from your rooms. We stayed in the wooden cottages, which were clean and well equit. The privacy in the rooms too is good. The pick up from the rooms to the reception was a bit clumsy, but I didn't mind waiting for the pick up in the beautiful weather. The food was very good and the staff was very courteous and helpful. The resort has ample activity and over all we were very happy. I would recommend this place to anyone considering a holiday here.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siedurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We only had an initial problem with the hotel because they were trying to give us back facing rooms with no views, but we insisted and then we decided to pay a bit extra and upgrade ourselves and we got the two most stunning suites next to each other with a cute balcony where lovely birds would come and sit. The food was really excellent and we are all really picky eaters and we were all pleased. We also enjoyed the spa treatments in the hotel and the tea gardens in the surrounding. The hotel was surprisingly nice, we were expecting worse when we saw the pictures, but it was really nice and cosy. The staff was excellent and we enjoyed the hotel thoroughly. The view is also wonderful from the front facing rooms and the hotel has an array of lovely trees and flowers.

Room Tip: Front facing only, please do not even think of taking the back facing rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fatimasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinnakanal
0.2 mi away
Club Mahindra Mount Serene
Club Mahindra Mount Serene
#9 of 15 in Chinnakanal
66 reviews
8.6 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 14 in Chithirapuram
946 reviews
1.5 mi away
SpiceTree Munnar
SpiceTree Munnar
#1 of 15 in Chinnakanal
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
8.6 mi away
The Panoramic Getaway
The Panoramic Getaway
#5 of 14 in Chithirapuram
380 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Siena Village
The Siena Village
#5 of 15 in Chinnakanal
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Munnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Munnar

Address: Via Suryanelli, Chinnakanal 685618, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Chinnakanal
#2 Family Hotel in Chinnakanal
#2 Spa Hotel in Chinnakanal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chinnakanal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chinnakanal
Price Range: $85 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Club Mahindra Munnar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Club Mahindra Munnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Lakeview Munnar Hotel Chinnakanal
Hotel Mahindra Lakeview Munnar
Club Mahindra Munnar Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing