We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the ones who don't want to eat throughout their stay”
Review of Hotel Fort Munnar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Fort Munnar
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Overall stay was good, good staff, good location and facilities (Except water was not in bathroom for sometime and we had to call staff to fix it) but there is absolutely nothing near to this resort, which is okay but if you want to stay here and think about having food in the rastaurant then it is very BAD idea because kitchen in this supposedly 4 stay hotel sucks...First of all, food is very costly and amazingly bad....

Couple of small thing,,,internet, which is today's necessity is not really available here and if you really want to find out anything online, you will be asked to pay 100 Rs for 30 minutes internet.....

Otherwise location is amazingly beautiful and quite pleasant.....

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikhil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARYTISSAN, Owner at Hotel Fort Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Mr.Nikhil Agrawal,
We, the management and staff of Fort Munnar appreciate your candid comments. Thank you for the appreciation of our property. Your concerns are being looked into on a serious basis and we have already put in measures to ensure that there is a definite improvement in our menu and food preparation. We look forward to your visit once again so that we can show you first hand our improved food and beverage.
Best Regards

Fort Munnar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 353 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

Palatial look, spacious room, plenty of parking and open space. Dinner and breakfast served on a buffet basis and nothing to write about. Despite all the positive aspect, the loud music from the disco in the night was atrocious . It's perhaps to do more with a few guests but hotel management did not take any action to stop it even after repeated complain. This spoiled the environment one expects in a place like Munnar.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoraDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The hotel is very far out of the city Munnar!!
It is a run down hotel not even 3 star!!
I did not like anything in this hotel!!
Restaurant looks awful and has even worse food, most of the food mentioned on the menu card
is not available and what they serve just is poor quality!!
Try to stay somewhere else!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Upon arrival we were so impressed by the beautiful outside of this hotel and the truly stunning location it occupies. Once inside however, we were severely disappointed.
Rooms are clean and a decent level, even if the bathrooms are a little dated and in need of some maintenance.
but it is the restaurant and coffee shop that really let the hotel down.
The coffee shop: in 2 days we never saw it open !
The restaurant is like a school canteen and has no atmosphere or ambience; certainly not the level of an international hotel nor a luxury one in any Country. Non Indian food was available but was not of a very good quality; Indian food was good though.
Staff were friendly but it is not enough to make up for the shortfalls of the hotel.


  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KJG75017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We , a party of four, stayed in Fort Munnar for 2 nights on 21/11/12 and 22/11/12. I had a call from the hotel a week later that a phone has been found in the room and they were wondering if it is mine.. I checked and realised that my iPhone 4S which I use in my home country is indeed missing. They posted the phone to me and I got it few days later. I would like to thank the management and the staff in Fort Munnar for their kind help and amazing generosity and truthfulness and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for stay. Fort Munnar is beautiful and the place amazing to spend few days. I would particularly like to thank Shoab who arranged the phone to be sent to me.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Param S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I was staying there for two days with my wife. Its on amazing,beautiful location.Its located 20km far from munnar city. We taken hill view room its amzing view.Hotel services and staff behaviour is very good. Room is well furnished and cleen except wardrobe.I like hotel location,restaurants, gardens, food, staff behaviour.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arupgarai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I may not like the style of the building, but rooms are clean, big and comfortable. The service is very good, sfatt tries very hard and is nice, very polite.
No AC is not a problem at all (it gets almost cold outside during the nigh). Will come back if around in future!

The quality of food could be a little bit better - esp. breakfasts.

It is over 20 km from Munnar, but the road is great - views are exceptional: plantations, mountains, waterfalls.

Really anjoyed my stay there, it is a great place to rest!

Room Tip: Some rooms have GREAT view (valley and mountains) - try to pick them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rekawek11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinnakanal
0.2 mi away
The Siena Village
The Siena Village
#5 of 14 in Chinnakanal
610 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Wind Munnar
The Wind Munnar
#3 of 14 in Chinnakanal
462 reviews
9.3 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 15 in Chithirapuram
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
551 reviews
1.9 mi away
SpiceTree Munnar
SpiceTree Munnar
#1 of 109 in Munnar
495 reviews
9.4 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort Munnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Munnar

Address: Fort Munnar, Chinnakanal 685618, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Price Range: $61 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fort Munnar 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Fort Munnar and let nature encircle and entice you... Experience the majestic Western Ghats in all its splendour and glory. Virgin greenery and nature is fast diminishing in these days of polluted cities and even more polluted holiday destinations. Fort Munnar prides itself on its location - 20 kms from main Munnar town, surrounded by enormous trees, enchanting hills and trees with thick green foliage. A trip during the day from Munnar to Chinnakanal is an experience in itself with soothing greenery lavished all through the winding hills... You would never want the journey to end. Reach Fort Munnar at Chinnakanal and you are in for a treat. Walk into a hotel with the old world charm of a bygone colonial era. In these days of stereotype accommodation, Fort Munnar offers you a glimpse of life in the days of leisurely mornings, garden tea parties, evenings of snooker and happy hours with friends. Fort Munnar offers the most expansive lake / valley view in the region, from its valley view rooms, coffee shop and from the roof top. Once you are in the hotel, you will be pampered at every stage. Our bright, ever-smiling reception staff ensures you a smooth, fast check-in and you are escorted to your room where a welcome drink reaches you in a jiffy. As you enter the room you will be fascinated by the excellent in-room facilities - A King size bed, big Wardrobe, Wooden flooring, LED colour Television, Mini bar, Tea/coffee maker, Room heater, luxurious attached bathrooms and running hot and cold water. Come lunch / dinner time and our chefs churn out exotic, mouth-watering delicacies that are served admirably by our restaurant staff, piping hot on your table. However wonderful the drive might have been, one still feels the stress of traveling this far. Well, we have a solution for that. Walk into Green Leaves and relieve your body stress and tension through a massage from our expert therapists. If you are planning a sight-seeing trip you will be assisted with a list of places to visit and the distance of each place from Fort Munnar. Our reception staff will help you with organizing vehicles for your sight-seeing as well. Once back from the sight-seeing you can relax with a cup of coffee and snacks at our swanky Coffee Shop overlooking the Anayirangal Lake - Coffee Caza, with a splendid vista of valleys, mountains and tea gardens spread out before you. Or... The more spirited of you can let your hair down and shake a leg at our discotheque - Screammmmmm! Next day morning you could visit our gym for a quick work-out and be ready for the day. Well, while you do all this, your children can enjoy their day too at our Jungle park - the children's play area. Where the atmosphere is calm and cool the mind is at peace. Right decisions are taken, right ideas spring out of a peaceful mind. So, plan a conference in our spacious 150-seater (theater style) conference hall where and the mood and ambiance is right for a brain-storming. All facilities required for a conference would be provided. You can even plan group activity or games for establishing camaraderie not only among your employees but also between the management and the employees. You return to your business as one strong team ready to take on the challenges of the business world. So, Fort Munnar caters to the young and old, people looking for privacy, people looking for leisure and people looking for peace and quite. Visit us to believe us... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Fort Munnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Munnar Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing