We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain Club 22Km from Munnar but in a very peaceful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mountain Club Resort
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2010

Peaceful location outside Munnar. Individual cottages, very relaxing and private. Staff friendly and helpful. A great hide-away from the busy towns and cities. A visit to the Kolukkumalai Tea Plantation is a must.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank ANomadicSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 553 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2010

The price are really high but it is not a luxury place ! the breakfast do not have real fruit juice : it is a mix of water, salt, chemical, and lower % of concentrate juice. Also there is no butter in the breakfast...they propose magarine only and they said "it is butter sir !!!"... Also the house are so rustic and not really nice. there is no attention to details in this place !

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALIASUSERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saj-Mountainclub, Head-PR & Marketing at Mountain Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2010

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for writing your views.After reading your review ,I must admit that we are surprised and shocked to see some of the comments .We strongly feel the comments as nothing but some misunderstanding .Please note that we serve only "Amul" butter and that too it comes in small packets with the name and brand written all over it.And about the juice,we serve only fresh juices for breakfast until and unless a guest requests for packed juices.

With due respect to your views, we strongly feel that the comment about chemicals etc is in very bad taste and do not reflect the realities. As far as the cottages and chalets are concerned,yes they have a rustic touch and they are built to be that way.We would be glad to clarify any doubts on the subject

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

We booked the Mountain Club Resort, during the Diwali holidays for 2 nights on APAI plan. We were about 30 Adults & 12 Kids. Right from the time of booking we had some great experience till finally we checked out. Mr.Sajan took care of the booking & he was very spontaneous & impressive. He promised a good holiday for our entire group. Like he said the people who run the resort, from day in to day out, took care of all the arrangements.

Mr.Mark handled the front office. He & his team did a great job with a smile in their faces & made sure every thing went well for our group during the entire stay. Regarding the food, it was one among the best spread for all the 3 meals, that u can find in Munnar & no complaints with the taste also. More over the F&B manager Mr. Aneesh was definitely one of the best person for the F&B section, that i have ever met in all my trips around the world. He was always on his toes to make sure each & every body in the restaurant had a sumptuous meal. We had ordered for an wedding anniversary cake & also for 20 portions of Barbeque fish & chicken, every thing was made perfect & that too on time. Hope Mr.Aneesh & his teams hospitability & food will be remembered for a long time to come.

We were also surprised to see that even their GM Mr.George was right there in the restaurant during the dinner to make sure everything went well for all the guests. The overall service & the attitude of their staffs was very professional.

Rooms can be refurbished to look better & the wardrobe in the rooms can be re-arranged to give more space in the bed room. Even though swimming pool is available it will not suit every body in Munnar's climate, so play grounds are very much necessary to kill time with in the resort.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kvm_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Destination Kerala: Allepey House Boat [1N/2D] & Munnar – Mountain Club [3N/4D]
My Travel Agent: Signature Holidays, Bangalore.
We stayed in a 1-bedroom A/c house boat at Allepey. Our main agenda was to enjoy backwater cruise. We knew well in advance, that being vegetarian we need to slightly compromise on the food taste and equip yourself to fight mosquitoes & insects from 19:00 to 21:00 hours and we were prepared for it. The A/c in the bedroom will operate between 21:00 to 06:30 hours. I would not be writing much about “Allepey House Boat” in this section. The Backwater cruise is what you should really enjoy, surrounded by 360 degree water and greenery. We stayed over night in House boat and left Allepey around 09:00 hours and headed to Munnar – Mountain Club.
Mountain Club [MC] is located in Chinnakanal, it is about 22 kms from Munnar. It takes about 45mins drive from munnar as the roads are very narrow. The view points from Munnar to MC is good, you can see the hills, the tea estate, the valley and a water fall enroute to MC. Some of the other hotels and resorts located at chinnakanal are Club Mahindra, Sienna Village etc. All these resorts are rated as premium resorts.
The entrance of the MC resort looked very ordinary. As the gate keeper opened the gate for our car, we entered inside and within few minutes, I realized this is not an ordinary resort. MC is built on up-hill [slope region]. The reception and dining area are located in the middle of the resort. Lower half of the resort has single bedroom cottages and the upper half of the resort has double bedroom cottages.
We had left Allepey around 09:00 hours and reached Mountain Club [MC] around 16:15 hours. The drive from Allepey to Mountain Club - Munnar was tiring and we wanted to check-into the cottage as quickly as possible. The check-in procedure was quickly done by the front office assistance – It took less than 15mins, where Front Office Manager Mr. Mark and his staff Majo, offered us the welcome drink, explained us about the resort facilities, nearby tourist attractions and completed the check-in formalities.
There are about 50 cottages at Mountain Club. 23 cottages are single bedroom [having garden view] and 27 cottages are double bedroom [having mountain view]. The exterior look of the cottages are done like an old colonial bungalow. The cottages have a fire place and chimney.
We had opted for a Honeymoon cottage/package during our booking. The cottage given to us was a 2 bedroom cottage, having the best view of the nature. The so called ground floor of our cottage is the living room and it had a fire place, the first floor had bedroom no1 and the minus-1 floor had bedroom no2. The British style cottages are well done with wooden floorings and good lighting, with simple, neat and good furniture.
On getting inside the cottage, we found complimentary cake & fruit basket waiting for us on the dining table. As we entered the bedroom we found two ducks crafted in towels & napkins on the bed. On opening the balcony of our bedroom, we could see the far-off lake and mountains – The view was simply superb!!! Within no-time, we forgot/put behind, the tiring journey that we had from Allepey to MC. My wife and myself freshened up quickly and cut the fresh cream cake – Chocolate flavor and enjoyed scenic view from our balcony with coffee cups on one hand and pastry plate on the other, sharing our thoughts about MC location, luxuries at the resort, interiors of the cottage and the cleanliness & arrangement of toiletries in the bathrooms. To express in simple words, we felt like being in the centre of NATURE along with COMFORT & LUXURY at MC.
The cottage had attractive interiors and modern amenities. The bedroom opens to a balcony, and the balcony opens to the lake view with a long stretch of mountains on the background. The view of early morning sunrise from our balcony was excellent, letting a glimpse of nature into the room. We could see mountains on one side and a far-off lake on the other side. Though the lake is far-off, it can be clearly seen through the naked eye, which I am sure will be appreciated by all.
The living room had standard facilities including LCD TV, Coffee-Tea maker [with complimentary Coffee-Tea power, milk powder and sugar sachets], dining table and refrigerator was loaded with soft drinks & chocolates which are chargeable, if consumed. The bed room is quite spacious; the beds are very neat & clean. Everyday the housekeeping staff, crafts different animals with the towels & napkins on our bed. This is amazing to see and I totally appreciate their talent in doing so.
The pathway inside the resort is neatly done with greenery all around and lighting all the way from the reception/dining area to all the cottages. The garden is beautifully landscaped and the dinning area is next to the swimming pool. The view of the infinity pool is really breathtaking – Simply Excellent!!! This is the best view, the resort can boast off!!!
As we walked to the dinning area on day1, we were greeted by the F&B Staff, and they had arranged for a candle light dinner next to the swimming pool. The ambience, the table arrangements and the setting was just perfect for a romantic dinner. The candle light dinner was part of the package – a complimentary one!
They serve buffet breakfast/Lunch/dinner with good variety & taste. The dinner had 20-25 varieties of dishes, which includes soups, salads and starters, freshly made Indian breads, main course with good spreads and finally the mouth watering sweets & desserts. I would like to mention a point here about the service of the staff. The F&B Manager Mr. Aneesh & his team are always there to help the guests to get a table, ordering for freshly made Indian breads, quickly clearing the used plates & replacing them with new ones and refilling the water glasses as and when it gets empty – Mr. Aneesh is Highly Dynamic and provides excellent service with a smile on his face ALWAYS!!! Also full credit goes to Chef Mr. Binoy, he is constantly monitoring the buffet area, keeping an eye on buffet course and informing the staffs for refilling the dishes every time it gets empty and enquiring with guests for the quality & taste of the food.
After dinner, we headed back to the cottage. As we entered our bedroom, our bed was decorated with lots of flowers. This arrangement was part of the package – a complimentary one! Also, Bonfire was arranged in the living room - Complimentary firewood was provided once during our stay!
I have earlier stayed at Club Mahindra – Coorg [Karnataka]. My observation is that, the F&B, Housekeeping and Front Office assistance of Mountain Club are on par with Club Mahindra standards!!!
Soon came the 4th day of our stay at MC, we had to check-out and head to the Kochi airport. As we started packing our bags, we could not believe how 3N/4D just passed through. In fact, my wife came to me and whispered “Can we stay for one more day in MC please”, though she knew our flight tickets are booked and confirmed! After packing our luggage we stood on the balcony, took a long breath and captured the nature view through our eyes and transferred it to our mind and left MC on a happy note and a smiling face!
All in all, I spent good quality time with my wife staying at the Mountain Club and I would like to thank all the Mountain Club Staff for providing us an amazing service & making our stay so pleasant!!!
Here I complete my writing about my experience with Mountain Club on MS-Word doc. My wife sitting next to me, still relishes the quality, taste and variety of the food, luxury of the resort, the view of early morning sunrise, the infinity swimming pool…. remembering the good times that we spent at Mountain Club – Simply unforgettable!!!
A note to all fellow travellers:
The only Negative Point about MC is the view from the cottages. There are 50 cottages, out of these only 5 cottages have excellent view – Mountain & Lake View. And about 15 cottages have Ok sort of view – only Mountain View. The remaining cottages have only Garden view. Few cottages’ balcony/backyard opens to the entrance of the other cottage. Therefore, be careful while selecting the cottage view! I was indeed lucky enuf to get a cottage with best view!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel4fun108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Recently visited this hotel with family along with a friends family, the hotel has got a very nice architecture, located strategically.

The rooms were clean and really very good, liked the duplex concept very very much. The view from the hotel was fantastic.

The food gets a rel thumbs up from our side.

in total the resort was worth every penny spent on our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivek_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

we stayed in this place for 2 nights and 3 days. I liked the location, the service was exceptional when compared to 'Indian' standards. The price was a little steep but I would assume that it was worth it, because I have never stayed in anyother resorts in munnar. If you are not a typical tourist and the only reason you are going to munnar is to relax and have fun then this is the place to stay.

the place is located 20kms from munnar so if you want to go into the town then you will have to travel for 30 mins

Likes: location, staff, rooms

Dislikes : the buffet was crappy. we payed 10,000 per night and was expecting some nice food. But the food didnt taste well and the buffet was small for a 5 star resort. most of the dishes were vegetarian. But they brought us ice creams on request which were not even on the buffet which was impressive.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liwaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

THis hotel is actually in Chinnakanal - about 22 kms from Munnar, but this is where most of the resorts really are - including Mahindra's etc. Just plan accordingly for travel time since the road is not an easy drive after dark - narrow roads and fog. The place is all 2-bedroom cottages (queen beds), not fancy but very clean and well-maintained, with hot water and all 3 or 4-star type amenities (soaps, towels etc). It is located on a steep mountain slope that is nicely landscaped and includes some hammocks, a swing set for kids etc. We had a package deal through Expedia that included breakfast and dinner (more or less required since there are no real options to eat outside of the resort). Lots of things to do in the area, but they all require a car. Phone reception may be limited for some carriers but it made for a more peaceful holiday. We stayed for 4 nights and had a very enjoyable time.

The service at this place is outstanding and really made our holiday special. They send a car for anyone who doesnt want to (or like my parents, cant) climb up the slope to the restaurant - that has great views and good food (mostly Indian, includes 2 non-veg dishes of chicken and fish). They also make fresh omelettes, pooris and dosas at breakfast time, rotis at dinner time etc. We needed an extra bed for our son, they didnt charge extra for it. There are movies and other programs each evening.

All in all, I would highly recommend this place - most importantly, the level of service and pleasant nature of all the staff, their promptness in responding to every question or need was just GREAT!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hyperdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinnakanal
2.2 mi away
SpiceTree Munnar
SpiceTree Munnar
#1 of 15 in Chinnakanal
468 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Siena Village
The Siena Village
#5 of 15 in Chinnakanal
603 reviews
9.7 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 15 in Chithirapuram
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#2 of 8 in Pothamedu
745 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mountain Trail Resort
Mountain Trail Resort
#11 of 15 in Chinnakanal
188 reviews
0.9 mi away
Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Club Resort

Address: Chinnakanal Suryanelli Rd, Chinnakanal 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chinnakanal
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chinnakanal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chinnakanal
Price Range: $108 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Club, Munnar is the best and finest luxury resort in the evergreen mountains of Munnar, Kerala, and India. It is located on a quite hillside in a small hamlet called Chinnakanal. From the early days of the 18th century, Munnar has been the favorite holiday destination of the erstwhile royal families, celebrities and nobles from India and abroad. The mesmerizing natural beauty and the weather is really unique. Mountain Club, Munnar is a real tribute to a typical type of architecture which is prevalent in the hill stations of Kerala. The exterior walls made from pure stone and the typical Kerala roof tiles provides the rustic look. . Surrounding the resort are extensive tea gardens and mountains with nature trails. Exclusive Food and Beverage outlets, conference halls, meeting rooms and a host of recreational facilities matching first class standards is available to make your holiday a truly amazing experience. Mountain Club, Munnar has many firsts to its credit. Each of its cottages contains a cozy and spacious living room and a bedroom. For those who are traveling with families and friends, we have two bedroom cottages, which have a living room as well. Every cottage is equipped with a fire place. Needless to mention, we have provided all amenities in our cottages. Take a dip and laze around the one and only swimming pool in Munnar. The resort has the largest conferencing facilities in Munnar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mountain Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Club Resort Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing