We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keeping the best till last!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountain Club Resort
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This hotel was a fantastic experience for us, though we had the advantage of being very close to Reception and the restaurant. The view from our room was amazing, especially at sunrise. The infinity pool is wonderful (but chilly). Food brilliant and staff really helpful. Good base from which to visit tea plantations and factories

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (561)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 561 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

Terrible 1 night stay. Booked with Indus travel which locally is Hi Tours. They have really let us down. This property is not even 3 star. We paid for twins got small queen but the worse is the noise all night long. The access road winds through the cottages and all day and all night the service cars go up and down honking at each turn. We were put in cottage 117 which was directly beside this road and we heard every conversation every shout until the early morning hours when the staff finally walked down the road for the last time. The it all started again at 5:30 am . Don't be fooled by the photos like I was. The only good thing that happened was a good meal in the restaurant. We travelled over 7 hours on difficult roads and are beyond tired and disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kathytravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

thought the resort is really far away and very long drive from everywhere possible..the resort itself it quite nice. of course you should hope to have a room close to the reception + restaurant as otherwise its avery long steep walk and my in laws found it very difficult.
The very strange thing is the restaurant is placed towards the end of a steep flight of stairs and no elevator available to allow senior citizens to access easily. Therefore my in laws couldnt come to breakfast or dinner.

what was VERY decent of the hotel though was, as my in laws couldnt come for breakfast , they ordered room service, but the resort kindly didnt charge both days. A rarity these days!

Room Tip: ask for a room close to the reception..less to walk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PreetiDiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The resort is beautiful and clean, the rooms are a litte small, but comfortable, the view from the resort is fantastic. The pool is beautiful but a little cold for this time of year. The food at the resort was fantastic. The only real downfall of our stay was a performance called the snake dance where a man "dances" with snakes, where he basically whips them around and is very rough with them. There is a way to do something like this and be respectful to the animals and this was not it, several members of our party walked out during the show. The service in the hotel was good, however the reception was not very knowledgeable about the area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shannon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed in the resort on 14th & 15th January. Rooms are neat, clean and comfortable. Food is good, tasty and a decent variety is served in breakfast. Cottages are split into two parts. Sofa, dining table and fridge immediately after entrance and bedroom and bath after 4/5 stairs down. Reception, restaurant from entrance of the resort and many of the cottages are at quite a distance specially considering the steep ascent of the road. The resort has a shuttle to take the guests from their cottages to restaurant, reception etc. Immediately on reaching the resort, since we tired,we ordered some snacks and tea in the room and they were served cold, which was a big disappointment. However, the food served in the restaurant was quite warm.

Room Tip: Do not order anything from room, not even tea. Best to take shuttle and go to restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nawalgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at mountain club resort booked through travel agency called my happy journey. ...it is certainly an impressive property with stone chalets stretched up the hill...we were assured by our travel agents that its one of the only 4star deluxe property in munnar however its not even close to 3star...facilties in the rooms are so outdated and basic and not at all designed to a comfort level...

There are only two option at this property one bed or two bed cottages...one bed are for couples which dont have any kind of view there are few two bed cottages which are designed for families and some of them do have views as mentioned by reception. ..the other inconvenience part is if you not close to reception area you have to take car pick up service to go to restaurant for which you have to call reception and wait on the road for 15mins or so..food options are okay again If your food is part of your pacakage than you will only get whats on buffet if you need substitute you have to pay extra for eg: in breakfast they had only boiled carrot juice so I requested waiter if I can please have orange juice the answer was a straight no upon asking why the said you can only have whats on the buffet if you need orange juice you have to pay 200 rs extra for each glass..

Even the entertainment facilities provided are payable apart from table tennis and carrom..the management should think to add few more entertaining facilities specially when you running full house and in middle of nowhere...if I was a part of management I would have organised some kind of events on weekends in amphitheater specially when I know the resort is full..

The bathroom is worst than basic...hot water is a big challenge in morning and when you will call the maintenance they will ask you to wait 20 mins and give a lame excuse its happening because of cold weather..the living area furniture so uncomfortable than u can hardly seat for 1 hour on it, it feels more like a punishment area than living area..

I would have rated this stay as one star however the extra one star goes to Mr Aneesh K.S who really knows what is customer service all about..I would like to extend my thanks to Mr Aneesh for all his kind support and help...

Management should look into giving name badge to there staff because there are really few good staff we encountered during our stay which I would like to mention unfortunately I cant as I dont have there names

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mohseen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Good place to stay..again if you get cottages high up the ramp...lower level cottages does not have mountain view at all....

Rooms are fine and comfortable. Food is good..

Overall a good place to spend some time...munnar going around is fun and 3-4 days of visit is worth..!

Room Tip: Go for cottages which are placed up the slope...for good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebashishR1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinnakanal
2.2 mi away
SpiceTree Munnar
SpiceTree Munnar
#1 of 15 in Chinnakanal
477 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Siena Village
The Siena Village
#5 of 15 in Chinnakanal
605 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#2 of 8 in Pothamedu
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 15 in Chithirapuram
1,030 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fort Munnar
Hotel Fort Munnar
#6 of 15 in Chinnakanal
335 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sterling Munnar
Sterling Munnar
#7 of 15 in Chinnakanal
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Club Resort

Address: Chinnakanal Suryanelli Rd, Chinnakanal 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chinnakanal
#1 Spa Hotel in Chinnakanal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chinnakanal
Price Range: $108 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Club, Munnar is the best and finest luxury resort in the evergreen mountains of Munnar, Kerala, and India. It is located on a quite hillside in a small hamlet called Chinnakanal. From the early days of the 18th century, Munnar has been the favorite holiday destination of the erstwhile royal families, celebrities and nobles from India and abroad. The mesmerizing natural beauty and the weather is really unique. Mountain Club, Munnar is a real tribute to a typical type of architecture which is prevalent in the hill stations of Kerala. The exterior walls made from pure stone and the typical Kerala roof tiles provides the rustic look. . Surrounding the resort are extensive tea gardens and mountains with nature trails. Exclusive Food and Beverage outlets, conference halls, meeting rooms and a host of recreational facilities matching first class standards is available to make your holiday a truly amazing experience. Mountain Club, Munnar has many firsts to its credit. Each of its cottages contains a cozy and spacious living room and a bedroom. For those who are traveling with families and friends, we have two bedroom cottages, which have a living room as well. Every cottage is equipped with a fire place. Needless to mention, we have provided all amenities in our cottages. Take a dip and laze around the one and only swimming pool in Munnar. The resort has the largest conferencing facilities in Munnar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Mountain Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Club Resort Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing