We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountain Club Resort
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The property is fantastic. Wonderful individual cottages. Very calm and peaceful. The staff are very friendly. They have a good ayurvedic massage centre. The inifinity pool is a little on the smaller side though. However , this is the only resort in munnar with a pool. The food is good with a decent breakfast and dinner buffet. The only problem is that its about 20kms from munnar town and other places of interest , but then again, the drive is totally worth it. Would definitely recommend this place for anybody visiting munnar. Ideal place for couples looking for a good honeymoon getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

429 - 435 of 552 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

Munnar is a beautiful location; however my honeymoon experience at this hotel was really bad:
1. The "Honeymoon" Cottage - looks old and unkempt - paints are half done, there is an old/small TV in the room, NO VIEW
2. Bedroom- is in a dark dingy basement with no view (munnar is beautiful and they really did not do justice to the place at all), the bed had the big dent, and again the paints were not done, there is only 1 power plug that had the mosquito repellant so where are you supposed to plug in anything like a phone charger
3. Bathroom - was soo small could barely fit a person, the bucket was dirty and soap scum in the dispenser as show in the pics, oh and the hot water stopped in 1 minute both times while I was showering (shampooing my hair) and for my husband as well.
4. The management - was rude when we asked for a change in room they didnt even try to accommodate our needs - they just said we are full.
5. Food - was ok
6. View from the pool was good
Overall - would not recommend this resort. We were so disappointed that we left the second day even though it was already paid for and found a different place to stay in. For the amount I paid for the room - NOT WORTH IT

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max_2132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

- Excellent location
- Brilliant views.
- Good and varied buffet . The chef likes to experiment .
- The service on the dining area is exceptional
- Room service is ok.
- Rooms can be a quite far From dining area . Specially if you stay close to entrance
-Gardens are well maintained and pretty. Kids love running around.
- The only con I would say - bedrooms are exceptionally small . A mere foot max two around the bed. One ends up bumping into things specially if you have more than two suitecases and one of them goes onto the floor. The same goes for the bathroom. Though cleanliness is upto the mark.


Apart from this I would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gulshan_1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Its a star rated property, we checked in on 1st March with two families, we had given a very neat n clean two bedroom villa with a nice view of the anayirankal dam. Staff was very helpful, food was tastee and the buffet spread was good.

Toilets n bathroom was well stacked and towels and bed linen was of good quality.

They have huge property with 50 cottages, plenty of space for kids n us to roam around. There is an activity center for kids as well, with a couple of scooters, video game, pool table, etc. to kill time.

Best thing was the polaris ride, just 4 kms form the resort, they have a separate track for the same. Inside the property they have provided a gold buggy to take you to activity center etc. Infinity pool on the side of restaurant is also well maintained.

Overall a very nice experience.

Room Tip: Choose the double room cottages, single room cottages does not have the view of the dam. Try to choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunilAravind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I spent a valuabletime at Mountain club at Chinnakanal resort along with my friends.located in a scenic mountain cliff interspersed with fine green valleys there are around 50 plus cottages, for single and double occupancy.
one has to be hale and hearty as the climb is quite steep to reach the resort from their main gate though the authorities provide suitable transport facility on request.
has a fine restaurant which serves excellent delicious food, aesthetically served by very courteous staff.has a large clean swimming pool and a spa for relaxation.
the cottages are well kept, neat and clean and has a dining hall and sitting area.
the reception is managed by efficient staff always willing to help.
the floor manager and supervisory staff are always keen to serve the customers.There is a well furnished conference hall .As a whole a pleasant place to relax your nerves and to get back rejuvenated.,particularly having had a glimpse of sunrise from your cottage.

Room Tip: each and every cottage is well located but look for those cottages from where you can have a spectac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vssd61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here. Great location with fantastic views at the front and rear. Beautiful sceanery from the pool. Friendly staff but poor understanding of english. Not recommended for disabled people with wheel chair. Our disabled companion was asked to dine by himself upstairs as he was not able to walk down the stairs to the restaurant. Food is great but service is not up to the standard. Cottages are doted around the hillside within the resort. Hotel transport provided to move about within the reasort as the area is hilly. Rooms are average and bathrooms could do with a refurbishment. Poor understanding of english meant that we never got what we had asked for or the order was incomplete.

Room Tip: choose a cottage near the reception area but be aware of extractor fan smell if you are in room 232
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VirenMehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Excellent views over the mountains and tea plantations, thin mountain air makes you breathless on exertion but it is gloriously fresh.The hotel is good and the villa we stayed in was just right. The food is good too for westerners as well as more local people. There's not much choice of places to eat in the village but that's changing as more tourists venture further. The roads are bumpy in places. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. Because the hotel is high in the mountains the pool is quite cold when you first get in! The only negative I would say is that they could do with a more regular pool cleaner as there were a few floating insects and the odd leaf. But overall, I would recommend this hotel to people.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank ruthlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinnakanal
2.2 mi away
SpiceTree Munnar
SpiceTree Munnar
#1 of 15 in Chinnakanal
468 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Siena Village
The Siena Village
#4 of 15 in Chinnakanal
603 reviews
9.7 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 15 in Chithirapuram
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Mountain Trail Resort
Mountain Trail Resort
#11 of 15 in Chinnakanal
188 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#2 of 8 in Pothamedu
742 reviews
0.9 mi away
Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Club Resort

Address: Chinnakanal Suryanelli Rd, Chinnakanal 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chinnakanal
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chinnakanal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chinnakanal
Price Range: $109 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Club, Munnar is the best and finest luxury resort in the evergreen mountains of Munnar, Kerala, and India. It is located on a quite hillside in a small hamlet called Chinnakanal. From the early days of the 18th century, Munnar has been the favorite holiday destination of the erstwhile royal families, celebrities and nobles from India and abroad. The mesmerizing natural beauty and the weather is really unique. Mountain Club, Munnar is a real tribute to a typical type of architecture which is prevalent in the hill stations of Kerala. The exterior walls made from pure stone and the typical Kerala roof tiles provides the rustic look. . Surrounding the resort are extensive tea gardens and mountains with nature trails. Exclusive Food and Beverage outlets, conference halls, meeting rooms and a host of recreational facilities matching first class standards is available to make your holiday a truly amazing experience. Mountain Club, Munnar has many firsts to its credit. Each of its cottages contains a cozy and spacious living room and a bedroom. For those who are traveling with families and friends, we have two bedroom cottages, which have a living room as well. Every cottage is equipped with a fire place. Needless to mention, we have provided all amenities in our cottages. Take a dip and laze around the one and only swimming pool in Munnar. The resort has the largest conferencing facilities in Munnar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Mountain Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Club Resort Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing