We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location to stay in munnar!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountain Club Resort
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2011

The resort is spread over a hige area. Very good rooms, good service. Very good housekeeping also. Best part is the location. Though far from munnar town, the resort boasts of one of the best locations in terms of surrounding beauty.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maulikparekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 544 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2011

We went there last month.
Very bad service.
Too costly. You have to pay for everything
They provide us a room with no view.
No hot water.
I do not recommend it.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank marie1974Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

The pics on the hotel website make it look very pretty but don't be misled like i was. The hotel rooms are nice, with duplex arrangemnt good for a large family but the cottages are so close to each other and ins piteously of having a wonderful location, the rooms have NO view! We were kindly put up near the restaurant since I had mom with em and the staff is very friendly. The rom was high quality and breakfast and dinner were nice too. Only it's an hour away from munnarthru steep drives and it takes up valuable time to get to any sight seeing spots in munnar. Was sad we had no valley view only the kitchen generator noise for company :(

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage which has a view from the verandah tho I think there aren't too many of those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rutav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

we stayed at the mountain club for 2 nights. we were a family of six and had booked two rooms.the hotel property is chic and very new. the facilities and activities are very good. my children enjoyed the activities and my parents enjoyed the views and and the relaxation it offers. the hotel is away from the munnars hustle and bustle and close to club mahindra,sterling,sienna village resorts. the rooms have a rustic feel to it and all rooms are individual cottages. the restaurant serves sumptuous breakfast and dinner. and has a wide variety to cuisines to choose from. the service too is very good. to sum it up we surely would visit the place again.!!

Room Tip: try locating the rooms at higher level as they tend to have the best of the lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhdMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

ONE of the best resort in kerela...... had a wonderful experience n excellent customer service, make 1 call n four person will stand before u........ food was delicious n friendly atmosphere in the resort .............

Room Tip: corner suites are large n sunny.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSHORA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Without doubt a complete and utter rip off. Don't stay at this hotel if you are expecting a view, it is on the wrong side of the road for starters and although the site it is built on is like the peak of Everest you don't get a view from most cottages. Speaking of cottages the photos in the brochures are far better than the real thing. Small, badly laid out and a bathroom fit for pygmies. Furthermore, the power kept cutting out every 10 minutes. Due to the site they have a shuttle service to transport you up to the restaurant if you happen to be in one of the bottom cottages. All I have to say is that one driver we had would be better on an F1 track then driving one of those little maruti vans up and down this hotel road. Forget safety, forget adventure parks just seek out this driver and you will be in for the thrill of your life. It may be your last.

Room Tip: if you do stay here try to get a room above the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Raj J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Wonderful trip it really was..The beautiful view of the dam from the rooms, great food and best of all well organized trips in and around munnar to the lakes,tea estates,plantations, wild life park was fantastic .

Room Tip: tow bed room cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sumithagarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saj-Mountainclub, Head-Sales and Marketing at Mountain Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2011

Dear Guest,

Namaste !

Many thanks for your review. We are glad to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Mountain Club.Your rating of 5/5 will definitely be a great motivation for our team to do better in the coming days.

Look forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Sajan Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinnakanal
9.7 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 15 in Chithirapuram
966 reviews
2.2 mi away
SpiceTree Munnar
SpiceTree Munnar
#1 of 15 in Chinnakanal
459 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Siena Village
The Siena Village
#4 of 15 in Chinnakanal
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Rivulet Resort
Rivulet Resort
#9 of 103 in Munnar
533 reviews
9.7 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
9.8 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#1 of 15 in Chithirapuram
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Club Resort

Address: Chinnakanal Suryanelli Rd, Chinnakanal 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chinnakanal
#1 Spa Hotel in Chinnakanal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chinnakanal
Price Range: $118 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Club, Munnar is the best and finest luxury resort in the evergreen mountains of Munnar, Kerala, and India. It is located on a quite hillside in a small hamlet called Chinnakanal. From the early days of the 18th century, Munnar has been the favorite holiday destination of the erstwhile royal families, celebrities and nobles from India and abroad. The mesmerizing natural beauty and the weather is really unique. Mountain Club, Munnar is a real tribute to a typical type of architecture which is prevalent in the hill stations of Kerala. The exterior walls made from pure stone and the typical Kerala roof tiles provides the rustic look. . Surrounding the resort are extensive tea gardens and mountains with nature trails. Exclusive Food and Beverage outlets, conference halls, meeting rooms and a host of recreational facilities matching first class standards is available to make your holiday a truly amazing experience. Mountain Club, Munnar has many firsts to its credit. Each of its cottages contains a cozy and spacious living room and a bedroom. For those who are traveling with families and friends, we have two bedroom cottages, which have a living room as well. Every cottage is equipped with a fire place. Needless to mention, we have provided all amenities in our cottages. Take a dip and laze around the one and only swimming pool in Munnar. The resort has the largest conferencing facilities in Munnar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Mountain Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Club Resort Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing