We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Place, Great Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountain Club Resort
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super Place, Great Resort”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Visited Munar in August 2011 and stayed at Mountain Club. The road to reach Mountain club is very hectic from cochin airport but once you are there the place is Super. We 4 or us stayed in 2 bedroom cottage. Very good view and decent. Room service also great. Staff very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank navaz_mehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saj-Mountainclub, Head- Sales and Marketing at Mountain Club Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

Namaste !

Many thanks for your review and we are delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your time at our resort. Many thanks for your encouraging words and a rating of 5/5.

Look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Sajan Joseph
sales@mountainclub.co.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    135
    55
    16
    16
See reviews for
199
130
1
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Munnar is one of the exotic locations I have been to. What made my stay more wonderful was the time I went. It was bit raining in end of july and whole journey from kochi airport to Mountain club Resort Munnar was like a dream. It was like I was floating in the sky. I could see clouds beneath me. Facility at the resort was top class with nice view . Most often clouds would float and come inside our rooms. Clouds over the tea garden gave such a mystic look that it feels like you are in some Harry Potter movie.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beateldros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saj-Mountainclub, Head- Sales and Marketing at Mountain Club Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings !

Many thanks for your review and we are glad to learn that you enjoyed our services and infrastructure.Your review will help fellow travellers to make informed decision.

Your caption"Lovers Paradise" is spot on.We have a large number of guests who visit us for their honeymoons and anniversaries.

Your comment about feeling like "in a Harry Potter" movie is many a time echoed by our guests.The settings and the natural beauty of the place definitely rubs on positively for the guests , especially those who come from large cities.

Look forward to your next visit.

Regards

Sajan joseph
sales@mountainclub.co.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2011

From the moment we arrived at this stunningly located hotel we were treated to EXCELLENCE IN CUSTOMER SERVICE. When we arrived we were greeted at the door with refreshments, which were very welcomed after a long, twisty but very pretty car journey through the tea plantations. The reception staff seated us then took care of all the check in details and baggage.

We was then shown up to our room. The person showing us up took time to carefully explain to us all about the room and its facilities, then went on to explain about the other hotel facilities and if we needed anything to call.

The room was a nice size and consisted of numerous wardrobes, a seating area, table, a fridge and tea an coffee facilities. None of the rooms are air conditioned in this hotel.But then again its warm only during the day and gets quite cool after 6 pm. The bed was a nice size and was very comfortable. All the bed linen was clean and nicely soft unlike some hotels that where the linen is crispy. On the bed were the bath towels that had been folded in to designs that changed each day of our stay.

The bathroom was clean and tidy, but on the small side. It did contain all the essentials needed for our stay. But definitely we were expecting a better and bigger bathroom.

We were lucky and had a room at the front of the Reception which had stunning views down the valley, a lake in the middle of the valley and of the hills on the opposite side.During the evening the mist does come down low. This does not in anyway affect your view , in fact in the morning we were treated to a very nice sunrise over the hills, with a band of mist low in the valley.

The facilities here for the whole family are excellent. We went the activity centre and was greeted by very friendly staff. The activity centre has amongst other things a snooker table, a table tennis board, some video games stations and wii arrangement.Some of the activities are chareable while others are free.At no point were they pushing anything on us. They were happy to spend the time explaining the local area and its attractions. After spending some time with them we went to do one of the outside activities. The Club also offers gym & ayurvedic massages in its nicely done spa centre.

The restaurant has some amazing views. The food here was very good and once again the staff were excellent. A point to note here is that the naans and the uttapams were some of the best I have ever tasted and made fresh to your order!

In all I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would in fact go out of my way to stay here again. The staff in every area were fantastic, friendly, attentive and great with children. It was one of the highs of Our Kerala trip staying at Mountain Club Resort and I wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dysonselvester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saj-Mountainclub, Head-Sales & Marketing at Mountain Club Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Dear Sir,

Namaste !

Many thanks for writing such an elabrate review. This will definitely help travellers to make the correct decision.
We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful time at Mountain Club. We sincerely appreciate and thank you for the kind words of encouragement.

Look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Sajan Joseph
sales@mountainclub.co.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalhousie, India
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Amazing location, great food, excellent service, smiling staff....the list is endless. I stayed here with my wife and 2 small kids aged 4 & 8. I t was lovely with warm friendly staff who greeted us with smiling faces at all times! The restaurant had great food & the buffet was excellent with yummy meals at all times. Despite it being off season the restaurant was packed at all times & despite the staff being rushed off their feet at times -they were warm & courteous.

The location was beautiful with long winding roads through the Hotel ideal for a walk
The play area for the kids with the indoor games was excellent
Our stay in this resort was amazing & one that would remain in our memory as one of our best trips ever!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romugomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed one night in the resort. Food was fine. But the location of the resort is very far from main Munnar city. Also the cottages in the resort does not have a good view and restaurant is very far but they have kept their own vehicles which take you from the cottage to restaurant. We stayed in Standard room and the room make was a bit depressing . The ambeince can be improved. Also, the service from reception (for calling cabs, sending person for check out) was slow. We had to call several times to get these done.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BangaloreCustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

I chicked at the resort for a period of 5 nights, the location is one of the best in this area, other than that the resort staff are very bad in service and this includr room service reception and even the resturant.
Cleaning of rooms is funny, every day i had an a problem regarding the quality of the survice, the reception staff are doing nothing to help visitors and some times they act as they donts understant , i dont know the reson behind this. The restorant is the worest staff are cairless for example , if you need a nife then you have to search for it by your self , without a tip no body will help you, for 100 INR they will alocate one staff for you at the resturant, this happen infront of me.

I am sorry to say that this is a resort that i will never recomended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faisalooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saj-Mountainclub, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Club Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

Many thanks for the review.However after going through the contents, we strongly feel that the mentioned issues were not real ones. Such as, 100 Rs being paid to get service etc is just a misunderstanding and nothing else. As far as the knives are concerned, we lay our table with knives, forks and spoons. If additional knives or spoons are needed, our staff are always ready to do the needful. However we would do everything possible to improve our services.

Regards,
Sajan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
2 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2011

The resort was very far from Munnar (our fault did not validate). Concrete mess considering we came to the hills to enjoy fresh air and open spaces. Rooms were disappointing at best, dark dingy and no fresh air. Tried to open the windows and realised that they were screwed shut. Considering the resort was not even 20% occupied we got the worst room facing the exhaust of the kitchen. No place to sit outside, interiors were below average at best. The public places at the Kerala Tourism Hotel in Mummar were better than this hotel. I would not recommend this to anyone. We had a booking for 2 nights and actually left after staying there for one night had to give up the money which had been paid in advance. The staff refused to give us a bill at checkout and told us to get it from our travel agent.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AM1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saj-Mountainclub, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Club Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

Many thanks for writing the review.We are at Chinnakanal and many of the premium resorts are located at Chinnakanal.Considering what you have written, we feel that you were looking forward to stay in a tourist town and not in a small and peaceful hamlet like Chinnakanal. Our resort is spread over a large area and is not a concrete mess as you have mentioned.Your description about the rooms are far from reality and the figures of 20% occupancy are just a very wild guess. Had it been, we would have been glad to give a room of your choice.

As far as bills are concerned, it is always given to the booking source, and this is a standard practice in the industry.
However, we respect your views and will try to keep improving our services.

Regards,

Sajan Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinnakanal
9.7 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#3 of 14 in Chithirapuram
867 reviews
2.2 mi away
SpiceTree Munnar
SpiceTree Munnar
#1 of 14 in Chinnakanal
431 reviews
9.7 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 14 in Chithirapuram
486 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Siena Village
The Siena Village
#4 of 14 in Chinnakanal
589 reviews
9.1 mi away
Chandys Windy Woods
Chandys Windy Woods
#1 of 14 in Chithirapuram
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Club Resort

Property: Mountain Club Resort
Address: Chinnakanal Suryanelli Rd, Chinnakanal 685612, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Chinnakanal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chinnakanal
#4 Spa Hotel in Chinnakanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Club, Munnar is the best and finest luxury resort in the evergreen mountains of Munnar, Kerala, and India. It is located on a quite hillside in a small hamlet called Chinnakanal. From the early days of the 18th century, Munnar has been the favorite holiday destination of the erstwhile royal families, celebrities and nobles from India and abroad. The mesmerizing natural beauty and the weather is really unique. Mountain Club, Munnar is a real tribute to a typical type of architecture which is prevalent in the hill stations of Kerala. The exterior walls made from pure stone and the typical Kerala roof tiles provides the rustic look. . Surrounding the resort are extensive tea gardens and mountains with nature trails. Exclusive Food and Beverage outlets, conference halls, meeting rooms and a host of recreational facilities matching first class standards is available to make your holiday a truly amazing experience. Mountain Club, Munnar has many firsts to its credit. Each of its cottages contains a cozy and spacious living room and a bedroom. For those who are traveling with families and friends, we have two bedroom cottages, which have a living room as well. Every cottage is equipped with a fire place. Needless to mention, we have provided all amenities in our cottages. Take a dip and laze around the one and only swimming pool in Munnar. The resort has the largest conferencing facilities in Munnar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mountain Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Club Resort Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing