We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely location, lousy service... a heavenly resort totally mismanaged”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountain Club Resort
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2011

we had stayed here for two days and realized its a lovely resort without a soul to cater the guests..... room service takes 2 hours, no hot water , shabby rooms inside, stinking toilets, and not coffee maker not cleaned for ages

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doc_Kuldeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

560 - 566 of 603 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2011

Stayed two nights with my family and three other relativeser in May 2011. Excellant location, opted a two bed room resort at the edge of the mountain. Funtastic view of munnar. Services are also good. But the response to services calls have to be improved. There was a broken water hose in one of the toilets during our stay in the night and it took hours to respond. We have to make serveral reminders for a response. This has to be improved. John & Family NYC

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chack0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saj-Mountainclub, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2011

Dear Sir/Madam,

Many thanks for your review. We are glad to learn that you have generally appreciated our resort.Many thanks for your kind words.We have also noted a couple of problems that you faced during your stay and we sincerely regret for any inconvenience caused. We shall continue to upgrade our services and you will experience that during your next visit.

Look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Sajan Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We wanted a resort away from the Munnar town, and hence chose this place. Small cottages are ideal for family or with friends. Its a great place to spend leisure time, sitting in the balcony, watching the nature, enjoying the soothing clime.

The resort has a restaurant, which serves decent food. Depending on where your cottage is, you may have to walk up or down the hill. Cottages have small but cute rooms, with a fireplace in the living room.

Service was not quite upto the mark, as even in low season, the place with crowded due to a conference. However, the staff is willing and genuinely supportive.

Good place to spend couple of days with family

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slodh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

I chose this location to provide a conference facility for one my clients.The location is excellent and the drive from Cochin to Munnar is a good experience ,especially from Munnar town to Chinnakkanal,its not risky anyway(authorities have widened the roads).

The location of the resort is great and a peaceful place to be in.I was staying there with my colleagues and I really missed my family there.This is the only resort which has a swimming pool(an infinity pool and on the other side its a man made dam).

The winding roads and rustic feeling of the outer view of cottages will give us a feeling of an European hilly village area.

Restaurant is clean and food is up to the mark.Upper side of the restaurant has got view towards the dam area.

I strongly suggest this Location for Honey moon couple and family trips.

They have a conference room ,which can accommodate 200 Pax and for small business meetings and conferences ,its advisable.


Overall ,it was a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arabind C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed there in a 2 night package and truly had a great trip all together. Though there both positives and negatives but overall the positives are has the upper hand on the trip.
Positive: excellent location, the way the property has been built is beautiful the winding roads, greenery all over, cottages beautifully designed, internal cab facility to reach the restaurant/pool. View from cottage is excellent rather it is mind blowing , swimming pool - “the best”, courteous staff (reception guys & internal cabs ) - surely an asset to this property. When we arrived the manager on duty did an exceptional job of familiarizing us with the resort facility and the nearby tourist attraction places that we could visit.

Negatives: service was near perfect to start with but deteriorated during the stay, hot water was a concern so if you wanna take a shower plan ahead of time, restaurant is expensive and food spread in the buffet is not exciting for the price, you better know the local language for restaurant staff to out of the way to do things for you, initially were told about getting the wood for fireplace but that never happened.

Though the price of the stay is little on the expensive side for the service and facilities available but sure worthwhile a trip for the peaceful calm, beautiful view and the drive to the resort.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reachrags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

wehad been top mountain club resort for offsite with 14 membersfor 2 nite stay after seeing thier website and reading some mixed report on trip advisor. however we were greatly disappointed with the palce in terms of quality of service and arrogant staff at th reception. its been raining and they dnt hv sufficicent umbrella whereas loigcally they must kkeep as many umbrellas as they have no of cottages. it ttok a verylong time to complete chekin formalities and gtg our stuff transerered. they dnt hv room service at nite and frankly they are completely understaffted. they hv made such a niice property and such a greatlocation but they fail misereably in deliver and execution. in peak our of dinner and breakfast. it can be seen they guest are scrambling for spoons and plates.. i feel they need to pull uop thier socks adn improve thier service else this resport will dia a natural death.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bhalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

The best resort I have visited for relaxation....you drive thru and u feel u r in a peaceful world....amazing view...nice swimming pool & amazing service....rooms are the best...balconies make the stay unforgettable....

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sushmita8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinnakanal
2.2 mi away
SpiceTree Munnar
SpiceTree Munnar
#1 of 108 in Munnar
489 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Siena Village
The Siena Village
#4 of 14 in Chinnakanal
606 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#2 of 8 in Pothamedu
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
547 reviews
9.7 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 15 in Chithirapuram
1,070 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fort Munnar
Hotel Fort Munnar
#5 of 14 in Chinnakanal
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Club Resort

Address: Chinnakanal Suryanelli Rd, Chinnakanal 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chinnakanal
#1 Spa Hotel in Chinnakanal
Price Range: $122 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Club, Munnar is the best and finest luxury resort in the evergreen mountains of Munnar, Kerala, and India. It is located on a quite hillside in a small hamlet called Chinnakanal. From the early days of the 18th century, Munnar has been the favorite holiday destination of the erstwhile royal families, celebrities and nobles from India and abroad. The mesmerizing natural beauty and the weather is really unique. Mountain Club, Munnar is a real tribute to a typical type of architecture which is prevalent in the hill stations of Kerala. The exterior walls made from pure stone and the typical Kerala roof tiles provides the rustic look. . Surrounding the resort are extensive tea gardens and mountains with nature trails. Exclusive Food and Beverage outlets, conference halls, meeting rooms and a host of recreational facilities matching first class standards is available to make your holiday a truly amazing experience. Mountain Club, Munnar has many firsts to its credit. Each of its cottages contains a cozy and spacious living room and a bedroom. For those who are traveling with families and friends, we have two bedroom cottages, which have a living room as well. Every cottage is equipped with a fire place. Needless to mention, we have provided all amenities in our cottages. Take a dip and laze around the one and only swimming pool in Munnar. The resort has the largest conferencing facilities in Munnar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Mountain Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Club Resort Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing