We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORROR EXPERIENCE.....TERRIBLE STAFF AND SERVICE. DONT EVEN GO THERE FOR FREE....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Heaven Munnar
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I booked a holiday package for 2 nights stay in Munnar . Holiday Heven claimed to be a 4 star but it wasnt even a 1 star. It was more of a shabby bed and breakfast joint that u find on highways. Pathetic service, they wanted us to have dinner at 9pm and then go off to sleep ! Not even a tea coffee maker in room ( as mentioned by your site ). There was no multi-cuisine restaurant ( as mentioned on your website ). Just 4 dining tables and 5-6 food options. whatever we select, they would prepare then. Similarly at breakfast, very limited choice. The moment you asked for a second helping in buffet they would say its finished. Condition of the rooms was also very basic. The flush wasn't working, the bathroom door couldn't be locked... basic things that i am ashamed of even highlighting here. There wasn't even a fan in the room! ( pic attached ) . When we complained to the manager he said this is it. Take it or leave it .Also he said that he cannot take responsibility of bookings through a travel website or what they mention about the hotel. They refused to talk to us stating that talk to my travel agent....we dont talk to customers directly. Do u think a 4 star hotel is this ??? Pls never go there.....

Room Tip: dont chose any room there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sangeeta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayHeavenMunnar, General Manager at Holiday Heaven Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for spending the time recollect about an OLD visit and writing a review about us. What to say? Your review is almost a YEAR OLD. We MOVED ON from there you left


There is a FAN in every room. See one review below complaining that we have only wall fans. We have to strongly disagree with the food part. We can understand that you want to exaggerate your points in order to make it real and very bad for us. As we realised you have a different expectation that what we have, we refunded the amount to the travel site. We will do our level best to make our customer happy.

We have repeated so many times in the past that we are not a 4****. If you book through a travel agent, we don't know HOW they sold the room to you so we are not in a position to rectify the travel agents sales talk directly. E.g, in your case they said it is 4**** that we never agrees or mentioned in our website so whatever we speak does not make any sense to you. Don't you think it is sensible you speak to the sales guys who booked the room for you instead of shouting us they said this and that?
Regarding restaurant, we prepare food freshly so it will take 30-45 minutes to prepare. Do you like yesterday's food served in five minutes or freshly prepared food? Most of our guests are happy to wait for the fresh.
We have to re iterate the fact that we have multi-cuisine restaurant and we provide unlimited food on breakfast. We request you to come and count our tables in restaurant also. We as made lot of improvement in our resort so hope, you will like it in your next visit


Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 127 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

Summary:
Five star views
Four star pricing i.e., very expensive
Two star service and amenities i.e., very bad
I will not stay there again

* Chinnakanal is better than Munnar
* Drive from Munnar to Chinnakanal is breathtaking.
* I would find another hotel in Chinnakanal to stay in, next time I go there, because of the following reasons.

We were a group of 4, so we took two rooms. Both rooms had similar issues and service was bad in both rooms. Someone responds to the reviews here, but they would be better off spending time improving the service

* Bath room is very old with a dirty looking bucket/mug.
* Takes 10 mins to fill a bucket with hot water, since hot water just trickles from the tap.
* Hot water pressure is not good enough to reach the shower head, no bath tub in the bath room, I expected at least a nice shower or tub since it is called RESORT
* Room is too small, carpet definitely needs a thorough wet wash
* linen and towels have dry brown stains, possibly of rust.
* No food/drink is available from 930pm to 730am, so if you have a small child, who needs milk, good luck:-(
* They messed up our morning tea/coffee/milk order on both days we were there. When we ask for milk, they brought tea. When we ask for coffee they got milk etc...
* Milk they supply is quite watery, in fact I felt it was 50% water.
* There is no dinner buffet, as mentioned in another review. So that reviewer might be a fake one, or mistaking this property with another one.
* DInner Menu had no entry for Kerala vegetarian dish, was surprised by this. Breakfast buffet had 1 entree which was Kerala special. that was good.But why only one entree? I cannot comment on non veg food, since I am vegetarian
* I would consider this as a 2.5 star hotel, not a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kumar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayHeavenMunnar, General Manager at Holiday Heaven Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a detailed review. Let us clarify one point, the people who respond to review are the same people who meet and greet you at holiday heaven. We do take all comments seriously. One of the main points rose earlier was that the room is congested if we put an extra-bed in the room so we added a living room so extra bed can put there without spoiling the convenience/privacy of main bedroom.
We realised your entire dissatisfaction started when you haven’t got a tea @ 5:00 in the morning. Unfortunately we do NOT have 24 hour restaurant. We are looking to other option to serve refreshment in the night/early morning like in your case. It is NOT true that you won’t get anything between 9:30 to 7:00 AM. Hope you won’t forget the fact we served warm milk @ 11:00 PM in your room. Our last dinner order is between 9:30-10:00. As we prepare food freshly, we need time to prepare it that is the reason we are not taking dinner order beyond 10:00 PM. Restaurant closes only after all dinner orders that most cases go well beyond 12:00 AM. Our kitchen open at 7:00 AM and start serving tea/coffee well before it.
Accept our sincere apologies, if we messed up with your morning tea order.

Regarding the quality of Milk, we should this matter with Kerala Govt as Milma (govt. Agency) supplies the milk. We do not add water to it. There is no other farm around the area to supply milk.
We DO serve buffet dinner in busy periods depends on the number of people booked room with dinner. We believe the earlier reviewer commenting on the New Year eve dinner so it is not fake or directed at other hotels. We are sorry that there was no buffet dinner during your stay
Regarding the hot water, we have gas powered instant 24 hour hot water. As it is instant, in extreme cold weather, it will not give enough pressure for hot water. If the flow is high, water will not be hot enough. Only storage heater can give high pressure but you have to wait for water to get hot, in that case and that will be the biggest complaints 

We mentioned in some other response, very few people (less that 1%) ask for Kerala dishes that is the reason it hasn’t got much importance in our menu. Most of our guests start the dinner order by saying no coconut/coconut oil/maida etc. If we asked us, we would have very much happy to serve you outside the menu.
Same is the case with breakfast. We used to provide Kerala dishes but most fear unknown and complaints nothing in the breakfast. Any guest reading this and want to taste the best of Kerala food, please discuss this with us and we will do our best.
We are not a FOUR/FIVE star property. Your score about us is almost correct; we are a 3 star property. Online travel agents will hiked the price very much in peak season (demand and supply) that is what happened in your case. You should have come directly to us. We never hiked price for direct guest in any season.

We are very glad to know that you liked chinnakkanal, please give us a second chance to serve you.


Warm Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were in holiday heaven for 3 days as part of our honeymoon trip. It is not in proper munnar but all good resorts are around chinnakkanal. It is a real heaven for honeymooners, calm and quiet. Independent villas set in the backdrop of a beautiful mountain. Privacy is well taken care in villas.
Buffet dinner had a very good choice of North and south Indian delicacies. Complimentary breakfast was excellent too. We had a chance to experience a good selection of keralite breakfast that is not known to outside world. Manager and staff were excellent and caring. Garden area was very beautiful and good for walk in the evening. Rooms were very neat and clean and enjoyed the fresh smelling linens.
We booked a honeymoon special from holiday heaven. It is well worth it. We definitely recommend holiday heaven for a honeymoon.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank sam_d304551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayHeavenMunnar, General Manager at Holiday Heaven Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for writing wonderful review. We are glad to know that we made your holiday a wonderful experience.
Hope, we will see again and we will get another chance to serve you again in the future.

Warm Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very good resort. Manager and staffs were really helpful in accommodating our special requests. Manager really went out to source some medicine for my child in the night. Restaurant and food was very good. We haven't had such a great tasting north Indian food in Kerala. Room was neat and clean. Good garden but can be better.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank krani_singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayHeavenMunnar, General Manager at Holiday Heaven Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for writing a wonderful review about us.
We really appreciated your generosity. As you suggested during the visit, we are doing a makeover for our gardens.
Hope, we will get another chance to serve you in the future.

Warm Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The most worst experience in my life ever in any hotel!!
The environment is very SAD and very unlive!!
The service is very Poor, bad quality of staff.
No restaurant only small kitchen.
People get attracted with the outside view of the hotel but no facility.
Poor and small size furniture and Old fashion TV, rooms does not have even electric cattle.
No AC, No sealing fan, very stupid old fashion wall mounted fans..
You will hardly find any staff in resort.
food is also bad quality.
When we reached their in the evening, we ordered the tea and we got the tea of Spoiled Milk ( fata hua milk ).

I would strongly not recommend to go their..
I am sure lot of people will be attracted by pics since it looks beautiful from out but if you don't want to be served good and feel good. you can be their.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HPRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayHeavenMunnar, General Manager at Holiday Heaven Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing a NEGATIVE review as you promised for not waiving your entire food charges. As a business, we will not survive if we do what you asked for.
Please look down the rest of the review. People are praising the hospitality, beauty of the resort, location and quality of food and you are saying everything is bad. Do you think people will believe you?
To the general public reading this review, please understand the reviewer trying the express his frustration for not getting a huge discount. We believe we are a reasonable priced resort and we will not survive, if we bow down to people like the above guest.
If any guest booking with us and on arrival found that we are not up to the mark, we will give you full refund. That is a PROMISE we are giving to all our future guests.

Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The location is beautiful, in the backdrop of an amazing mountain range. Cottages are beautiful and providing excellent privacy. Staffs were very polite and cooperative. Chinese food range was awesome. Room service was good. There are some bonfire and music going on up to 9:30 for a group that was annoying to me as I don't like big sounds.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoeb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayHeavenMunnar, General Manager at Holiday Heaven Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for writing a good review about us. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Hope we will get a chance to serve you again. Once again, thank you very much for your time and generosity


Warm Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Good ambiance, Lots of space inside the properly and individual cottages made a very comfortable honeymoon stay. Breakfast was good. There isn’t a large choice in dinner menu so that need to improved but taste was good. I have a sweet pallet but I can't see any exiting option other than the usual ones. Front office was good so was the service.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank xboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayHeavenMunnar, General Manager at Holiday Heaven Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for writing a good review about us. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Hope we will get a chance to serve you again.

Warm Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinnakanal
0.1 mi away
The Siena Village
The Siena Village
#5 of 14 in Chinnakanal
610 reviews
2 mi away
SpiceTree Munnar
SpiceTree Munnar
#1 of 109 in Munnar
495 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fort Munnar
Hotel Fort Munnar
#4 of 14 in Chinnakanal
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mountain Trail Resort
Mountain Trail Resort
#9 of 14 in Chinnakanal
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountain Club Resort
Mountain Club Resort
#1 of 14 in Chinnakanal
617 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sterling Munnar
Sterling Munnar
#6 of 14 in Chinnakanal
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Heaven Munnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Heaven Munnar

Address: Chinnakanal P O, Chinnakanal 685618, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chinnakanal
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Chinnakanal
Price Range: $50 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Heaven, as the name suggests, is aptly located in a tranquil, picture-perfect location in Chinnakanal - Munnar, 20 km from Munnar city. It is surrounded by lakes, misty mountains and breath-taking landscapes. Holiday Heaven offers you a choice of beautifully designed and decorated detached/semi-detached villas to provide you complete relaxation and privacy. All villas have fully carpeted floors and have an en-suite bathroom. Our multi-cuisine restaurant provides Indian, Chinese and continental dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Heaven Munnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Heaven Munnar Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing