We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveler rating
60
44
14
5
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
44
14
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmunnar townnice ambiencegardennatureresortmrtearoadkeraladistancecleanliness
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 130 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The villas was great! The misty clad garden was so refreshing. We stayed in a independent villa that was very comfortable for us. Staff was great and their service also excellent. Our son really enjoyed the kids play area. They really helped us to chart our trips around munnar. Overall great experience and will visit them again

Room Tip: Real beauty of munnar is not in town, it was away from munnar. Avoid staying in town, it is so crowded.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deepak_Bdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayHeavenMunnar, General Manager at Holiday Heaven Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for spending your to write a review about us. We happy to hear you liked our resort. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Hope we will get a chance to serve you again. Once again, thank you very much for your time and generosity


Warm Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We booked a two bedroom villa for two nights stay. We had deposited advance about a month back. When we reached we were asked to take two single rooms adjacent to each other where windows were overlooking walls and not even a garden. When we insisted upon the two bedroom villa..we were shown two very small individual units not even intetconnected with renovation work going on. The location was aweful with no good view compared to nearby resorts..
We took our refund back as we did not gt the villa that we booked.
We travelled over 20km from Munnar town for nothing..I am extremely disappointed with the management. I now think its a blessing in disguise that we didnt stay in holiday heaven as the place was very far and had no great views..
Try to avoid this place..

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manivini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayHeavenMunnar, General Manager at Holiday Heaven Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for booking with us and spending your time to write a review about us. Unfortunately you didn't stay with us to experience our hospitality and we are sure that you will not write this sort of review once you experienced our hospitality.

Please accept our apologies not giving the villa you booked. This is mainly due to the late monsoon and unavailability of professional painters but we conveyed this to you over the phone well before arrival and agreed by you. On your arrival, we realized that your main concern was the distance from munnar. We never lied about our location, it is in chinnakkanal ( pls. Check our website) and all popular star hotels are located here not in munnar.

When you asked for refund, without saying any word, we give you the full refund as we couldn't keep what we promised when you booked with us. You have to understand that we lost not just the money you paid to us but bank charges in that transaction also (and of-course the empty rooms also). We gave the full refund for making our guest happy, that is most important to us.

One interesting thing we observed is that you registered with tripadvisor in 2009 and didn't write a single review before and used that account to tarnish our reputation. What is the point of writing fabricated lies as you can see some of the earlier reviewers are clearly stating the things you mentioned in your review are wrong? You could have used your tripadvisor account to research on location- chinnakkanl and hotels.
All our villas are garden facing ( Anyone welcome to verify it).Location is beautiful (see earlier reviews) We offered superior villas that that you booked but you refused to accept it. Each villa got a living room and bedroom. People used to complain the room is not big for a family so is the reason we added a spacious living room to each villa without losing the aesthetic of the property.

You said , you extremely disappointed by the management. Why? Because we conveyed the problem in advance to you or we gave you the full refund to you? Please do a reality check.

Once again, thank for your time, hope we will get another chance to serve you in the future.

Kind Regards,
General Manager- Holiday Heaven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We had great holidays here.
The rooms were all beautifully made. Our kids enjoyed the open space and kids play area.
It was wonderful mountains and greenery all around, away from noises and pollutions.
Very good hospitality, Trip to kolukkumalai (world highest tea garden) was excellent

Room Tip: Trip to kolukkumail is great only if you have good back. The road is bumpy and only jeep will go there.
Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank DevanZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayHeavenMunnar, General Manager at Holiday Heaven Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for staying with us and writing a good review about us. It is a pleasure for us to know that our efforts were never wasted to make our guests happy.

We are extremely proud to make you stay a good experience. Hope we will get one more chance to excel from you.

Warm Regards,
General Manager – Holiday Heaven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I was on a trip to Kerala in the month of Dec 2011.
Cleanliness n Rooms
The hotel provided me with a cottage, the room was nice and clean, no problem watsoever. Rooms were average sized. our room had a small dining area attached to the main room.
Had a problem with "noisy" fan, which was sorted out on complain. But with these hotels and charges they should have checked the room before handing over it to customer. The bathroom was nice and well maintained, had some drainage problem (drained slowly) had facilites for hot n cold water but the timings were restricted.
Staff
The staff was co-operative. We were supposed to get a complimentary candle light dinner which was quite average. But i would insist, could have been much worse if not for the good staff.
Food
The food was very AVERAGE (to be very frank). Had no buffet breakfast on the 1st day but on the next day we had buffet breakfast. The food on the menu was very limited. but they provided me with extra items we asked for. But again food was Average.
Location
I was interested in and near Munnar. But the hotel was some 20-30 kms away from there...so it turned out to be a hour drive away cause it's a hilly area. So all my sight seeing sites which I had pre-selected was almost 1.5-2hrs drive away.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachit_sinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayHeavenMunnar, General Manager at Holiday Heaven Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2012

Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for staying with us and spending your time to write a review about us. We are always keen to get guest feedback in order to improve our service and gust satisfaction. Strangely, you didn’t left any feedback on our guest feedback sheet. That would have been really helpful for us to improve. We could get more insight to the issues that you were faced and any other issues that you might think as silly or irrelevant but may be an issue for other guests
As you quite rightly pointed out in your review, it is our responsibility to ensure our entire fans/ other fitting are in perfect working order and we admit that it was a failure at our end and we can confirm now that defective fan is replaced with a new one and we will double check all other equipments before handing to our gusts so future guests will not face these sort of issues.
We have to disagree with the comment you made about the hot water facilities. Hot water available 24 hours and it is not time restricted. It is instant gas powered water heater so hot water available as soon as you opens the tap and there is no restriction on it.
Regarding food, we do get good review about our foods but we are well aware that tastes different from person to person. We could have more insight if you give the feedback to the manager so he could have passed your feedback to our chef and he could have prepared your next meal as per your choice.
The last point is the distance from munnar. Yes, we are 20 KM away from Munnar (towards Thekkady) and located in chinnakkanal, the most picturesque part of munnar. You will see the real beauty of munnar only when you travel to chinnakanal. I hope you will agree on that point.
Once again, thank you very much for spending your time to write a review and hope we will get a change to serve you better in the future.

Kind Regards,
Holiday Heaven Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Hi, We had a good vacation in Munnar this year.
Some of the good things are listed
1) It is a villa and it is absolute quiet in and around. So people who want to enjoy silence it is a best place to be.
2) Room service is good. Hospitality was excellent.
3) All the required things like TV, wardrobe, dining set, chairs etc are present.
4) Absolute serene beauty in and around the resort.
5) Ideal villas for honeymoon couples.
6) Soups and desserts in the buffet was awesome.

Some of the not so good things are listed
1) I was expecting an elephant but instead found an ant. May be that was my wrong imagination after looking at the photos of the resort. My family members also second that.
2) Website does not five a proper information on the location of the resort. It says Chinnakanal road, but does not say it is on the way to Thekkady and Madurai. It is approx 20 kms away from Munnar. Also not mentioned that resort can be connected from madurai also but instead says only Cochin which is 160 kms. (In fact Madurai is also 160 km from the resort)
3) Rather inexperienced in handling a family which has a kid aged 0-2 years.
4) Breakfast and dinner was a buffet, but each dishes were not named and need to ask everytime what exactly were those dishes and always need to ask if the dishes were veg or non-veg?
5) Sight seeing is not guided properly, they could priorly inform that it takes so and so amount of time usually to visit or complete a particular sight seeing. In our case we wasted around 4-5 hours (with an 18 months baby) in Eravikulam national park just to watch the wild goats or Nilgiri Tahr. The 4-5 hours waiting was not worth it (that too to watch a wild goat!!!)
6) In the villa where I stayed had some issues with the front door and we were not able to lock it and it was not rectified until the end.
7) Not a good place for foodies who would prefer al - a - carte menu order. Very less choice for starters and desserts.
8) Not worth the money as we had visited during the christmas vacations, and they had charged almost 5200 for a villa (I guess 750-1000 more than off season). We did not have a very good entertainment in the evening. Out of my three nights stay same singer performed for all three days (no matter that the singer was singing very well) and on the final day got a chance to see some amateur dancers dancing to the tune of bollywood songs. Was expecting some more entertainment during this vacation special. Because with 2000 more added to it we spent an evening luxuriously in a five star hotel at Coimbatore (on our return).
9) The villas are very small and in case if you have a kid it is a congestion. May be it was built only for honeymoon couples!!! The villa had less space than most of the rooms given in a star hotel.
10) For Airtel customers it is bad news, no network and I think Airtel does not have an agreement with other service providers and hence no cells ringing as long as you stay. In fact this may be a very good news for some. Only Idea, Reliance, BSNL and Vodafone are available.
11) On our first day, as soon as we reached the resort we were not given a villa as the previous customer had not yet vacated. Hence we had to wait for almost an hour. Later it was cleaned and given. With a baby who travelled overnight it was difficult to manage. They do not have some guest room in the reception.
12) The resort is big, but most of the space are unused and not maintained well.

But overall we choose to neglect the above mentioned not so good points as we had come to enjoy the serene beauty of Munnar. Had a good sight seeing. The cab drivers act like a guide and they speak very well about the places in a mixture of broken English and Hindi. In fact they seem to be more comfortable in English rather than Hindi.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sumanthm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayHeavenMunnar, General Manager at Holiday Heaven Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2012

Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for staying with us and writing a very detailed review. We will try our best to incorporate all of your suggestions.

Regarding the point 2 on not so good list, all the information you were asking is already there in our website (holiday heaven munnar dot com under the contact menu). If you were booked using a third-party/travel site, you are probably not aware of this. All our direct email communication will give details about our websites. More importantly, we are always to happy guide/plan our guest’s travel plans.
Regarding the point 4, we realised the issue and it is rectified now.
Regarding the point 6, we admit that was our failure at our end and now we can assure that that issue of fixed now. We will ensure these sorts of issues will not affect our future guests.
Regarding the point 11, please be aware that our check-in time is 12:00 Noon and checkout time is 10:00 AM but you reached our resort at 06:30 AM when our resort is full. We cannot ask our guest to vacate before check-out time, still we informed our other generous group guest about your situation and they were kind enough to vacate one room for you before checkout time so you got the room within next hour

As you mentioned the resort is big, we are expanding to the unused area and we will address the lack of guest room in reception so in future if guest visit us early, they will be able to relax till they get their villas.
Once again, thank you very much for the detailed review and we will incorporate all possible points and hope you will have a pleasurable stay in the future

Kind Regards,
Holiday Heaven Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews