We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveler rating
60
44
14
5
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
44
14
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmunnar townnice ambiencegardennatureresortmrtearoadkeraladistancecleanliness
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 130 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I was on a trip to Kerala in the month of Dec 2011.
Cleanliness n Rooms
The hotel provided me with a cottage, the room was nice and clean, no problem watsoever. Rooms were average sized. our room had a small dining area attached to the main room.
Had a problem with "noisy" fan, which was sorted out on complain. But with these hotels and charges they should have checked the room before handing over it to customer. The bathroom was nice and well maintained, had some drainage problem (drained slowly) had facilites for hot n cold water but the timings were restricted.
Staff
The staff was co-operative. We were supposed to get a complimentary candle light dinner which was quite average. But i would insist, could have been much worse if not for the good staff.
Food
The food was very AVERAGE (to be very frank). Had no buffet breakfast on the 1st day but on the next day we had buffet breakfast. The food on the menu was very limited. but they provided me with extra items we asked for. But again food was Average.
Location
I was interested in and near Munnar. But the hotel was some 20-30 kms away from there...so it turned out to be a hour drive away cause it's a hilly area. So all my sight seeing sites which I had pre-selected was almost 1.5-2hrs drive away.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachit_sinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayHeavenMunnar, General Manager at Holiday Heaven Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2012

Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for staying with us and spending your time to write a review about us. We are always keen to get guest feedback in order to improve our service and gust satisfaction. Strangely, you didn’t left any feedback on our guest feedback sheet. That would have been really helpful for us to improve. We could get more insight to the issues that you were faced and any other issues that you might think as silly or irrelevant but may be an issue for other guests
As you quite rightly pointed out in your review, it is our responsibility to ensure our entire fans/ other fitting are in perfect working order and we admit that it was a failure at our end and we can confirm now that defective fan is replaced with a new one and we will double check all other equipments before handing to our gusts so future guests will not face these sort of issues.
We have to disagree with the comment you made about the hot water facilities. Hot water available 24 hours and it is not time restricted. It is instant gas powered water heater so hot water available as soon as you opens the tap and there is no restriction on it.
Regarding food, we do get good review about our foods but we are well aware that tastes different from person to person. We could have more insight if you give the feedback to the manager so he could have passed your feedback to our chef and he could have prepared your next meal as per your choice.
The last point is the distance from munnar. Yes, we are 20 KM away from Munnar (towards Thekkady) and located in chinnakkanal, the most picturesque part of munnar. You will see the real beauty of munnar only when you travel to chinnakanal. I hope you will agree on that point.
Once again, thank you very much for spending your time to write a review and hope we will get a change to serve you better in the future.

Kind Regards,
Holiday Heaven Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Hi, We had a good vacation in Munnar this year.
Some of the good things are listed
1) It is a villa and it is absolute quiet in and around. So people who want to enjoy silence it is a best place to be.
2) Room service is good. Hospitality was excellent.
3) All the required things like TV, wardrobe, dining set, chairs etc are present.
4) Absolute serene beauty in and around the resort.
5) Ideal villas for honeymoon couples.
6) Soups and desserts in the buffet was awesome.

Some of the not so good things are listed
1) I was expecting an elephant but instead found an ant. May be that was my wrong imagination after looking at the photos of the resort. My family members also second that.
2) Website does not five a proper information on the location of the resort. It says Chinnakanal road, but does not say it is on the way to Thekkady and Madurai. It is approx 20 kms away from Munnar. Also not mentioned that resort can be connected from madurai also but instead says only Cochin which is 160 kms. (In fact Madurai is also 160 km from the resort)
3) Rather inexperienced in handling a family which has a kid aged 0-2 years.
4) Breakfast and dinner was a buffet, but each dishes were not named and need to ask everytime what exactly were those dishes and always need to ask if the dishes were veg or non-veg?
5) Sight seeing is not guided properly, they could priorly inform that it takes so and so amount of time usually to visit or complete a particular sight seeing. In our case we wasted around 4-5 hours (with an 18 months baby) in Eravikulam national park just to watch the wild goats or Nilgiri Tahr. The 4-5 hours waiting was not worth it (that too to watch a wild goat!!!)
6) In the villa where I stayed had some issues with the front door and we were not able to lock it and it was not rectified until the end.
7) Not a good place for foodies who would prefer al - a - carte menu order. Very less choice for starters and desserts.
8) Not worth the money as we had visited during the christmas vacations, and they had charged almost 5200 for a villa (I guess 750-1000 more than off season). We did not have a very good entertainment in the evening. Out of my three nights stay same singer performed for all three days (no matter that the singer was singing very well) and on the final day got a chance to see some amateur dancers dancing to the tune of bollywood songs. Was expecting some more entertainment during this vacation special. Because with 2000 more added to it we spent an evening luxuriously in a five star hotel at Coimbatore (on our return).
9) The villas are very small and in case if you have a kid it is a congestion. May be it was built only for honeymoon couples!!! The villa had less space than most of the rooms given in a star hotel.
10) For Airtel customers it is bad news, no network and I think Airtel does not have an agreement with other service providers and hence no cells ringing as long as you stay. In fact this may be a very good news for some. Only Idea, Reliance, BSNL and Vodafone are available.
11) On our first day, as soon as we reached the resort we were not given a villa as the previous customer had not yet vacated. Hence we had to wait for almost an hour. Later it was cleaned and given. With a baby who travelled overnight it was difficult to manage. They do not have some guest room in the reception.
12) The resort is big, but most of the space are unused and not maintained well.

But overall we choose to neglect the above mentioned not so good points as we had come to enjoy the serene beauty of Munnar. Had a good sight seeing. The cab drivers act like a guide and they speak very well about the places in a mixture of broken English and Hindi. In fact they seem to be more comfortable in English rather than Hindi.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sumanthm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayHeavenMunnar, General Manager at Holiday Heaven Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2012

Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for staying with us and writing a very detailed review. We will try our best to incorporate all of your suggestions.

Regarding the point 2 on not so good list, all the information you were asking is already there in our website (holiday heaven munnar dot com under the contact menu). If you were booked using a third-party/travel site, you are probably not aware of this. All our direct email communication will give details about our websites. More importantly, we are always to happy guide/plan our guest’s travel plans.
Regarding the point 4, we realised the issue and it is rectified now.
Regarding the point 6, we admit that was our failure at our end and now we can assure that that issue of fixed now. We will ensure these sorts of issues will not affect our future guests.
Regarding the point 11, please be aware that our check-in time is 12:00 Noon and checkout time is 10:00 AM but you reached our resort at 06:30 AM when our resort is full. We cannot ask our guest to vacate before check-out time, still we informed our other generous group guest about your situation and they were kind enough to vacate one room for you before checkout time so you got the room within next hour

As you mentioned the resort is big, we are expanding to the unused area and we will address the lack of guest room in reception so in future if guest visit us early, they will be able to relax till they get their villas.
Once again, thank you very much for the detailed review and we will incorporate all possible points and hope you will have a pleasurable stay in the future

Kind Regards,
Holiday Heaven Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

we stayed inthis hotel for 3 days and two nights, it was a nice stay, food was too good , there is a badminton court where we played badminton, also security persons arranged campfire for us....we are greatfull for this though it was no where mentioned in the package, only thing is television channels were only south channels, we wanted few good channels. it was raining that day, facility people provided unmbrella and we enjoyed a walk in that rain.

Really good place for couples to visit and enjoy there trip....... All The Best!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarojshivani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayHeavenMunnar, General Manager at Holiday Heaven Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for writing a good review about us. We really appreciate your time and generosity.
Hindi /English/Sports channels are available but sometime the cable TV operator looses the link/clarity in hill station due to bad weather conditions. We are depends on the local cable TV operator who is an aggregator of north/south channels and if something went wrong with the Hindi channels link, he is not quick in responding as there isn’t much viewer for that channels in Munnar.
This is the case of all resorts in munnar but we are exploring private dish and other option to solve this issue forever
Once again, thank you very much for your time and hope we will get a chance to serve you in the future

Kind Regards,
Holiday Heaven Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

This place is the one to be on a Kerala Tour, Good location, serene and calm, away from the daily humdrum, good property, Service is just excellent. The only concern were the rooms, they were tiny. We were a family of four and an extra bed was booked, which happened to be just a thick mattress on the carpetted floor. This did not help, as it was very cold and the dampness of the floor could be felt through the mattress as well.

Room Tip: Stay would be memorable if you are 2 in a room
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwaroopGhatak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayHeavenMunnar, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Heaven Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2011

Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for spending your time to write a review about us. As a small establishment, we are always quite keen to get guest feedback and improve so next customer will not face the same issue.
During your visits in April, you might have noticed some extension work was going on our independent villas; this was to add an extra room to each villa. That work was completed successfully and all renovated villas are open to our guests.
I am sure that you will be surprised on your next visit to us. Each independent villa got two rooms now. In the past we found that our villas are not big enough for family with multiple kids so we add new room without spoiling the aesthetics of holiday heaven.
Hope we will get a chance to serve you in the future. Once again, thank you very much for your time.

Warm Regards,
Holiday Heaven Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

This is a wonderful place with exceptional personal service in an interesting setting.
On first glance, the rather gaudy statues in the court yard might make you think of a miniature golf course, but don't let that stand in your way.
The rooms are a good size, beds are excellent and the staff is more than anxious to please your every wish and whim and deal with any complaint.
John the office manager also arranged for us a marvelous trip by jeep up to the highest tea plantation in the world (maybe) a visit that you should not miss. They really took good care of us to see that we were safe, even walking out one night to the restaurant we were at to make sure we were OK. And of course, they warned us not to go out at night because of the presence of wild elephants. We highly recommend it. The Indian style breakfast was excellent by the way.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 661couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews