We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break in April”
Review of Blue Waves Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Waves Resort
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Malinska
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Nice hotel, friendly personel. Me and my girlfriend stayed there for 2 nights in the end of April.
The only thing that let me a little disapointed was the SPA part. There is a very small internal heated pool and one jacuzzi. The sauna was turned off when we visited the SPA. Also the fitness is composed by 3 bikes and 3 treadmills and one multipurpose fitness machine, so don't expect too much. The restaurant food was ok, but nothing special.
Overall a good experience.
tip:
in our room there were many wifi networks avaliable, be sure to connect to the free one.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Starsplash84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 174 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

I was there just for 3 days like business traveler and I enjoy it a lot. Good service,staff is always smiling and there for you to help . Room spacious and clean good and daily.
Did'nt have time to enjoy the beach that much but at the moment not so many people at all , so very nice to make short walk and enjoy the view that is exception .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ahiley300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The hotel is new and on a great location of the island of Krk with amazing beaches and the sea view. We enjoy in resort only for 3 days but it was very nice. The rooms are very clean and nice. The stuff was very kind and helpfull.
In the restaurant the food was soooo good that we got some extra weight :) I'll recomend this hotel to everyone!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Petarda-shop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Complicated building, but the indoor garage was a plus, especially since we traveled there by motor bike. Cleaning the rooms was a problem. Dust remained untouched for days on the night tables. The shampoo & other complimentary supplies were only replaced after we claimed. The breakfast & dinner were always great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zazuza_BlogVienez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel near malinska is newer and nice. The breakfast included in our package was sufficient. Eggs how you like,pancakes, Breads, yogurt, endless coffee. The room we had was large and had AC. The beds were comfortable enough. The service was a bit off though. . . The cleaning staff did not actually clean the room the first time. Towels were left and beds were tossed together. No new or refilled soaps were left out. When at the pool we heard bottles clanging and noticed a dumpster diver collecting the bottles. Not pretty or a familiar sight for a hotel of this price point. The hotel says on hotels.com that a kinder care option is available. Natalia did a fine job with the paper, crayons and games available to her in the room adjacent to the bar, not what I would call a kinder care situation however. It is nice to have some activity for the children but do not think you can leave to get a massage or to have alone time with your spouse. There is no check in/ out. The area is open access to people at the bar and to the outside. If a child has to use the toilet I am not sure who's taking them as Natalia is alone. I understand that in September we enter the low season but there are still plenty enough guests here to warrant unlocked beach chairs by the ocean. We were all down there on towels, when stacks of chairs stayed locked and tied. .?? On our last day the manager responded to my questions with a plate of fruit and a bottle of wine. Nice gesture but I think with more advance notice I would book at another hotel next time. What would be nice is to just do the basics, clean the rooms properly. Unlock beach chairs. Fill the water jug by the gym daily, advertise the kinder care appropriately... Hotels.com is tony the most accurate listing. We found that booking.com is a better representation

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annabananahenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue_Waves_Resort, Manager at Blue Waves Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Annabananahenry,

Thank you for taking out your valuable time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your recent visit to Blue Waves Resort. All your points have been taken seriously and we have discussed these within our Management Team in order to take immediate action so that this does not occur in the future.

Our Resort is offering animation for children as well as adults during summer period and that information is published online and shared with all our partners. Unfortunately, some of the partners used a term “children club” which implies that we have a children care and that is not only misleading but also hurtful for us – as it can be seen from your experience. We have already contacted all our partners to change that misleading information immediately.

Also, the beach in front of the Resort is, unfortunately, not under our concession and because of that we are not able to provide our guests with beach chairs this year. We strongly believe that for next year, we will have a concession for the beach and we will be able to offer our guests beach chairs and much more.

Once again, thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We always value the comments of our guests to enable us to make improvements to our facilities and the level of customer service we provide.

Best regards,
Sanjin Jovanović, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

For our only 5-day holiday we wanted some reliability, so we choose to stay in this four star resort, in a superior double room with sea view and balcony, for what you need to pay extra, but that was ok for us. After our arrival, the receptionist said, that they have made some upgrade and we will get junior suite with sea view, so we thought: Ok thats nice, lets do it this way. But the junior suite was a horrible place, set on ground floor, with direct access from the resort street, no drapes on bedroom windows and you can saw your own trails in dust on the floor. So we asked for another room, to be correct, the one we booked and saw on the pictures in their own presentation. They showed us another one, on the same floor, with a little terrace, no sea view and on the end of the terrace was a little pool, full of screaming kids. It´s not that we dont like kids, but this was not the thing we looked for right now. We just wanted a nice room, with sea view, where we could spend our time for our not that long holiday. So we decided to find something else and somwhere else. The receptionist said, no problem, just cancel your booking and thats it. But as I already paid 40% I wanted my money back. And that was a real problem for them. After waiting for an hour for the decision of the hotel manager I did not get a cent back. They were nice and friendly and there was no fight, they have also offered a special dinner for us and the room we wanted (maybe! who knows) on the next day, but hello? We spend the whole day working out this mess and we really didnt feel like waiting till tomorrow to see another room what could or could not be the one we wanted. Blue Waves Resort - NEVER MORE! Dont lie to people, dont steal their money for something you cant give. This is a WARNING! Dont go there, there is a possibility, they will lie to you as well.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
7  Thank Samuel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue_Waves_Resort, Manager at Blue Waves Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Samuel J,

I am very sorry that you were not satisfied with a complimentary upgrade to Junior suite which has a nice terrace and direct sea view as our Superior Rooms, and is much bigger (average 36 sq m to average 25 sq m for Superior Rooms). I’m also sorry if you found the children on the pool too loud but please kindly note that this is expected in a family oriented resort like Blue Waves Resort.

I regret if you feel like we haven’t done our best to provide you with good service and accommodation even after we have offered you a several possibilities that can meet and exceed your expectations. The special condition regarding payment was very clearly stated on your booking confirmation and was connected to discounted price that you have reserved.

On behalf of Blue Waves Resort Team I wish you all the best and hope that you will take into consideration all of the efforts done in order to provide you with best possible service.

Best regards,

Sanjin Jovanović, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We just returned from our weekend stay on Krk island. It was too short for this great resort. I already been here few years ago by business and wanted to came back again privately because I liked it a lot. The room was nice, clean and modern style equipped. Having a breakfast on the terrace close to the sea is just priceless. We had breakfast very early in the morning and there was plenty of choice, prepared and served. Excellent stuff will take care of you on everything you asked for.
For sure will come again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Fletcher01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue_Waves_Resort, Manager at Blue Waves Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Fletcher01,

Thank you so much for this glowing review of your most recent stay with us at the Blue Waves Resort. Guest satisfaction is our main goal and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion. Your feedback is much appreciated and has been shared with all our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Blue Waves Resort in the near future.

Best regards,

Sanjin Jovanović, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malinska
7.3 mi away
Valamar Koralj Romantic Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vila Rova
Hotel Vila Rova
#2 of 14 in Malinska
68 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pinia
Hotel Pinia
#1 of 14 in Malinska
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Malin
Hotel Malin
#4 of 14 in Malinska
212 reviews
8.6 mi away
Gospoja Hotel Vinotel
Gospoja Hotel Vinotel
#1 of 1 in Vrbnik
37 reviews
7.2 mi away
Drazica Hotel
Drazica Hotel
#4 of 10 in Krk
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waves Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waves Resort

Address: Rova 33, Malinska 51511, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Kvarner Bay Islands > Krk Island > Malinska
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Malinska
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Malinska
Price Range: $108 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Waves Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Waves Resort is a new high quality tourist resort built in 2009 near an attractive beach, not far from Malinska on the Island of Krk. Unique architecture using modern clean lines and traditional Mediterranean style represents a unique blend of modern design and tradition. Resort has 97 modern rooms, of which 46 are double rooms and 51 family rooms. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, LCD TV, minibar, safe, bathroom with bath or shower, hair dryer, telephone. Additionally, superior rooms have a balcony and a sofa, while the family rooms for 4-6 people have an extra bedroom and living room. The perfect location of the two floor restaurant next to the sea, beside quality cuisine, offers a beautiful view. Taste a variety of local and international specialties. Possibility of overnight stay with breakfast and half board. At your disposal there are three freshwater pools, two of them are outdoor pools and one is an indoor pool. For the youngest there is also a separated children's pool with a children's playground. Parasols and sun loungers by the pools are available to guests. You can relax in one of three hotel bars: Beach bar next to the beach, Pool bar next to the pool and Lobby bar near the reception. Health & Relax Zone offers the indoor pool, fitness room, sauna, whirlpool and massage. Near the hotel there is a parking lot and underground garage for about 25 cars. Reception is open 24 hours a day, money exchange, and internet corner. Hotel offers a conference room for 80 people. Mini club for children aged 4-12 years, and live music for adults in the summer months. A beautiful pebble beach is located directly in front of the hotel. It is connected by a 2 km long promenade along the sea with the center of Malinska. SPORT. Nearby there are hiking and biking trails. Water sports are located ca. 1 km, as well as bicycle rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Waves Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waves Hotel Malinska
Blue Waves Resort Malinska, Krk Island, Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing