We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison Les Remparts
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gensac
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet”
Reviewed October 6, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in September. We arrived on Sunday afternoon and at first we were surprised how small and quiet the town (Gensac) is. The owners gave us some tips where we could scrounge up some food (which is tough to do on Sunday night in rural France). They do offer Dinner at the hotel restaurant but we felt it was a little pricey. We ended up eating a picnic dinner in front of the hotel (there are tables and chairs set up) with great views of the valley below. The area is beautiful and we ended up just driving around getting lost. St. Emilion is a 15 minute drive away. The rooms were clean and relatively large as is the bathroom. This is a small family run place and the owners are real nice and speak English (since they're uhh, English).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azim31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

We spent one night at Les Remparts but would have stayed longer had they not been fully booked on subsequent nights. The hotel spans two separate buildings, with the "restaurant" building enjoying the best of the views over the valley. We didn't see this as a problem as we don't visit France just to sit in our room and look out at the view!

The owners were warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The dining experience was the highlight of our stay, with great service underpinning excellent cuisine.

This is somewhere we'd definitely visit again, but next time we'll book ahead a bit earlier as it's clearly a popular place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpaceboyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2009

This hotel is run by English people (this part of France seems to be English to all intents and purposes), but despite that it is well run, comfirtable, has a good table and is decent vfm. It is on the edge of a small town, really a village with afew shops and a couple of cafes, in a couple of old buildings opposite the church. Probably its best feature is the view from one of the terraces over a largely uncultivated green valley.
The food is very enjoyable and can usually be taken on the terrace; if not, the view from the upstairs dining room is as good,especially when the two large French windows are open. Breakfast is taken in the building where the bedrooms are and is also good; fresh crossants, brioche, toast, yog, fruit, jams, honey, oj, coffee, tea, choc.
The rooms are entirely adequate, if small and simple. They don't enjoy the view, but some overlook the church.
There is a small pool.
The proprietors and staff are charming and helpful. What appears to be asmall hairy horse, but turns out to be a Newfoundland called Harry lives in the hotel and potters about looking hot and friendly.
There's not much going on in the village, which is in the middle of vineyards. If you need to do something, there are plenty of vineyards to visit and several towns, including Bordeaux, within easy reach. This place is best for sitting around reading and taking in the view. It's dog friendly.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theblackhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We did not stay at the hotel as we had booked a gite in a near by village, but had found this restaurant / hotel through the internet.
The restaurant is set overlooking great views on the valley below with tables set out to enjoy the view while having a pre-dinner drink. The restaurant is on the first floor with tables that give a good view out. There was a good choice of dishes for each course and the food we chose was excellent. The wine list was varied with a choice of local and country wide wines. We tried the Les Hauts de Riquets 2006 (la Muguette) from a local vineyard organically run just 20 minutes away. We enjoyed it so much that we went to the vineyard and bought several cases along with some of thier other wines especially the white which was recommended by Steve Parker (Chef and Owner).
The service was excellent and the whole experience was a delight, to top off the meal we had our coffee outside watching the sun set over the valley. We would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant to family and friends and when we go back, we will be making a reservation to eat here again

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitty2261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2008

The hotel is in a fantastic position overlooking the valley.
Value for money, we stayed in a much nicer hotel in Bordeaux with far better room facilities and choice of breakfast for less money.
We thought that the room was small and that the bathroom fittings were of a poor standard(plastic blue loo roll holders and bright pink loo roll!) The loo seat was also made out of a flimsy plastic. The shower head had a crack in it so the water shot over the door when you put the shower on and there was a lot of black mold surrounding the shower door.There was no hairdryer, the towels had holes in them and the only mirror was in the bathroom. The room also had a dangerous little step down , which had been blended into the carpet colour which you could quite easily trip up on. ( as we did on more than one occassion).
On the plus side the co-ordination of the curtains and bedspread was pleasant.
We also thought that the notice about informing them the night before if you were not going to have breakfast, otherwise you would be charged for it, was a little harsh. The breakfast was only bread, croissant, brioche, jam, yoghurt (shops own brand) and a piece of fruit. Orange juice was offered along with tea or coffee. So there was nothing to spoil or over order if a guest didn't take breakfast. The bread was also toasted, you were not asked if you wanted it that way just taken as given. The breakfast area was pleasant but I'm not sure if guests want to see the owner doing the ironing in a little room aside from the breakfast room or to have them carry the washing through the breakfast area.
The front of the hotel facing towards the valley looked run down and when we arrived there we did wonder if we had done the right thing reserving there. The reception area was not welcoming and having your own living quarters on view to guest as they may have sat outside the hotel is a bit off putting. When we went to pay the bill a young lady was on the reception desk cold calling about the launch of a new product the owners were offering. (They also supply British style sausages into several outlets.) , we had to wait until someone else came deal with us. It was a pity about the small things, (a write up in the room about the family , who they were and why they came to France had spelling mistakes and the french translation left a lot to be desired on the grammar front.(the young lady making the marketing calls was french so this could have easily been prevented.) Maybe theses things are not important to many people but having travelled all over the world, I firmly believe that it is the small attentionto detail that turns a good hotel into a great one. You have the location, the food in the restaurant is good,the small things could make you so much better.

  • Liked — Nothing really,
  • Disliked — the standard of the room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hollow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2008

Expect a very warm welcome from Mrs. Parker and astonishingly fine food from Mr. Parker who, as he puts it, “works in the kitchen.” Les Remparts is a happy place in an interesting pretty village perched on a ridge overlooking the Entre-Deux-Mers. There are good views from the dining room and from the rooms which, though small, are spotless and well-appointed. We stayed 3 nights on half-pension and regret only that we could not have stayed longer. To sum up; excellent dining, pleasant accomodations, lovely environment, friendly ambience, and a great value.

  • Liked — Friendliness of the owners
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerryMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2007

When the hotel owner phones you within 2 hours of you making your online booking, just to confirm your room & details, then you know this is going to be a special experience. And Les Remparts did not disappoint.
A wonderful old converted presbytery, with its own little tower, and superb views over the valley. Just 7 bedrooms, all quite simple, a small wardrobe but adequate, with a shower in the bathroom.
However its the food which is outstanding. On our first night we splashed out on the most expensive 4 course set menu...30 euros (!!!), and it was superb. Steve, the owner cooks all the food himself, and presents it beautifully. There were about 20 of us in the upstairs dining room (in summer the evening views would be fabulous) and Veronica (Steve's wife) told us they limit numbers there to a maximum of 28 to ensure that all diners have a memorable experience. With an amuse bouche, then 4 courses to follow (including venison) and a lemon tart with lemon & basil ice cream, we agreed it was one of our best-ever meals out!
Breakfast is served downstairs with home-made jams, a selection of fresh breads, toasted baguettes, croissant, a piece of fruit + a yoghurt, and fresh coffee - the perfect start to any day.
As it was November we didn't use the small outdoor swimming pool, which Veronica showed us, and which only opened this year, but we will when we return next summer, I'm sure.
Don't miss this little gem, if you are visiting this region.

  • Liked — Friendly owners & great food
  • Disliked — Bedroom facilities very simple
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FitnFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gensac
1.0 mi away
Chateau de Sanse
Chateau de Sanse
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Radegonde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel l'Epicurial
Hotel l'Epicurial
#1 of 1 in Saint-Pey-de-Castets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clos des Saveurs
Clos des Saveurs
#1 of 1 in Gensac
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Les Remparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Les Remparts

Property: Maison Les Remparts
Address: 16 rue du Chateau | Gensac, 33890 Gensac, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Gensac
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gensac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Maison Les Remparts 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the wine growing area of Bordeaux, Les Remparts is a small intimate family-run hotel renowned for its welcome and fine restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Maison Les Remparts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Remparts Gensac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing