We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maison Les Remparts
Nearby Hotels
Hotel l'Epicurial(Saint-Pey-de-Castets)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auberge de la Commanderie(Saint-Emilion)(Great Value!)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chateau de Sanse(Sainte-Radegonde)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel l'Escapade(Port Sainte Foy et Ponchapt)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Cafe De La Gare(Sainte Foy-la-Grande)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveler rating
13
13
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
13
2
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 29 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We did not stay at the hotel as we had booked a gite in a near by village, but had found this restaurant / hotel through the internet.
The restaurant is set overlooking great views on the valley below with tables set out to enjoy the view while having a pre-dinner drink. The restaurant is on the first floor with tables that give a good view out. There was a good choice of dishes for each course and the food we chose was excellent. The wine list was varied with a choice of local and country wide wines. We tried the Les Hauts de Riquets 2006 (la Muguette) from a local vineyard organically run just 20 minutes away. We enjoyed it so much that we went to the vineyard and bought several cases along with some of thier other wines especially the white which was recommended by Steve Parker (Chef and Owner).
The service was excellent and the whole experience was a delight, to top off the meal we had our coffee outside watching the sun set over the valley. We would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant to family and friends and when we go back, we will be making a reservation to eat here again

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kitty2261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2008

The hotel is in a fantastic position overlooking the valley.
Value for money, we stayed in a much nicer hotel in Bordeaux with far better room facilities and choice of breakfast for less money.
We thought that the room was small and that the bathroom fittings were of a poor standard(plastic blue loo roll holders and bright pink loo roll!) The loo seat was also made out of a flimsy plastic. The shower head had a crack in it so the water shot over the door when you put the shower on and there was a lot of black mold surrounding the shower door.There was no hairdryer, the towels had holes in them and the only mirror was in the bathroom. The room also had a dangerous little step down , which had been blended into the carpet colour which you could quite easily trip up on. ( as we did on more than one occassion).
On the plus side the co-ordination of the curtains and bedspread was pleasant.
We also thought that the notice about informing them the night before if you were not going to have breakfast, otherwise you would be charged for it, was a little harsh. The breakfast was only bread, croissant, brioche, jam, yoghurt (shops own brand) and a piece of fruit. Orange juice was offered along with tea or coffee. So there was nothing to spoil or over order if a guest didn't take breakfast. The bread was also toasted, you were not asked if you wanted it that way just taken as given. The breakfast area was pleasant but I'm not sure if guests want to see the owner doing the ironing in a little room aside from the breakfast room or to have them carry the washing through the breakfast area.
The front of the hotel facing towards the valley looked run down and when we arrived there we did wonder if we had done the right thing reserving there. The reception area was not welcoming and having your own living quarters on view to guest as they may have sat outside the hotel is a bit off putting. When we went to pay the bill a young lady was on the reception desk cold calling about the launch of a new product the owners were offering. (They also supply British style sausages into several outlets.) , we had to wait until someone else came deal with us. It was a pity about the small things, (a write up in the room about the family , who they were and why they came to France had spelling mistakes and the french translation left a lot to be desired on the grammar front.(the young lady making the marketing calls was french so this could have easily been prevented.) Maybe theses things are not important to many people but having travelled all over the world, I firmly believe that it is the small attentionto detail that turns a good hotel into a great one. You have the location, the food in the restaurant is good,the small things could make you so much better.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hollow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2008

Expect a very warm welcome from Mrs. Parker and astonishingly fine food from Mr. Parker who, as he puts it, “works in the kitchen.” Les Remparts is a happy place in an interesting pretty village perched on a ridge overlooking the Entre-Deux-Mers. There are good views from the dining room and from the rooms which, though small, are spotless and well-appointed. We stayed 3 nights on half-pension and regret only that we could not have stayed longer. To sum up; excellent dining, pleasant accomodations, lovely environment, friendly ambience, and a great value.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GerryMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2007

When the hotel owner phones you within 2 hours of you making your online booking, just to confirm your room & details, then you know this is going to be a special experience. And Les Remparts did not disappoint.
A wonderful old converted presbytery, with its own little tower, and superb views over the valley. Just 7 bedrooms, all quite simple, a small wardrobe but adequate, with a shower in the bathroom.
However its the food which is outstanding. On our first night we splashed out on the most expensive 4 course set menu...30 euros (!!!), and it was superb. Steve, the owner cooks all the food himself, and presents it beautifully. There were about 20 of us in the upstairs dining room (in summer the evening views would be fabulous) and Veronica (Steve's wife) told us they limit numbers there to a maximum of 28 to ensure that all diners have a memorable experience. With an amuse bouche, then 4 courses to follow (including venison) and a lemon tart with lemon & basil ice cream, we agreed it was one of our best-ever meals out!
Breakfast is served downstairs with home-made jams, a selection of fresh breads, toasted baguettes, croissant, a piece of fruit + a yoghurt, and fresh coffee - the perfect start to any day.
As it was November we didn't use the small outdoor swimming pool, which Veronica showed us, and which only opened this year, but we will when we return next summer, I'm sure.
Don't miss this little gem, if you are visiting this region.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FitnFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2006

Returned this morning from 2 nights at Les Remparts. Steve and Veronica the owners were great, we felt very relaxed and the small touches (such as posting my husbands rugby team match review under the bedroom door) made us feel very welcome.
The best part of our stay was undoubtably the meals in the restaurant which were a real gastronomique treat in a wonderful setting overlooking the valley. We have travelled quite extensively all over the world and eaten in some good restaurants but the quality achieved by Steve in this restaurant knocks spots off all of them.
We would like to keep this place a secret in case it gets too popular but in our opinion it deserves to have a top review.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews