We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chulmleigh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bealey Court Holiday Cottages
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to Bealy Court Cottages. Never fails to impress! The kids loved the swimming pool which is heated and provides endless hours of fun.
The log burners in each cottage really do ensure that country cottage feeling, logs can be purchased from the owner for a very reasonable price.
The weather was not particularly good for our stay but the kids still got entertained by the pool table and the air hockey on site. Being able to take the family dog was also really pleasant and lots of long country walks was enjoyed by the whole family.
We found the pool to be chlorinated to the right level for a pool of that size used by all visitors to Bealy.
The barn where the logs were kept was secured with a padlock which shows that the management have a close eye on health and safety. Having previously visited, i would say its common sense to not let your children go exploring around the countryside and of the main site.
Bealy is a must if you want to get away and relax away from annoying emails, and PPI calls to your mobile. There is little signal on various networks but that's the whole point of visiting the country isn't it?
The cottages are clean and presentable and everything you will need is there so you don't have to overload the car. Just turn up with your food and whatever luxuries you personally require and enjoy.

Room Tip: Browse the cottages online and take your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 19 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

Arriving at Bealy is exciting not only because of the location. But because of the accommodation. The cottages are everything you expect and more. It's location is secluded but not to far from villages around you. Not to far from North Devons amazing coast.

The facilities at Bealy make it the perfect retreat if peace & relaxation is what you want.
No Internet, no reception. Was very much needed and highly enjoyable.

There is lots of historic places to visit. Lots of Tourist hotspots, villages & towns around to make your holiday experiance enjoyable for the whole family.

The heated pool makes for the perfect morning start. Or a great way to end the day!

Driving around there are some amazing sights we spent 2 hours walking along the river walks throwing stones the kids loved it! There are many walking trails which offer amazing views & fun & enjoyment for the whole family!


Would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissyk210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The facilities at Bealy Court are great for families. Pool, Snooker, Tennis and a Swimming Pool. The pool area was really warm and the pool temperature was ok - although the chlorine level was so strong that an immediate shower afterwards was necessary

The problem we had was that we visited this Easter (2013) and it was really cold. The wall electric heaters had little effect and although we were supplied with free wood after a few days, the house remained bitterly cold.

Some windows did not close properly and it took a while to track down the owner to solve the problem. When we did, we were initially told that Bealy Court was 'a self catering holiday' and that was why we had got no reply from the owner. All we were trying to do was get help with a draught !!

The location is beautiful and remote - right on the edge of the Moors. But it is a good 20 minute drive to get to a decent sized road ( one that doesn't need passing places) and then a good 90 minutes to the North or South Devon Coast

Go in the summer and when you really don't need to be in contact - obviously no wireless and very poor mobile signal.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hammmondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed at Bealy with my partner and dog in Roundhouse cottage for a week away from the grind. The cottage was delightful and homely with a great view over to Exmoor. It had a lovely feel to it, the Log fire was used every day (I do like a fire - brings out the Ray Mears in me). It was perfectly warm, clean and the Fizz and chocolates on arrival was a lovely touch.

The pool was always very warm and a good size There is a full sized Snooker table, Pool table and Air Hockey for those that like such things, DVD's Videos and Books abound. The courtyard has a nice feel to it, and it always feels private, sheltered and safe.

The grounds are fairly large and do take Wellies, especially if walking down past the fishing lakes. I don't fish, but a chap who was staying said it has good fishing and he goes been going for 7 years. It is very rural, which means peace, tranquility and horses. At night, if clear, it has the most stunning skies as there is simply no light pollution. The dark is very dark!

We visited the coast a lot which at that time of year was easily accessible, and even went to Stourhead National Trust House. From Bealy we could access a huge number of locations and places to visit. As a previous reviewer said the roads are quiet so stress free driving for me. Lots of tractors but they are a fairly polite lot don there.

A pub worth noting is the Lamb in Sandford, good food and nice staff and also allowed dogs.

It was perfect getaway and being able to take the dog was a boon. We will be heading back in the spring for less travel and more relaxing and fire making.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miniross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Maybe it was the end of the season but our cottage in Bealey Court was looking tired. The owners clearly have a target market in mind but if they want them to return they will have to keep things up to scratch. A few lights were out (one over the cooker), the hob had a ring that didn't work, and in the main bedroom downstairs there was a damp smell in the wardrobe. It appeared that there may have been an accident with the dishwasher at some point and the ceiling had some brown marks to show this.
The kitchen had some interesting gadgets (who would have guessed we'd find a blender!) but lacked some of the basic utensils which are standard in either the National Trust or Landmark trust properties.
If this all sounds like like Bealey Court was a disappointing visit it was not - there were plenty of things on the plus side - the pool, the snooker table, the quiet atmosphere, the beautiful scenery all attested to by previous reviewers were all still there and make it a pleasant place to stay.
Oh and I nearly forgot the wood burning stove, lovely and just the thing for budding pyromaniacs. A word of warning don't let your children fetch wood from the wood shed - there are two large axes on display - H&S risk ? Possibly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EgonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I booked this as I wanted to holiday in England but wanted the option of something to entertain the children if the weather was poor. As it turned out, the weather was mostly great. Possibly the title of my review suggests what I was craving from the holiday and this turned out to be the case. I think you could have any kind of holiday you wish at Bealy Court though, from being highly active on site if you wish to chilled out lounging about in the cottage or outdoors to exploring the stunning North Devon coast and Exmoor. We did a bit of all of those things! We arrived via South Devon, taking in Dartmoor on the way. Bealy Court is off the beaten track, has 2 fishing lakes, a fabulous indoor heated pool, magnificent views over the countryside, a games room with lots of activities like snooker, pool and air hockey plus books, magazines and DVDs to borrow. We stayed in Lime Tree Cottage and it's tastefully decorated and cosy. I think all the cottages are similar, apart from size/occupancy and each has a relatively private little area, screened off with planting etc to sit in with own garden furniture. Like a previous reviewer, we had a Tesco delivery (thanks for the tip) so we didn't have to spend any of the holiday shopping for food, other than having almost daily Devon cream teas and we also did an Amazon delivery for books and DVDs to enjoy for the week. The cottage was well equipped and the owner available if anything was needed. She was not intrusive, just super helpful and friendly. Generous approach to rentals - no deposit and no charge for breakages, just let them know. We had our 2 boys with us aged 15 & 9 years old. "The best holiday I ever had" said the oldest boy who absolutely made the most of all the onsite activities when his younger brother was unwell. North Devon is stunning - I think - most of the west country is but I was so impressed with the wonderful rural areas, the dramatic coast and best of all, roads very quiet, even in August. We drove further along the coast into Cornwall one day and everywhere was mobbed with people and traffic. Also lovely but just too busy for my liking. All in all, we had a lovely, family holiday

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mothlikestars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The perfect get away. Scenic views that are not only inspiring but perfect for a relaxing time away. You can be as busy or as lazy as you like. There is plenty to do if you want to, if not just relax and enjoy the fantastic scenery that surrounds you. Even the walk to the heated indoor pool is through a tranquil garden.
The log fires in each cottage really make the place as cozy as can be whilst you relax away from life's hustle and bustle.
The fact that you can leave your home and go to a cottage that quickly becomes your 2nd home is a really pleasant feeling. Everything you could possibly need is to hand in each cottage. Magazines, games, first aid kit, and even a torch under the sink.
Simply pack some food on the way and you are set. Bealey Court really is somewhere you will want to go back to.
Management have gone out of their way to ensure that your time in your cottage is as stress free as it could possibly be.

Room Tip: All cottages are amazing. Everything you need is in every cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chulmleigh hotels
0.0 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Old Bakehouse
The Old Bakehouse
#2 of 4 in Chulmleigh
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 4 in Chulmleigh
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bealey Court Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bealey Court Holiday Cottages

Address: Chulmleigh EX18 7EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Chulmleigh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Chulmleigh
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing