We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One Night Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chulmleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Radlett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“One Night Stay”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We were travelling to Ashbury Golf Hotel, and stayed here on the Saturday night following a long drive up from London. The Rooms are very pleasant, quaint! is a good way of putting it. Ours had a four poster bed but was a much more expensive room. 7 of us stayed so we had 3 rooms. Ours was a Long walk down a few corridors, No Lifts. We were really looking forward to our nights stay and dinner. When we arrived we were told they were not opening the restaurant that evening they were serving Dinner in the bar area, this should have been explained on booking as we did not want to have a BAR experience! we wanted to sit down in the restaurant. The menu sounded amazing and prices equally amazing. My Starter and Main Course, scallops and steak came to £42! but I am afraid the meals definitely did not live up to this price tag. Large Bill and very disappointed. Not a great choice on the wine list so ended up buying expensive bottles of wine as well. Breakfast was great (in the dining room). It was cooked to order, which was brilliant and great choice. Bathroom in Room was lovely, big bath. Staff were very pleasant, and service at all times was excellent, but sorry wont be going back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria0663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are sorry to learn we did not fully live up to expectation. We generally serve evening meals in our bar as the atmosphere is preferred by most. Thank you for your kind comments with reference to staff; we have ensured these have been passed on to those who deserve the credit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    124
    37
    7
    5
See reviews for
74
266
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gower, Wales
Level Contributor
68 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed here for one night to celebrate our friends 50th Anniversary Wedding. The food for the party in the evening was excellent (carvery), and staff were very attentive.
The following morning at breakfast was not so good. Service was very poor, food cold, coffee cold, buffet table half empty,so all in all not good considering we paid £130 just for bed & breakfast!
Rooms were comfortable, bathroom very small and could do with a make over.
Staff were very nice and helpful.
Overall a nice hotel, but not worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lighthouse2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your review. It's always nice to meet the friends and family of our local guests. We are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves and have taken your comments with reference to breakfast on board for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I cannot praise this hotel more highly! I was returning after 40 years to revisit this hotel which my grandfather used to own. Obviously it has been modernised but the feel was the same. Outstanding staff who went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The food was excellent, the rooms were spotless and comfortable and the cider was good! We had come to fish as well and unfortunately the river was slightly murky due to the rain but I cant blame the hotel for our lack of skill at fishing and I am sure in a couple of days the river would have cleared. They also have a marvellous fishing guide called Pete who was so helpful in trying to help us on our fishing way.
I will certainly not be leaving it another 40 years before I return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billichang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
It was lovely having you back. Thank you again for the bits for our photo archive; some amazing memories of the hotel in days gone by. We will certainly be putting them up for others to see. Let's hope we see you again very soon, and fingers crossed for some better fishing conditions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit in Surrey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Everything about this hotel is great. We last stayed here in 2008 when the present owners had been in place for about a year. I organised a family gathering for 50 people and we were very well looked after.
Five years later, the hotel has only improved. Our room, the honeymooners, now boasts an enormous canopied bed, it has more than enough storage space and is large. The bathroom is superb with separate tub and excellent shower, twin handbasins and very good toiletries. Bathrobes, bath sheets and slippers are all provided. It was spotlessly clean and there are plenty of power points. Wi-fi is unlimited and free.
We dined in both evenings on a dinner b & b basis and the cuisine was first rate. My scallops were very good and fillet steak one of the best I have had the pleasure of consuming, tender and with a lovely flavour. The house Merlot was good and reasonable value. Breakfast was also good.
The attention to detail throughout the hotel is excellent and Tara and Nick are very friendly, helpful hosts. The only thing missing, that I can think of, was a room safe, but it is probably unnecessary.
The Fox and Hounds deserves 5 stars.

Room Tip: A superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mokey4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
I am so pleased that we were able to accommodate your every need and that you enjoyed yourselves so. I do hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Have Just come back after a few days break at this lovely hotel. We Took our dog , lovely walks, excellent food , staff could not have been more helpful. Will certainly return again . Can highly recommend this lovely peaceful hotel. The room was spotless and our little dog made very welcome . The barman gave her a doggy treat . Came away feeling refreshed. Had a treatment at the hotel , back and neck massage . Fab

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
It's always great to hear that everyone (including four legged friends) are made to feel welcome. We are so pleased you all enjoyed yourselves and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
366 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We booked this wonderful and unusual room/house (?!) for a special anniversary.

As you walk up and can see it in the trees it is very impressive and the lit up pathway at night looks lovely.

A very warm welcome and supplies left (milk,bread,jam,oil etc.)

We were absolutely delighted with it. Wonderfully decorated throughout. The bed was the most comfortable I have slept in for a while and I slept like a log. It also stayed warm which is something I was nervous about in March in UK!

Full of lovely touches like the wood burner, heater on the balcony, and spotlights around the bath.

My only small negative is that the sofa in the living room is not very comfortable for two people. Although, reading about how it was built it covers an awkward branch so there's not much that can be done about it! Perhaps bean bags?

I cannot fault this wonderful hideaway - absolutely perfect for a special occasion or just a relaxing break.

To add, correspondence prior to arrival was excellent.

Room Tip: Treehouse worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CSP83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarakell, General Manager at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you we are delighted with the feedback for Treetops and funnily enough our bespoke handmade cowhide giant beanbag arrives today (after 10 weeks wait!) so we will have some more comfy seating for future guests. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

It's a simple review this one... a warm welcome on arrival, a nice warm room (often not the case in hotels) which was clean and nicely furnished but with paintwork in need of refreshing (mildewed window sills). Food on both nights was excellent, they have fine people both preparing the food and serving it, nice ambience in the restaurant, both nights thoroughly enjoyable. Being halfway between Exeter and Barnstaple it makes both north and south coasts of Devon easily reachable. On the north coast Porlock Weir and Lynmouth are a must as are the two private toll roads between them that hug the coast, a must for a car tour. Plenty of car park space near the hotel entrance... It's a more modern hotel than many but they've achieved a character within it which is very warm and welcoming, we'll go again. PS: the hotel dog is gorgeous I'd have happily taken him and have it put as an extra on the bill....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 598chrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words and you are quite right about the windows - in fact our painter is here all this week (the first quiet week we have had this year) and is remedying that very fault. We hope you are able to return to us very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chulmleigh
14.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
14.9 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
5.5 mi away
Highbullen Hotel
Highbullen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chittlehamholt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
21.1 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox and Hounds Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox and Hounds Country Hotel

Property: Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
Address: Eggesford, Chulmleigh EX18 7JZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Chulmleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chulmleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fox and Hounds Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the stunning Taw valley bordering the River Taw the hotel enjoys a beautiful location in the peaceful unspoiled Devon countryside. Great walks and an ideal location from which to explore a much loved area. We offer excellent quality food, comfortable accommodation and public areas with a Proper Devonshire welcome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Fox and Hounds Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing