We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fox and Hounds Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chulmleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We took advantage of Travelzoo.com with their excellent offer of a short break at this superb hotel.

The staff were very efficient, professional and welcoming.

Our room was lovely and warm, spotlessly clean with super views over the garden.

Our dinner was delicious, the restaurant and bar area were relaxing and comfortable.

Breakfast was another culinary delight.

All in all an we had an exceptional, relaxing and happy two day break. Will be certain to do it again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review. We are all so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay here and we definitely look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    121
    35
    7
    3
See reviews for
73
255
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here recently for one night visiting the local area.

Overall impression of the Fox and Hounds was a very positive one. All the staff we met were very pleasant and the service was excellent. I can only speak for my room but that was really very nice for what we paid (part from some bizzare circular shower curtain that stuck to you!) and very comfortable with a good nights sleep.

For me the best bit was the bar area and just relaxing with a good real ale by the fire in a comfy chair then a lovely 3 course dinner. It's the sort of thing you expect from a real country inn but all too often you get let down. All the food we had (party of 9) was really good. I had the West Country Pork and it was beautfully cooked and full of flavour. The cheese board was also top notch.

So all in all a brief but very nice stay - one to remember when next in that neck of the woods.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BazWestYorkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Such a lovely review, thanks! Great to hear the food was up to scratch and you enjoyed some proper ale by the fire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We'd booked a week away in South Cornwall and wanted somewhere relaxing to stay on the journey down. The Travel Zoo offer sounded great, but we only found it two days before we wanted to stay. Very short notice to book a room for two nights! However, the staff at the Fox and Hounds were lovely and were able to fit us in as long as we didn't mind changing rooms for the second night. No problem!

Our room on the first night had a very comfortable four poster bed and on the second night we moved to a cosy room. However, as another room became available, we were moved to that instead. We did see the cosy room, and were happy with that one too, but we were very pleased with the one we moved to. The food was tasty in the evening and the breakfasts were perfect to get set for the day. Lovely Full Devonshire breakfast!

Altogether a very relaxing stay and a brilliant start to our holiday. Thanks to all of the friendly staff for being ever so helpful.

Room Tip: Room 1 had a lovely Four Poster. If you have a room over looking the back, the views are beautiful a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samcwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We always do what we can to ensure we allocate the best room to suit people's accommodation needs. We hope you enjoyed yourselves in Cornwall and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had a wonderful stay the room was excellent and so comfortable, our dog enjoyed the patio attached to room 19, the food was out of this world, a good selection of wines, the staff where very attentive and couldn't do enough for you. Especially the wonderful welcome we always received from Micheal behind the bar who was great at remembering your tipple before dinner. We are looking forward to a return stay very soon.

Room Tip: If you take your dog request room 19 as it has a private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sandra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
It's great to hear you are coming back! We are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves, and celebrated your wedding anniversary with us. Looking forward to welcoming you all back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We have just come back from a perfect overnight stay. The room was spacious and had a proper bathroom not a pokey cupboard. Our room overlooked the garden and although past its best at this time of year was still delightful. The food was superb and all beautifully presented and cooked.
The staff were all very friendly and chatty and nothing seemed to be any trouble at all. We were impressed that you weren't being ripped off for a bottle of wine. We had the house rose and this was excellent. Breakfast was really good and all freshly cooked and was worth waiting for. All in all it was an excellent stay and we would hope to return again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am delighted you enjoyed yourselves so much, and have passed on your kind words to all the staff members here. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We have just come aback from a couple of days here on their b&b plus dinner deal. The food was absolutely perfect rather special in fact. The staff remembered what your evening tipple was from the night before and also that I needed hot water for my herbal tea at breakfast time. I like staff remembering the little details it adds to the whole experience for us. We had our dog with us and he was made to feel very welcome. The bedroom did not smell doggy and was very comfortable. All in all a relaxing stay

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
It's great you enjoyed your stay, and I am pleased you enjoyed a great dining experience too. As you mention, despite being dog friendly we strive to ensure those guests without dogs enjoy their stay as much ensuring we leave minimal traces of their visits in our dog friendly bedrooms. We do hope to be able to welcome you all back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed there for a couple of nights half term October 2013. There later than expected due to M5 traffic. Staff always smiling and welcoming, literally went out of there way to do anything for you. Front of house Simon always on tbe ball and had everything organized to a tee. High standards but down to earth too with all guests. Food truly superb too. Never thought about eating elsewhere. Menu very varied, spoilt for choice and hearty servings for fine cuisine. Definitely stay there again and thank you for a lovely relaxing few days.

Room Tip: All would seem good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark241167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
I am so happy to hear you enjoyed yourself. And I will ensure Simon, all the staff and the kitchen get credit where it's due. We strive to achieve a relaxing, hassle free environment and it's great to learn that people indeed get this!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chulmleigh
14.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
14.8 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
21.1 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Highbullen Hotel
Highbullen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chittlehamholt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
17.3 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
24.7 mi away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox and Hounds Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox and Hounds Country Hotel

Property: Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
Address: Eggesford, Chulmleigh EX18 7JZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Chulmleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chulmleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fox and Hounds Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the stunning Taw valley bordering the River Taw the hotel enjoys a beautiful location in the peaceful unspoiled Devon countryside. Great walks and an ideal location from which to explore a much loved area. We offer excellent quality food, comfortable accommodation and public areas with a Proper Devonshire welcome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Fox and Hounds Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing