We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb relaxation retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fox and Hounds Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chulmleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb relaxation retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We took advantage of a KGB Deal for a three night stay in October. It was not an area we had been to before and the hotel itself was also a new experience. The place, and the staff made you feel completely at home. From reception, bar and cleaning personnel. It was so relaxing and even the guests were chatting with each other. The fact that you could take dogs made it great for getting to know your fellow travellers. There was a lady travelling with her son and it seemed they got to know everyone and they, as we did, felt extremely comfortable. There were a few families there too and you could tell each generation was quite at home. We had dinner the first night which was superb and their beef and the ham sandwiches were wonderful for lunch. We took advantage of the nice seating areas in the bar for reading our books etc. The train station is no more than a 5 minute walk which will take you to Barnstaple one way and as far as Exeter the other. We took advantage if this and went to Barnstaple and the scenery was lovely on-route. There are several local pubs to choose from too, one evening we went to The Red Lion in Chulmleigh which was very good. Our room was a very good size, as was the lovely modern bathroom. If you want a quiet, relaxing and friendly hotel, with superb food and walks then this hotel is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Would suggest all rooms were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Your comments are very much appreciated thank you so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    121
    35
    7
    3
See reviews for
73
255
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

I and a colleague only stayed one night at this excellent accommodation but can not speak highly enough of it. Very clean, lots of character and bags of tradition. Food and bar first class, most of all the staff were a joy and always on hand to provide help and service.

Very well done and thank you. If you are in the area this hotel is a must


Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank boltonfamilyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
You are so very kind - thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Recently returned from another trip to Devon and a perfect stay at the Fox and Hounds. The whole team at the Fox and Hounds are very helpful and nothing seems too much trouble. Very comfortable surroundings in the heart of the Devon countryside Great food, great hotel and a great team.

We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June2011022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
We are pleased you enjoyed your trip to us. Hopefully see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Can honestly say the Fox & Hounds is a delightful hotel, great people in comfortable surroundings. Probably 3rd visit - already booked again for 2013. If you are into fishing & like to ride & play golf it couldn't be more conveniently located!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CookEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you so very much - it is wonderful to see you each summer and hope 2013 is drier!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights on a voucher deal and were exceptionally happy from start to finish. Beautiful location, gorgeous grounds, noticably helpful and seemingly genuinely friendly staff and the evening food we ordered was some of the best we've found. Definitely not your bog standard pub grub!
Our room was clean, comfortable and had beautiful views. Would definitely stay again and would recommend anyone else to do so. Top tips of places to visit: Brainton, Croyde and Woolacombe.Bit further than Bideford and Instow but so worth it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gtewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words and we are glad you enjoyed the stunning scenery in the area - see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is one of those rare hotels you occasssionally stumble across and is a complete joy in this world of chains and robotic staff.

It is an unbelievably friendly place and all the staff are happy to chat and all seem to be from the local area. The food is too die for and I can't believe they haven't got a michelin star!

We did some fishing and walking and thoroughly enjoyed the area. Special thanks to the owner (Dick?) who was very charming and dealt with my embarressing problem very professionally - shame he is married!

Room Tip: family suite was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachel j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thanks again for your kind words. We are proud of our kitchen too, and have recently launched a new lunch menu-definately worth a try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just came back from a 2 night stay at this hotel and was extremely impressed from start to finish. After having a recent hospital stay I desperately needed some R & R, I booked holistic treatments for both myself and partner through the hotel with Georgeana - Prana Holistic Health. The treatments with top class and we left the hotel feeling relaxed and revived. We upgraded to a superior room which was nicely furnished, fab toiletries and lovely fluffy white robes. Food was a tad expensive BUT it was top quality so you get what you pay for. The proprietors Nick and Tara were very welcoming and all staff were attentive and polite. Thank you for a lovely stay in your wonderful hotel

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 which overlooked the carpark, wish I had a room overlooking the fabulous gardens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamfie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We are very grateful for your wonderful comments and so glad you had the chance to relax and take a break - remember us next time you need some R and R!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chulmleigh
14.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
14.8 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
21.1 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Highbullen Hotel
Highbullen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chittlehamholt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
17.3 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
24.7 mi away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox and Hounds Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox and Hounds Country Hotel

Property: Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
Address: Eggesford, Chulmleigh EX18 7JZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Chulmleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chulmleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fox and Hounds Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the stunning Taw valley bordering the River Taw the hotel enjoys a beautiful location in the peaceful unspoiled Devon countryside. Great walks and an ideal location from which to explore a much loved area. We offer excellent quality food, comfortable accommodation and public areas with a Proper Devonshire welcome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Fox and Hounds Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing