We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel l'Escale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel l'Escale
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Escalles
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at L'Escale for one night, as most seem to do, after a seven night holiday in Brittany and before a channel crossing the following morning. Communication with the hotel had been polite and helpful, and helped convince that I had made a good choice. On arrival, the hotel receptionist was very engaging and provided clear, succinct information about our stay.

By no means undiscovered, L'Escale manages its rapid turnover with calm efficiency, which makes for a unexpectedly calm and relaxed stop. Rooms are very clean and prices reasonable. The exterior of the hotel is very pretty, and there is little traffic noise. We took our evening meal at the hotel restaurant where the waitress service helped maintain the dignified atmosphere, and we enjoyed the choice and quality of the food.

We had previously found last night vacation stays at (air)port hotels to be something of a trial, but L'Escale ensured we went home rested and in good spirits.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmcateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    260
    26
    6
    3
See reviews for
142
391
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cookham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had a superior room at 75 Euros and our friends one at 65 Euros and both were excellent value. Large enough, actually generous for a 2*, beautifully modernised, a first rate shower and immaculately clean. The reception was friendly and helpful and the breakfasts at 8.50 was well more than enough, Cereals, breads toast croissant cheese, meats etc. Not at all the rip off you can get in French hotels. Certainly a place to stay but personally found the main restaurant for an evening meal is rather ordinary ( OK if you are tired and certainly better than Le Cap opposite) so I would eat in Calais or else where.

Also its only a few hundred meters walk from the coast and some excellent views of Dover and a big sandy beach at low tide. Altogether a very pleasant and good value for money place to stay for a weekend or en route stop off. Its only a few minutes from the motorway junc 39.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jarrow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

my wife and me have stayed at this hotel a few times in ths past and always had great service etc, it was with this in mind we turned on spec on thursday 1st november 2012 (yes in the middle of the school holidays) only to be turned away from both the hotel and restaurant. Disappointed we were about to drive away when I spotted a chambre d'hote just down the road on asking there we got a double room in the annex for 60 euro for the night including breakfast, a saving of approx 30 euro!! we then went to the Restaurant de Cap and were given a great table and had an excellent 4 course meal with wine for just over 70 euro again quite a bit cheaper than the other place!!! so the motto of the story is not to wear blinkers or rose tinted specs!!!!

Room Tip: don't hem yourselves in, there are other options close at hand
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have visited this hotel's restaurant on several occasions for lunch and we have enjoyed the food but we have never stayed overnight in the hotel. The hotel is in the centre of the quiet village and comprises three or four separate buildings centred around the reception area. The staff were friendly and welcoming. They showed us to our room which was clean and comfortable. The towels were excellent and worthy of a special mention. There was television with provision of the main British channels. There was free WiFi access. Dinner was served in the Restaurant which was on the other side of the road [but very little traffic uses this road at night]. The choice of food was excellent and it was well-prepared and well-presented. Food is only served between 7 and 9 pm but even at the beginning of October the restaurant was reasonably full and had a 'buzzy' atmosphere. The value-for-money in the restaurant was excellent. Breakfast was served in the area beside the reception. It would be described as a Continental breakfast but it was served to the table by a very pleasant waitress and the quality and quantity of the food was amazingly good. The breakfast cost 8 euros per person. This hotel has been a very special find which is so close to Calais and convenient for ferries and the Eurotunnel.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppadoc5748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

September 16th – 19th, 2012: our 30th visit to this outstanding, family-run hotel which, to us, has always been far more than the name (“Stop Over”) suggests. As well as staying overnight en route to the South of France or back to England, we have found the Pas-de-Calais area rich in its offerings, the hotel being an ideal base from which to explore the Côte d’Opale, down to the Somme and up into Belgium. The hotel, as well as the village itself, is charmingly picturesque ad it is hard to believe it is so close to Calais.
Rooms are beautifully clean, en-suite and comfortable, many with excellent views; the garden area is a delight with its beautiful flowers and children’s play area. Over the past 20 years, my children and, more recently, my grandchildren have used the play area, as well as the tennis courts and the boules pitches. The welcome is always warm and nothing is ever too much trouble, be it putting freezer packs into the freezer or calling a mechanic when the car has broken down. The staff take their tone from the owners: Monsieur and Madame Liétard are eminently professional and pleasant with all their guests – a cosmopolitan mix, mainly British, Belgians, a few Germans and, less frequently, French. They do have rooms for 5, which were ideal when we had three children, as well as accommodation for the disabled, with dedicated parking.
Cold drinks or tea can be purchased throughout the day, refreshing after a walk along the beach at Blanc Nez or descending from the top of the cliff, where the impressive monument to the Dover Patrol dominates the skyline and looks out onto the white cliffs at the other side of the Channel. Breakfast, served in the extensive breakfast area at the main hotel, is excellent, and very good value at 8 euros 50: fruit juice, a hot drink (replenished as you need); cereals, croissants, baguettes, a range of other breads; cold meats and cheeses; ‘boil your own’ eggs.
The bar and restaurant are at the other side of the road; drinks are reasonably priced and the restaurant, run by Mme Liétard’s sister, Madame Bourdon, offers a range of menus, starting at 16 euros; confirming your booking is recommended – the restaurant is invariably busy and they were unable to take us on the one evening we had not booked. Seafood is a speciality but, for carnivores like me, the steak is very good and the veal chop excellent.
I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel: many members of our extended family and friends have enjoyed a stay here and none of us has ever been disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a 'chambre superieure' - about 10 euros per night more, but more roomy. There is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gex
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is a no pretence hotel with basic accommodation but so well situated for the tunnel to Uk, visiting the Cote d'Opale, walking along the coast, eating superb fish and sea food and chilling. The profusion of flowers on the house and outbuildings is very welcoming. The staff are getting friendlier every year- they tell me they have taken advice from customers and it shows. The breakfast is now more varied with eggs and is plentiful. The restaurant across the road is excellent value for money; 25€ for a seafood platter with crab is quite impressive. I will keep on going back and recommend this place to you.

Room Tip: The road outside the hotel gets very busy early in the morning so try to ask for a room away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lagrangeagexgex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
149 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Basic hotel, ideal for those travelling to and from UK. Close to channel tunnel, easy to find.

Clean rooms, everything works as it should. We found the restaurant (which is actually across the road from the hotel) weren't pleased to us even though we'd booked a table for 9:30 and arrived before 9:00. By 10 o'clock, everything was in darkness, bar closed too. Strange, although apparently not in some parts of France.

Worth considering due to its location, cleanliness, decent continental breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eertpit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escalles
3.2 mi away
Hotel de la Baie de Wissant
11.4 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#1 of 5 in Wimereux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Des Argousiers
Hotel Des Argousiers
#1 of 1 in Ambleteuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
#1 of 7 in Coquelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Samoria
Hotel Samoria
#1 of 2 in Audinghen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Escale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Escale

Property: Hotel l'Escale
Address: Rue de la Mer, 62179 Escalles, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Escalles
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Escalles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel l'Escale 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Escale Hotel is located near the beautiful national site of the Cap Blanc Nez and 14 km from Cap Gris Nez. The property is surrounded by a family for over 50 years with easy access from the A16 motorway, exits 39 or 40, the ferries and Eurotunnel are 20 minutes and 10 minutes respectively. Hotel Tourism and Handicap label for disabled people, we offers the best value for your evenings with rooms equipped with all comforts, flat screen TV and internet wifi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel l'Escale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Escale Hotel Escalles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing