We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming place”
Review of The Tea Bud

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palampur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tea Bud
Ranked #6 of 24 Palampur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The tea bud is average tending to good. The room was clean and well kept with the balcony an added bonus. Their restaurant was just functional with not too many options but the food was fresh,plentiful and tasty. It was a good base from which to explore the rather charming town of Palampur and its sorroundings.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Roopkatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for The Tea Bud
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 92 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

Tea Bud, a Govt enterprise is one huge property in Palampur. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. But the food quality isnt that great... The gardens are not well maintained.. Overall a decent property for short stays or halt between trips stay..

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aanchal87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Welcome to T-BUD. Wow what a name. The name is justified by the Tea Gardens surrounding this HPTDC Property. Away from the busy city center, this place is very calm and quite and full of solitude. An ideal place to loll around. Large open lawns welcomes you to pick your favorite book and enjoy reading it with the only noise of birds chirping around.

The rooms are big and very comfortable with a small balcony attached. Food is good.

There are many places that you can visit during your stay - Scenic & beautiful Neugal Khad, Neugal Cafe, Saurabh Van Vihar, Famous artist Sobha Singh Art Gallery and Pottery Society at Andretta, Chamunda Devi Temple. You can also drop in at the state run tea factory and get an first hand experience of how the tea is manufactured. Highly recommended - Get any of their Kangra Tea. Very light & fragrant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nigamanurag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We arrived here without any advance booking, and since Palampur is not a very busy tourist destination, our driver was not too willing to take us to hotels of his choice. I chose T Bud from the reviews, and got the 4 bedded room easily, in spite of there being a good number of bookings because of the marriage season.

The room was excellent in every way, so too the restaurant at the ground floor. However, the hotel is a slight height with an ambiance that can scarcely be matched. The food quality was excellent too.

Palampur is an excellent place to unwind. Moreover, the Dhauladar range is a treat to watch.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Apurba20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The stay here was for 2 nights with 8 friends. We had opted for a 4 Bedded Room and 1 Deluxe rooms. The hotel belongs to HPTDC thus is a very reasonable and operative. The staff is courteous and at your service most of the time. Rooms are spacious and clean. The hotel is close to the tea estate of kangra valley.
We had most of our meals at the hotel only, which were quite cheap and delightful.
Would recommend others if staying at Palampur.

Room Tip: Book the room in advance from HPTDC website as hotels in palampur in less.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SiddharthK50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in this hotel. Rooms are very spacious and garden area is large with very good view.
Service is good with good food in resataurant.
Would like to stay again in this hotel and will recommend others also.
Scenic places like Neugel Khad, Sourabh Van Vihar and Neugal Cafe are at 5 to 10 minutes drive.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shobs_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

At first the place is very beautiful & you are just mesmerized all the way you reach The Tea Bud & then the hotel is a feast. Good food. Rich Bar. Friendly staff (specially Suresh)
Up on a small hill kinda height which makes it look huge. All rooms have balcony & infact rooms a the rear side has separate balcony. The hotel is in midst of nature, the view from rooms is awesome.
It also has a kids park which has swings & slides. Nice open spaces. Take a deep breath & Enjoy the tea bud.

Room Tip: Take rear view rooms if possible to get private balcony or ground floor to have access to the entire...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnonymityD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palampur hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Highland Regency
Hotel Highland Regency
#2 of 8 in Palampur
55 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sai Gardens
Sai Gardens
#5 of 8 in Palampur
109 reviews
0.5 mi away
RS Sarovar Portico, Palampur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Silver Oaks
Silver Oaks
#11 of 24 in Palampur
4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Norwood Green
Norwood Green
#1 of 24 in Palampur
126 reviews
4.7 mi away
Seclude Palampur
Seclude Palampur
#4 of 24 in Palampur
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tea Bud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tea Bud

Address: Palampur, Himachal Pardesh Tourism Development Corporation Ltd, Palampur 176061, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Palampur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Palampur
Price Range: $25 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing