We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Diamond”

El Puerco Rosado Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #6 of 57 Restaurants in Boca Chica
Certificate of Excellence
Description: El Puerco Rosado is a small casual restaurant located directly on the beach of Boca Chica. It has a long history, but since 2001 we devote ourselves energetically to the felicity of our customers. Here Italy meets the Dominican Republic. We offer both Italian and local cuisine with an international flair. The menu is vast and varied, consisting of a wide selection of pasta, meat and fish but also sandwiches, salads, homemade cakes, fresh fruit juices and organic coffee. You can decide whether to eat in the dining room or in the cool shade of our garden. Snacks and juices can also be served directly to the beach to spend the day in total relax. See you there!
Restaurant details
Description: El Puerco Rosado is a small casual restaurant located directly on the beach of Boca Chica. It has a long history, but since 2001 we devote ourselves energetically to the felicity of our customers. Here Italy meets the Dominican Republic. We offer both Italian and local cuisine with an international flair. The menu is vast and varied, consisting of a wide selection of pasta, meat and fish but also sandwiches, salads, homemade cakes, fresh fruit juices and organic coffee. You can decide whether to eat in the dining room or in the cool shade of our garden. Snacks and juices can also be served directly to the beach to spend the day in total relax. See you there!
Reviewed December 19, 2014

This is a little piece of Paradise in what can be a busy beach. I live in Santo Domingo and use this restaurant when I have family visiting. I have used it quite a number of times over the last two years and have always found the food to be excellent, in both quality and value for money. The staff are excellent in their attention to clients and very friendly. Its like visiting friends now!, The premises are well maintained and spotlessly clean. The amenities include changing areas and a beach shower. A visit to Boca Chica is not completewithout a visit to the Pueco Rosado!

Date of visit: June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gpoc62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 124 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2014

I was told by my roommates that they found a great Italian restaurant on the beach in boca chica. They said I missed out the time before and i HAD to go back before we left the country. We got there and were seated immediately, and our waitress gave us menus and gave us access to the restaurants ammenities for beach patrons: outdoor shower, VERY clean bathroom that also had showers. I was impressed, but the real proof was going to be in the food. Our waitress actually offered separate checks! I was astounded as I had yet to experience this in Boca Chica, it made things so much easier. I ordered the lobster and shrimp pasta (red sauce), my roomies had spinach & cheese ravioli (spicy red sauce), Seafood pasta (spicy red sauce) and Gnochi (red sauce). While waiting for our food the waitress brought us a small caprese salad and some fresh hot bread and condiments such as the red pepper flake infused Olive oil (mix 2 spoons with regular Olive oil on the small plate for dipping..delicious!!!). As we enjoyed each other's company and the atmosphere, I could smell our food being cooked!!! The kitchen is pretty much open, there is only an entrance with no door and I saw the chef preparing our food from afar. That moment was the indication that what I was about to eat was going to be amazing. Shortly after, my plate arrived and I felt fireworks go off in my stomach. I had pasta and sautéed shrimp tossed in red sauce and a small lobster (think it's called langostino) also seasoned and sautéed, split down the middle and elegantly placed on the plate. The presentation was beautiful and the taste was mind blowing! I have definitely found my favorite little seafood/pasta spot in Boca Chica. After consuming every single edible piece on my plate, I ordered a cappuccino and asked for the check. $14 and some change with taxes included. Why would I ever want to go to a damn Olive Garden, Carabbas, Macaroni grill, or any chain Italian in the states EVER again? I never want to leave DR and this restaurant is a part of that reason. Please give them a try!!!! Nothing is perfect in this small town, but this came VERY close to it. Thank you for a great meal and experience. I can't wait to come back :-)

Date of visit: July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jenn_dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

It must be said, the choice for Italian restaurant in the Country is pretty wide. At Puerco I found the best food at an absolutely competitive price. Food is real Italian (not an adaptation as happens in many Countries), portions are big enough.
The inside room is well furnished and service is smiling and efficient (though waiters are not Italian).

2  Thank Naturalchoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I was very impressed with the food. The atmosphere is right on the beach. The drinks were well prepared. But when I ask the owner to accommodate my child with outside food because their menu was not children-friendly. The owner got a bad attitude and told me although I was ordering food and drinks at her establishment, she would not accommodate my child by allowing outside food to be eaten there. When my food came I ate and left. The atmosphere after our one-sided discussion became stale and uncomfortable. However, this was my bad experience here and I would never tell people not to eat here because the food and drinks are good (however, not great).

Date of visit: October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Easylivingtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prbocachica, Manager at El Puerco Rosado Ristorante Italiano, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014
Google Translation

Siento mucho el incidente,
pero nuestro menu cuenta casimente 100 platos distintos, entre los cuales hay sandwiches, papas fritas, pollo frito, pescado frito, pasta al tomate,y otros, muy aptos para niños, inclusive si lo piden, tambien le hacemos una pasta en blanco, o lo que deseen, si esta a nuestro alcanze, aunque no esté en nuestro menu. Pero las misma comida que el señor mandó a buscar en la fritura de al lado, la vendemos también, asi que lamentablemente, abiendoles avisado de antemanos, y estando notificado por iscrito en el restaurante, no podemos permitir que traigan comida en nuestro restaurante.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina B, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at El Puerco Rosado Ristorante Italiano, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2019
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Puerco Rosado Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Boca Chica, Santo Domingo Province
Boca Chica, Santo Domingo Province
 
Boca Chica, Santo Domingo Province
Boca Chica, Santo Domingo Province
 
Boca Chica, Santo Domingo Province
Boca Chica, Santo Domingo Province
 

Been to El Puerco Rosado Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing