We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cafe con Leche in the morning.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Zapata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Zapata
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Boca Chica
West Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cafe con Leche in the morning.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed three nights after working with teachers in Santo Domingo. Hotel Z is little jewel in Boca Chica. It was a safe hotel in walking distance from town. The staff were great and brought us coffee on our porch in the morning. Clean and neat and recommended. Hope we can go back (sorry I didn't write this review before).

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank psteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    71
    31
    12
    20
See reviews for
33
65
60
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

I traveled to Boca Chica with a group of 13, and everyone at Hotel Zapata made us feel like we were at home! They welcomed us with open arms and made us feel like family. From our very first day to loading the van on our last day, the Zapatas helped us with finding good places to eat (though their food was delicious), museums and shops to visit, and adventurous activities. Having the beach as our backyard was paradise, and it was beautiful to be able to sit on the back patio hanging out with everyone. Our rooms were always cool and clean; maids came in every day to exchange the bedding and towels, and wash the floor. We stayed for about 18 days, so when the time came to leave, we felt like we were saying goodbye to family.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JKate12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barberton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is the best hotel I have ever stayed in! The family who runs the hotel is extremely welcoming and helpful and will do anything they can to make you feel like you're at home. The other staff also will do whatever you ask of them and keep the hotel very clean. The room service is great, my room was cleaned every day. I stayed at this hotel for 3 weeks while on a study abroad with my college and I could not have asked for a better hotel to live at for that period of time. It is also in a great location, right on the beach and within walking distance of the grocery store and other city restaurants. I can't wait to visit this hotel again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelcie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Ok, my review is for single men only, so I give family people a few moments to leave the page……………………… Now that they are gone this is what I feel and believe one need to know about hotel Zapata. First it’s a motel like quality for American standards. Nothing wrong with that, just hotel I feel will miss lead a lot of people who are not season travelers. It very, very clean! No complaints on cleanliness. Wifi works horribly with cell phones. Best time to access it is in the middle of the night when know one pulling on router. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The breakfast, even though it is free I would not eat it. It is just eggs and bread. You can get a great meal for under $10 on the strip that will have you absolutely full.

Now for the good stuff. The Hotel policies as it relates to women guest. In order for women to get in they have to have a Cedula. (This is a government issued ID). I love the policy because they confiscate the ID until you give the all clear when they leave. Once inside they must go straight to the room. They cannot sit on patio of room, in lobby or in any common area. They are only allowed in the room and NO WHERE ELSE. If you are in to threesomes than you must rent a suite, they will not let two women into standard suite. It’s a difference of $20 it is worth the money and at least you have the option. But as far as a hotel that allows this I feel this is the safest and best hotel on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank neverben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Hotel Zapata is unlike any hotel... in the WORLD! The service here exceeds all expectations. I could never find the level of Hotel Zapata cleanliness and friendliness at a hotel in the U.S. or elsewhere. I came to Hotel Zapata with a large group of friends and we had an extensive itinerary. The staff helped us everyday to get the items we needed and they helped us find great excursions. I cannot believe how helpful the Zapata family and their staff have been!!! They all have become like family to us... it makes me never want to leave!!! If you want to visit the Dominican Republic, you would be crazy to stay at a different hotel. I LOVE THIS PLACE!

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are nice! All the rooms here are perfect though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Megan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Amazing service
Martha will make you feel special
She is also a great cook
My best meals were at the hotel

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominican Republic
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

This hotel is simply wonderful. The staff is fantastic and the rooms are clean. It is safe and creates a great environment to stay in. I would without a doubt stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mangos300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boca Chica hotels
0.6 mi away
Be Live Experience Hamaca Garden
0.2 mi away
Parco del Caribe
Parco del Caribe
#4 of 18 in Boca Chica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garant
Hotel Garant
#5 of 18 in Boca Chica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mango
Hotel Mango
#7 of 18 in Boca Chica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Coco
Casa Coco
#10 of 18 in Boca Chica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.7 mi away
NEPTUNO'S REFUGIO
NEPTUNO'S REFUGIO
#8 of 18 in Boca Chica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zapata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zapata

Property: Hotel Zapata
Address: 27 Abraham Nunez, Boca Chica, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Boca Chica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Boca Chica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zapata 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Zapata is located in Boca Chica on the South Coast of the Dominican Republic. It is a small, family-run hotel that sits directly on one of the best beaches in the Carribbean. Customer service and enabling of a true Dominican experience are the hotel's hallmarks. Features: Las Americas Airport pickup, private balconies, apartments, wireless internet access, on-site restaurant with complimentary breakfast, beach bar, private beach area with loungers, cabanas & food & beverage service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Zapata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zapata Hotel Santo Domingo
Zapata Santo Domingo
Hotel Zapata Dominican Republic/Boca Chica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing