We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad food”
Review of Tucantu - CLOSED

Tucantu
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood, Fast Food
Restaurant details
Middletown, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Bad food”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Food quality is probably the poorest on Duarte. I have eaten at almost every restaurant on main street and the last meal I had here was pathetic. It was poorly prepared and presented as well as overly seasoned and cold. To solve the issue of being cold my food was put in a microwave. There are many better options right next to it or down the street.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank xxxxxxxcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    10
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“New Ownership”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Am in Boca Chica. Again and stopped for dinner around Tucanru for dinner last night. Place is I definitely new ownership and the decor has been upgraded. Tables now have cloth table cover and the premises seem much cleaner. Real napkinsand they now give you a glass mug with your beer. Menu is pretty much the same with the same great prices. Enjoyed Escalopina in a wine sause for $6.00 el branded cervesas still $2.50

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tdb369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very good Breakfast”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

I only ate breakfast here. The food is fresh and very good, and the price was excellent.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Value for your dollar!”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Tucantu is a 24/7 restaurant located across the street from the highly rated petite suize restauarant on Duarte St. It is a combination restauarant /bakery that you can good food anytime of day. The serviings are large and in fact many dishes will feed two. My experiences included the shrimp/squid combo for 250 pesos, A huge cheeseburger with fries for about 180 pesos, Chicken Cordon Blue for 250 pesos, chicken strips for 200 i think and several other dishes.As you can see this became my main eating place in Boca Chica due to the great value . Grande cervesos for 100 pesos . What more can you ask for!. The food is served hot but the surroundings and place settings are simple. Not the place for a romantic evening with your g/f but is great for simple sustanance.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tdb369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tucantu also viewed

Boca Chica, Santo Domingo Province
Boca Chica, Santo Domingo Province
 
Boca Chica, Santo Domingo Province
Boca Chica, Santo Domingo Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing