We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Boca Chica
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,746)
Filter reviews
2,746 results
Traveler rating
1,454
396
330
259
307
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,454
396
330
259
307
Show reviews that mention
All reviews animation team main restaurant night shows boca chica beach a la carte restaurants star resort chupa hector
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 2,746 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Omg !!! this resort was so much more than I've expected!!!the food was a not the best but worth the money!!! nightlife was the bomb please check out the club in front of the beach!!the people who work their are so helpful..will be back soon!!

Room tip: 1800 3rd floor
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Johanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YudelaniaU, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Bellevue Dominican Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Johanna M,

Thank you very much for your beautiful comment, each satisfied guest reminds us of the commitment we have to make your vacation a memorable experience, we hope to see you very soon and continue to meet your holiday expectations in a place of which you are already a part, thanks for belonging to this big family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

I was only going to post the usual "you get what you paid for" only this time this was too much

First: they charge you for 10 extra dollars if you want to start using the facilities of the hotel while you wait for your room, THIS IS NOT EARLY CHECK IN

Second: the room was awful, smelled like it hadn't been open in a very long time, dusty and one of the beds smelled like urine

We were never able to use the type Dinosaur television (yes folks it wasn't even flat screen) because we requested a remote that never arrived

Busted thermostat and one of the lights didnt work.

As for the food, poor variety, and mostly recycled from the day before.

The only reason why I chose this hotel was for the price, because although it was less expensive and I didnt have high hopes for it, I never thought it would be so damn CHEAP.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank Gael21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YudelaniaU, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Bellevue Dominican Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2020

Dear Gael21,

Thank you for your comment and for the opportunities for improvement that you mention, they will be informed to the general management to take the necessary measures for the satisfaction of our guests, I hope you give us a second chance and come back to visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020

Good things: beautiful sea, warm weather in December, very good food (especially fish and beef). That’s it.

Bad things: transfer from airport was done by a professional kamikadze who was driving like crazy with no respect to the road regulations. I have no idea how we survived.

Upon our arrival we were given a room that had no electricity and nobody could turn it on. Water was dripping from the ceiling in the bathroom while someone on the next floor was taking a shower. We had to look at three more rooms, none of them had AC working: just blow the air, that’s it. We had to choose the last room shown to us as we were very tired and wanted to rest. The room didn’t have AC working as well, water didn’t go away from bathtub, the toilet didn't flush unless you keep standing at it holding the handle and watching how the stuff you produced is slowly and sadly going away.

We had to complain twice to get bathtub clog fixed, the AC was fixed on the third day, we couldn’t sleep two first nights because of the heat and humidity. When it was fixed another problem came: it had two modes, OFF and ROARING HURRICANE, when it turns on you think that someone is breaking in your room, so we couldn’t sleep again. The AC is placed right against your bed so you are either dying from heat or from cold and you can’t open a window because of mosquitoes. As a result all the whole family came home sick.

During seven days stay the room wasn’t cleaned twice. We had to complain 2-3 times every time to get someone there. They provide only one sheet for a bed to take cover regardless of number of persons in the room.

Hotel’s beach is small with very little shadow surrounded with a rope right behind which on public territory local merchants stay and advertise their goods non-stop, they follow you when you leave public are and chase you even in the sea, trying to sell you something. GARBAGE IS EVERYWHERE: in private area, on public beach, in the sea. Local people drink alcohol on the beach and leave bottles in the sand or throw them in the sea. We found some like 50 meters from the shore.

Stray dogs sleep under your sun loungers, dogs’ sh*t, broken glass and sharp stones are everywhere: on the volleyball court, on the beach.

Next to the private area is a market where security is non-stop hunting either prostitutes or thieves, noise and stink are constant.

Service stuff speaks other languages than Spanish only in lobby, everyone is very slow and relaxed. Music is for service staff only, not for guests: it is in Spanish only, all the songs sound alike, so you get tired of it on the second day, while service stuff is signing and dancing to it.

The day before our departure all three our beach towels were stolen right from our balcony as we put them there to dry out because they were very wet and exchange room was closed. Management was going to charge us USD$25 for each ($75 total) blaming us that we lost them. I talked to managers Eugenia and Louis - both didn’t care, they said this is our problem. Though before departure we were told that “you are excused” so we didn’t have to pay. What a shame!

We paid around CAD$1500 for each person for this. Decide for yourself if you want to do the same.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vadimpanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YudelaniaU, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Bellevue Dominican Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Dear vadimpanov,

Thank you for your comment and for the opportunities for improvement that you mention, they will be informed to the general management to take the necessary measures for the satisfaction of our guests, I hope you give us a second chance and come back to visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2019

I do not know when this hotel has been given 3 stars. Probably ages ago. If you expect to find something like Holiday Inn you would be highly disappointed. Accommodation: bathrooms is out of date since last century, nothing is working properly; rooms with unpleasant smell and antic TV. You will find working, but very noisy aircon. Definitely not paradise. Happy that this is my first and last time here .

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
4  Thank 218viktorijak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YudelaniaU, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Bellevue Dominican Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2019

Dear 218viktorijak,

We regret not having met your expectations, we hope you give us a second chance and come back to visit us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2019

Staff excellent helpful in changing rooms, some rooms need updating saw several rooms before getting one we liked. Food fine but needs to be refilled quicker had to ask staff to refill but always pleasant. Desk workers Rossy and Diorys especially helpful as was Lius at Large pool bar and waiter Jose Mateo. Good location pools clean and rooms Nicely decorated for Christmas

Date of stay: December 2019
Thank Barrykathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YudelaniaU, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Bellevue Dominican Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2019

Dear Barrykathi,

Thank you for your comment, it is a pleasure to serve you, we hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews