We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pictures lie. Very dissapointed!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
BelleVue Dominican Bay
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Boca Chica
Mar del Plata, Argentina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pictures lie. Very dissapointed!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

We have so many things to say that is very hard to find where to start. Let's try the very first day. The assigned room had a terrible humid smell, from the sheets to the pillows, it seemed that someone used that bed and they just covered it with a comforter full of holes. It became worst: the ceiling started to leak when a person from the upstair-room took a shower, and in a few minutes our bathroom was full of water. We requested to change the room but we have to wait until the next morning, which took the whole day to get a decent one, after loosing the entire day without going to the beach.
Ah! the beach! It was at around 3 blocks from the hotel, with no private beach, meaning we had to share with the locals, especially the vendors, who can drive you crazy. But the sad part was so many and young, underage prostitutes with old European men. That was bizarre.
Returning to the hotel: very nice premises, rooms distributed in many blocks, and a big and gorgeous pool for adults, and a separate one for kids. That was OK, except the many times, every day, problems with the electricity. But the food was horrible. It was not variety in meals: you can get pork and chicken in so many ways, and rice at breakfast, lunch and dinner, but it wasn't any fish, in a Caribbean Island! And no fruits: just bananas and dry tangerine. Never mango or papaya, again, nothing tropical. The bar was good enough.
But the staff was friendly, not all of them but the vast majority. They seemed no very happy to work there but without choice. The worst: a group that try to sell you a time-share.
In summary, great weather, wonderful water, but we are not coming back in a milion years. May be to a different city. We do not recommend this hotel and the Boca Chica area at all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrizio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis R, Public Relations Manager at BelleVue Dominican Bay, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing our hotel as your holiday destination.

I have reviewed your comments with the staff, and we sincerely regret any inconvenience.

Here at Bellevue Dominican Bay we always take on board all feedback that our much valued guests leave with us, as this is an excellent way of the hotel moving forward and making improvements, so with that in mind we thank you kindly for all of your comments.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    293
    261
    208
    242
See reviews for
516
481
104
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

I booked a vacation on line. I chosen another hotel,but it seems that the tour company change the hotel without your consent at the hotel request. Probably , if they do not have enough business, ask the tour co. for help. I want to see this hotel. I did not cancel the vacation, because I want to see BelleWue. The overall rating is only to Submit the review.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank petre0770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis R, Public Relations Manager at BelleVue Dominican Bay, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

On Behalf of Bellevue Dominican Bay staff thanks for spending your holidays in our hotel! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

I just returned from a week in Boca Chica and had a wonderful time at the Bellevue Hotel no thanks to some of the staff, a lady bartender inperticular was terrible, every time you asked for something she acted like you were bothering her, if you said hola she ignored you and never a da nota after your thank you. A lot of the staff look very unhappy and didn't want to be there. Thank goodness for the animation team, they were very energetic and tried their best to put on a good show, Stephanie and Bruja were our favorites and do a great job. I think the hotel grounds are beautiful and well kept but the rooms are a little dated and have no refrigerators in them. It is also a bit of a walk to the beach and the disco, it would be a lot better to have the disco located closer to the main hotel. The food was fine but a little more varity would be nice. Overall its a great value as I only paid $89 US a night for two people all inclusive, I got a %45 discount for last min. booking online.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vince S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis R, Public Relations Manager at BelleVue Dominican Bay, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest:

We thank you kindly for allowing Bellevue Dominican Bay to be your hosts during your vacation and we appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your experience with us, I will certainly share with our animation team your positive comments about them; we would also talk with our Staff in order to remain them that the hospitality we offer to our clients is a very important issue for us.

We feel very please knowing that besides the walk to the beach and the opportunities we have with the rooms you really like our grounds and general facilities.

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomaston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at the BelleVue Dominican Bay for 6 nights while attending the Dominican Baseball Camp. The hotel provides a basic room and edible food, but nothing spectacular. My room was clean, although a bit shabby. The mattress itself was on the hard and gave me a sore back and the pillows were ridiculously small, lumpy, and uncomfortable. It was hard to sleep at night because some game show in the theatre blasts out loud music and amplified voices until well into the night.

The food at the restaurant was edible, but nothing special. It was similar to what one would get at a typical college refectory.

The workers were all very friendly and helpful whenever I interacted with them.

If I was going to choose somewhere to stay on a Dominican vacation I would choose a different hotel, but since we were there for the baseball and not to hang around the hotel the BelleVue Dominican Bay was okay.

Room Tip: You don't want a room near the theatre unless you want to hear loud music all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis R, Public Relations Manager at BelleVue Dominican Bay, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the time you have taken to write this feedback, we feel proud that our team offers you a friendly service.

It is very disappointing to us that your stay did not exceed your expectations, we will certainly work on the points you have mentioned in your comments in order to make your vacation more enjoyable in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I had a sweet holiday staying here. The showers were awful, so we wore our sandals in, the food was fine, and the rooms were old, but whatever! It's paradise. The people were friendly, though the front desk could use an extra worker. The beach is lovely, though people will want to sell you stuff. The pools were nice and the landscaping beautiful. The maids kept the room clean and she was smiley, although we didn't speak the same language. Hard working people here. I do think that people may need to make a choice to enjoy this place... Every place has it's downfalls but we loved our holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edmontonmelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis R, Public Relations Manager at BelleVue Dominican Bay, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing Bellevue Dominican Bay as your holiday destination and it was a great honor for us to be your hosts.

Here at Bellevue Dominican Bay we always take on board all feedback that our much valued guests leave with us, as this is an excellent way of the hotel moving forward and making improvements, so with that in mind we thank you kindly for all of your comments.

We certainly hope we have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, Georgia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

I only 24 hours I was not happy the bed was broken, the maids cleaned the room but left no towels but did steal candy from the room. will not return to this place or recommend rate -1 if I could do it

Room Tip: the best advice I would give is not to waste your money you will not be happy, feel free to zoom in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HarryB9921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis R, Public Relations Manager at BelleVue Dominican Bay, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the time you have taken to write this feedback, I will certainly share your comments with my staff, in order to verify what happen with the towels replacement during your stay. At Bellevue Dominican Bay we are proud of our staff but we will certainly reinforce with our maids the importance of our guest’s confidence.

I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Boca Chica hotels

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

This Hotel look very nice and clean from the out side. Me, my wife and her mother stay for one night. We had a reservation for 3 nights but we cancelled the rest of the nights.
We where transfer to 4 different rooms trying to get a non smelly or dirty one, all 4 rooms leaks water from the ceiling and smell terrible.
Another good thing about it is that people are very friendly and nice like most Dominicans, food was acceptable but I will never going back.

Room Tip: Bring your own towels
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabriel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boca Chica
0.4 mi away
Be Live Experience Hamaca Garden
0.2 mi away
Don Juan Beach Resort
Don Juan Beach Resort
#8 of 18 in Boca Chica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Be Live Experience Hamaca Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
80.0 mi away
whala!bavaro
whala!bavaro
#81 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
13.0 mi away
Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa
52.6 mi away
Be Live Collection Canoa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BelleVue Dominican Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BelleVue Dominican Bay

Property: BelleVue Dominican Bay
Address: Juan Bautista Vicini Esq 20 Diciembre, Boca Chica, Dominican Republic (Formerly Hotetur Hotel Dominican Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Boca Chica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Boca Chica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BelleVue Dominican Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 437
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BlueBay Hotels & Resorts, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your BelleVue Dominican Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Dominican Bay Hotel Boca Chica
Hotetur Hotel Boca Chica
Hotetur Dominican Bay
Hotel Dominican Bay
BelleVue Dominican Bay Dominican Republic/Boca Chica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing