We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant could be better”
Review of Haigs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Haigs Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Balsall Common
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Restaurant could be better”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Have dined here several times the service is ok what lets it down is the tiny portions of vegetables you receive with the main meal - one small potatoe cut in half, a few small slices of carrot, no more than a tablespoon full of mash potatoe, and a tiny piece of broccoli this is served on a half moon sized side plate so you can imagine the quantity.
Much better restaurants around that serve decent quantities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avenida69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    67
    25
    16
    14
See reviews for
38
54
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We knew this was a cheap b&b style hotel and expected it to be a bit tired as it was rather cheap. What let it down was that it needed a good clean!
It was friendly and the service was efficient though. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LDHJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Travelled down from Southport.
Staff were exceptionally friendly & couldn't do enough to help.
Food was top rate.
Room was clean, comfortable, inexpensive, could not fault it.
Don't be put off by the tired looking exterior, this hotel & it's staff deserve success & your custom.
I would DEFINITELY return without hesitation.

Kevin Hill.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We have been a group of friends and we booked on Haigs as we had a seminar at Nec. We all enjoyed and we always will come back. The rooms were exactly what we wanted. For those who are nagging please go and chose a 5 starts hotel and pay triple the price. For those who luxury is not important, don't look further. We booked in July and we came back, and we always will. The food is to die for, breakfast is delicious and the super was delicious. The cleanliness was perfect for us. We haven't got any complain and the staff is just very professional and kind. Way to go guys.

Room Tip: Room 24 was very big and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Really fast service the food was lush and a good price was well presented and the atmosphere was lovely only criticism was the parking had to park in the village and walk as it was rammed
Could of had a few more chips too as I was starving and the portions were a bit small
Defiantly try the salmon could of been better with blue cheese instead of the one I got tried my boyfriends blue cheese and it was amazing !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niort, France
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We booked in for one night as a break whilst traveling to Tamworth from France. We found the Haigs Hotel to de very good value for money at £38 for the night including breakfast.(which was first class).The staff are all friendly. The only negative would be that the rooms are a little tired.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had a two night stay here recently, I had to ask for the bed cover to be replaced. It had a fist sized hole in it,and was extremely dirty. When I pulled it back the blanket underneath was also quite badly soiled. They were changed by the poor pregnant receptionist who informed me everyone else had gone home so it was down to her to change the soiled bedding.The room itself was very tired looking, and carpet looked like it had oil slicks on. Having said that, the bed was surprisingly comfortable, and despite being at the front of the hotel on a busy main road I slept extremely well. Breakfast was excellent and very varied, and the staff and service was also very good. Would I stay again? Yes, but they need to up their cleanliness of bedding and rooms

Room Tip: If you don't like noise ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balsall Common
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Balsall Common (Near Nec) Hotel
1.6 mi away
Nailcote Hall Hotel and Golf Club
5.7 mi away
The St. John's Hotel
The St. John's Hotel
#14 of 28 in Solihull
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Greswolde Arms Hotel
Greswolde Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knowle
346 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant
4.7 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haigs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haigs Hotel

Property: Haigs Hotel
Address: 273 Kenilworth Road, Balsall Common, Solihull CV7 7EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Balsall Common
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Balsall Common
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Haigs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Haigs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haigs Hotel Balsall Common

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing