We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best room in hotel”
Review of Haigs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Haigs Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Balsall Common
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Terrible room. As this was booked as a superrior room i would hate to try their worst. The room was at the top with only attic windows (could not look out). To close the blind you have to stand on the bed. The room i guess was realy a family room as it had three beds with some verry scruffy sheets. The decoration was tatty as was the bathroom. The only saving grace was the breakfast. When we told reception of our dissapointment all that we were told is that they have three superior rooms and that this is one of them. I guess they are used to complaints. Dont go there.

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charles h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 189 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

I am very often required to live away from home during the week due to the nature of my work and this has sometimes been for years at a time. I do not like to impersonal "plastic" accommodation offered by chain hotels and price is important as my stay is not expensed.

I can say without exception this is the best hotel I have stayed in by far. Rooms are immaculate, warm and comfortable with all the little room extras you would only expect in 'superior' hotels. The welcome is tangible and nothing is too much trouble. Dad does the cooking which is substantive and creative and the restaurant is very busy of an evening. Mum and daughter look after everything else and there is always a happy face when you get back after a hard day at the office.
What more can I say?

Room Tip: I had room eleven on the first night - said I liked it and was put there for the rest of my 3 month...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viking579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Booked Haigs Hotel as we were travelling to a dog show, taking the dogs into the room was no problem, infact nothing was a problem, the staff were great!
Room was basic but very clean, toiletries in bathroom, trouser press, good hospitality tray, WIFI was FREE! and Dogs allowed in room FREE!
Breakfast was great, we enjoyed dinner in the bar, lovely home cooked food, and drinks prices were same as anywhere else. On site carparking is available at the back of the hotel, as is a small garden with tables and chairs.
Will we be back, definitely!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandymorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Firstly the room smelt, two of the lamps didn't work, despite putting the radiator the room was freezing and there was only one blanket. Breakfast was so small that it wouldn't have filled a child up and the croissant was out of date!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank netd1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

After exhibiting at Crufts, we decided it was too long a day to drive back home to Scotland so after a bit of googling found Haigs hotel, who were happy for us to take a room, and didnt mind that we had a few dogs with us.
The hotel is only about 5 miles from the NEC so very convenient. Plenty parking when you get there.
The receptionist count not have been friendlier, made us feel very welcome, im sorry i dont have her name but she is really an asset!
On the plus side:

Room was huge, very spacious, warm, with a large bathroom, plenty wardrobe space, and a comfortable bed - we had a great nights sleep.
Didnt eat dinner here, but the menu looked good and exellent value.
Breakfast was superb! All freshly cooked to order, every part of it was delicious - and served with a smile!

On the downside - yes the reception area is a bit tired, as are the rooms i.e. headboard was hanging off, the carpet had seen better days etc. But - its a budget hotel, and in my opinion offers excellent value for money. At only £41 for the room, bed and breakfast it really was a great find. We stayed at the Ramada Encore the night before and i have to say Haigs level of service and quality of food was far superior. I would definitely consider staying here again if looking for a room on a budget.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elscodobermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My partner and I recently stayed overnight for a birthday celebration and we could not have been happier with the service we received.
We paid £42.50 for an overnight stay with breakfast which we both thought was reasonable compared to other local hotels we looked at. Rooms were basic but perfectly clean and comfortable
In the restaurant we took advantage of there two for one offer and it seem many more also had as the restaurant was fully booked. We were very impressed by the food and will definitely be returning

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Amelia jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

3/3/13. Just returned home from Sunday lunch at Haigh's. A wonderful meal in a pleasant atmosphere and served by attentive, cheerful staff. Extremely good value and will be back soon. The food was beautifully prepared and served - excellent value and I defy anyone to find better value in the area. THe staff pay great attention to the customer and have obviously been well briefed on the necessity to make customers feel at home. Well done!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balsall Common
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Balsall Common (Near Nec) Hotel
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Manor Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Nailcote Hall Hotel and Golf Club
6.4 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hockley Heath
353 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#20 of 39 in Coventry
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haigs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haigs Hotel

Address: 273 Kenilworth Road, Balsall Common, Solihull CV7 7EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Balsall Common
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Balsall Common
Price Range: $70 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Haigs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Haigs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haigs Hotel Balsall Common

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing