We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Food, Nice waitresses, Freezing Cold” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ye Olde Saracens Head

Ye Olde Saracens Head
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Gastropub, Bar, Pizza, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A carefully crafted pub, specialisng in charcoal oven grilled steaks and authentic stonebaked pizza's. To make a booking please visit our website or just give us a call.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Poor Food, Nice waitresses, Freezing Cold”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

This is the first time I have written a review but since our last visit last year, this restaurant has gone way down in service and quality of food. We opted for the three course lunch and when our pate starter arrived, it only came with half a slice of bread and as we had pate left and nothing to put it on we asked for more bread which we were charged for. When our main course arrived two from our party sent their meal back as it was only Luke warm. My husbands was also Luke warm but he was so hungry that he decided to eat it as he didn't want to wait. He had finished his lunch by the time our main course came back out to us. It was still only Luke warm but this time , there was no carrots or parsnips on the plate. We ate it as they obviously don't bother about complaints and can only assume that they had run out of these vegetables as they had run out of some of the starters and also the deserts which we had chosen and had to choose something else. My mum had apple pie which was hard as a rock and couldn't bit through the chunks on top. It was also very cold in the whole pub, when we arrived the fires were roaring and about half an hour after we arrived, a chap put come wood on them as they were starting to die down. He killed them completely .....all the fires went out. It was very cold and my husband sat with his coat on. We moved to the bar area to have coffee, and when we asked the waitress what had happened to the fires, she said all the logs were wet so couldn't put them on the fires. You would think that they would have a reserve of logs inside the pub and not leave them outside where we spotted them ..... It was pouring with rain and they were uncovered. Maybe they don't realise it's winter....... We will not be going back to Ye Old Saracens Head in a hurry.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank gavin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YOSHcv7, General Manager at Ye Olde Saracens Head, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Gavin hi,

Apolologies for sucha a poor hospitality on our account, if you would like to get in touch and leave us your contact details that would be fab.
info@saracensheadbalsallcommon.com

Warmest regards,
Rob
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    155
    55
    38
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Nicely filling Sunday Lunch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Sunday Family get together booked same day which may have been lucky as it was pretty crowded by the time we came away. Bitter was Pedigree and went down nicely. We each had the two course £15 Sunday special (3 course was £18). Starter was Chicken Parfait which would have been overpriced (£6) if not part of two course deal. It was small but tasty enough.
Mains were Pork for most of us and 1 Chicken, which was virtually half of one! Meat in both cases was delicious as were the roast potatoes and the crispy crackling. Together with red Cabbage Apple Chutney, parsnip, carrot veg (lovely) and suspiciously Aunt Bess style Yorkshire pudding (which, If you read my other reviews you know, always disappoints) the overall opinion was tasty Sunday Lunch. Total bill for 4 was £75 including 5 soft drinks and my Bitter. Service and Staff was both friendly and efficient considering how busy it became. Pleasant way to have Sunday Lunch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wellitsmytake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YOSHcv7, General Manager at Ye Olde Saracens Head, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for yor review Keith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice beer, shame about the food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

I'm wary of being too negative in this review as the manager was extremely polite, listened carefully and gave a discount when I voiced my dissatisfaction with my meal so here are the plusses first: The beer is excellent with a good range of regular & guest ales. The decor is rather nice too. The service - despite being a tad slow - was fine too. Oh yes, the manager seems a genuine and courteous man, thought I'd mention that again.

Unfortunately the BIG minus was the food. Specifically the steaks. If you are going to trumpet the notion that your steaks are 35 day dry-aged, cooked in a special charcoal oven, lovingly list their provenance AND charge £24 for a rather meagre 8 ounces of meat, then said cuts better deliver the wonderful texture and flavour that you promise.The Sirloin and Rump we ordered were lacking in both. They were dry, disappointingly tasteless and oddly lacking in any of the much-heralded 'mouth-watering flavour' detailed on the website and on the menu.

Ultimately, if you are selling posh steak and chips - and menu verbosity aside that's all this is - then said steak better be damn good and this simply wasn't up to scratch. Most telling comment came from my father who said to me "I've had a better steak in a pub mixed-grill'. Ouch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lloyd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YOSHcv7, General Manager at Ye Olde Saracens Head, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Lloyd hi,

Thank you for your re-view. I do hope to see you dining with us in the nearest future. We have changed our steak supplier as a result of your comment.

Warmest regards,
Rob
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and delicious, well presented food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Visited here having driven past many times and always wondered what it would be like. We were not disappointed. Having made no reservation we were thankful to be made very welcome and the service was attentive but not overbearing. The restaurant was not too lively but it was fairly early in the evening. The menu was interesting and the food (which was served in good time) was well presented and delicious.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this to our friends or visiting again.
The only quibble i would have is with the prices which were a little on the steep side - but it's worth it for a special occasion or a treat.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank celticstorm73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YOSHcv7, Manager at Ye Olde Saracens Head, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your first visit to Ye Olde Saracens Head and hope it will be the first of many.
Helen
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely surroundings but disappointing menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Over the last 40 years Ye Olde Saracens Head has had a number of makeovers - not all good. The latest refurbishment has been tastefully done and has recovered much of the lost ambiance so we were looking forward to our first visit. Unfortunately we found the menu somewhat limited - mainly 'special' steaks or pizza. My husband had a steak which was expensive and nothing special; I had seabass fillets which were very nice but the portion could have been larger. The apple crumble was hard and not very hot. With a beer and a glass of wine the meal was very expensive and disappointing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bran007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YOSHcv7, Manager at Ye Olde Saracens Head, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments, all feedback whether good or bad helps us to improve our business. We're glad you like the ambiance of our pub. All the nooks and crannies, combined with our roaring log fires are proving very popular this winter.
I'm sorry you were disappointed with the menu. In addition to all our delicious wood-fired pizzas and Josper oven cooked steaks, we do have another 10 main courses on the menu, and often daily specials.
I really hope this visit hasn't put you off coming back to Ye Olde Saracens Head and trying something else. If you would like to get in touch with me personally to discuss our menu choices or anything else you can email me at info@saracensheadbalsallcommon.com.
Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Saracens Head also viewed

Solihull, West Midlands
Solihull, West Midlands
 
Solihull, West Midlands
 

Been to Ye Olde Saracens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing