We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK Curry”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bengal Brasserie

Bengal Brasserie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Balsall Common, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“OK Curry”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

An average curry, like so many around that cover the dish in liquid and loose the subtle exotic flavours of good Indian food - of course most are Bangladeshi not Indian.
I had the fish curry, but could have been eating anything under the sauce.
Having travelled in India and experienced fantastic curries I am still looking for the qenuine thing in the UK.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WanderlustKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    34
    9
    5
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Small Indian restaurant with good atmosphere and with some tables partitioned off for privacy. We have had good take aways before but this was our first sit in meal. The staff were attentive, friendly and smiled a lot.

The menu is quite extensive and not just your normal Indian food - we had trouble deciding! Poppadoms were served warm with dips and 2 types of pickle.
Service was quick and we didn't wait long for our food.

The food was well presented with attractive garnishes - someone had spent time doing this. All served in clean warm modern white crockery. It looked so good and the portions were big.

Our meals were really good, we had over ordered and had to leave some, but wished we could manage to eat it all!

The drinks were not over priced as in some restaurants and were comparable with our local pub, so no complaints!

We were not rushed off the table and sat chatting for some time, during which we were offered and took, complimentary coffees, which again was good quality filter coffee. How lovely.

Poppadoms, mains with side dishes and rice and naan bread - approx £19 per head. Good value when you have such good quality food and service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank peebonags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A place where you won't be disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Visited here for the second time in 2014 after sampling the other two Indian restaurants in the village. Always thought the 'Bengal' was the best in Balsall Common and again tonight they proved me right.

Always a friendly welcome and the staff here can't do enough for you. I just love them.

We mentioned about a dish that we couldn't remember the name of, a 'very' foggy description and the guys got it.

Food came in a timely manner with hot (very hot) trays to put the dishes on. The plates were also hot which, in my opinion, is a must anywhere.

Hot towels were presented after the mains along with the pudding menu which we pondered over whist finishing off some of their delightful wine.

Pudding done & finished off with some cracking coffee.

Love the Bengal Brasserie and it will remain at the top of my Indian restaurant list.

Thank you again guys and see you very soon.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkChute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love it there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

It's our local and we like it! Staff always friendly and accommodating . Food good and I would recommend it to all for a night out .

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Angi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friday Night Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

I made a return visit to this restaurant and found the food excellent. The staff remembered me and knew that I don't like very spicey food. The dishes were very tasty but not overspiced.. The service was fantastic. I couldn't fault the evening at all. This is one of the best Indian restaurants in this area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gaynor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bengal Brasserie also viewed

Balsall Common, Solihull
 
Balsall Common, Solihull
Balsall Common, Solihull
 
Balsall Common, Solihull
 

Been to Bengal Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing