We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 stars you're having a laugh!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Vere Horwood Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Horwood
Reviewed December 8, 2009

This hotel looks nice on websites and also while driving in, set in some nice grounds in a manor home I had high hopes. Unfortnately they were dashed the moment I saw my bedroom - a tiny space, small bed (almost a single) and no hot running water in the bathroom.

The facilities were all dated and badly maintained, men's changing rooms were disgusting.

Rating this hotel as 4 star is like describing Vanessa Feltz as a supermodel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acfalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,404)
There are newer reviews for De Vere Horwood Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,377 - 1,383 of 1,405 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2009

Thoroughly agree with xiaolata. The website and the hotel's 4 star rating is hugely misleading. Lucky it is set in nice grounds, as this is its only remotely redeeming feature. I can only compare it to an oil painting... driving down the stunning long driveway to the house is impressive. Reception and checking in isnt too painful either, the issue is with the rest of the hotel. It genuinely took several minutes to find our room in the endless maze of poorly sign posted corridors.

The leisure facility was terrible. The ladies changing rooms looked like they hadn't been cleaned for a couple of days. There were no towels available, and the showers were cold. The swimming pool was dirty and unmaintained. The gym had only 6 machines and was in a 10ft x 10ft room!

We stayed in a standard double bedroom, which was the size of a shoe box. They had only provided one set of towels, so we had to request another set from housekeeping. Thankfully they were on their way to see us anyway as the shower water temperature was no hotter than luke warm. This seemed to be a boiler issue as the water was hot again in the morning.

Thank goodness we were on a 50% off deal, as I would have felt totally ripped off paying £59 a night.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clw376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

I agree with some of the other reviewers on this site, this place is nothing more than a conference centre with some university like accommodation tacked on. It needs to be made clear that the picture is very misleading. Sure there is a long drive leading up to what appears to be an attractive manor house, but you can forget all that as soon as you enter the building.

We had to crawl through endless winding corridors to finally get to our tiny room. If we had not got a deal on the price I would classify the standard rates as extremely expensive. While in a nice country side setting the location is far from convenient. Worst of all we had to cut our stay short, and the hotel refused to refund the remaining days even partially.

This hotel seems to do it all, which I guess is where the 4 star rating comes from. Unfortunately it does it all with a 1 star rating, nothing about the place exudes quality and the staff were non existent most of the time. I would never recommend this place to anyone, and while it may suite some peoples needs just fine; I would recommend anyone should carefully consider an alternative to avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xiaolata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2009

Nice looking country house style hotel with a large conference centre and bedrooms attached - pretty grounds with putting green, tennis courts plu pool. We had a "family" room which I think was just a normal room with an extra bed. There were a number of weddings taking place at the time we stayed and they take over the hotel with some rooms being out-of-bounds (which they should tell you when you book).

The soundproofing is shocking - we heard clonking from the boiler all night plus all the doors bang and crash - and as there was a wedding party staying the kids seems to be going in and out of the rooms all night! - the hotel should just fit soft door closers!

Breakfast was ok (basic quality) and the reception staff very helpful.

Value for money - yes, considering what you pay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkyMcB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

I stayed for one night for a wedding at a very good rate, on 24 May. I've stayed in other conference properties in this group, before they were taken over, and I've always been impressed by their high standards. I had heard that these had slipped after the takeover. Check in was swift and efficient, but there was no map to show me the way to the room.
The room was larger than I was expecting, but apparently I was in an executive room. There was a smallish double bed, which was very comfortable. Plenty of wardrobe and storage space and ample room in the bathroom to store my things.
The room was hot and both the windows appeared to be locked, but when I went to reception to ask for a key, I was told a porter would be sent. This duly happened.
The deal was bed and breakfast, and as always the breakfast was excellent, tho' the hash browns and fried eggs had run out.
The bar prices were extortionate, a large glass of house red, double Baileys and three diet cokes came to almost £18!
The rooms and public areas seemed to be well kept, but the view from the bedroom window, showed weed covered paths and gravelled areas, something which would not have been tolerated under the old management. So standards have slipped a little, but it was still an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2009

The service we received wasn't really bad, it was just the fact that due to weddings we had to eat in a Bar and was given a menu for Bar food even though we had paid an extra £80 to receive a meal which was supposed to have been restaurant style.

I liked the size of the room but it wasn't fancy, it's location was really far from the reception so be careful not to get lost. We didn't really get to use any Amenities as we wasn't advised of any times for their use & there wasn't any info in the room to advise.

I liked the Hotel itself and it's location and we enjoyed the breakfast. We didn't like the fact that we were not informed that there was a wedding going on & that was the reason why we had to eat in a Bar on Sunday. The town centre was also quite far.

I had asked for our sheets to be changed as we didn't like the smell as they didn't smell fresh, but the staff that we had asked just looked at each other and told us a polite no.

Most of the staff was friendly and we did enjoy the looks of the hotel. The surrounding well looked after grounds was welcoming and we saw cows through our bedroom window. It was a good view.

We would recommend people to stay at the hotel at their own advices but try and avoid weekends as there are weddings taking place and no access to the restaurant. There is no fridge in the room so make sure you bring your own water. Also ask for ground floor rooms or floors that the lift actually stops on & keep away from quiet rooms as they are far from the reception.

Overall a good weekend minus the food fiasco.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antiguangyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

Had the unfortunate experience of staying at this sprawling conference centre for a wedding reception. Draught beer was poor at £3.30 per pint and when the gas failed to work they charged over £3.35 for a bottle of Bud.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Broadley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Horwood
7.2 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
5.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
10.6 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Winslow
211 reviews
12.2 mi away
Chicheley Hall
Chicheley Hall
#1 of 1 in Chicheley
387 reviews
8.6 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Horwood Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Horwood Estate

Address: Mursley Road, Little Horwood MK17 0PH, England (Formerly Horwood House)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Little Horwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Horwood
Price Range: $55 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — De Vere Horwood Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Vere Horwood Estate combines the best of a period Manor House, set in 38 acres, with the modern facilities of Tempus Bar and Restaurant, extensive meeting and function rooms and 185 bedrooms. Our swimming pool and gym are available for all resident guests to enjoy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your De Vere Horwood Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horwood House And Leisure Club Hotel Little Horwood
Horwood Hotel And Leisure
De Vere Horwood Estate Little Horwood, Buckinghamshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing